We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“It's rated four stars, but gives five star service and hospitality”
Review of Kauri Point

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Kauri Point
Ranked #4 of 41 Taupo B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Napier, New Zealand
Level Contributor
33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“It's rated four stars, but gives five star service and hospitality”
Reviewed August 9, 2011

Awesome views form the enormous deck with private tables for each fabulously appointed suite; very friendly and professional attention from the hosts, Gael and Robert, who have found exactly the right formula of engagement and professionality.

Wonderful homestay - highly recommended

regarding the multi choice questions, all guest accommodation is on one floor; all suites are beautifully appointed and decorated, and spotlessly clean. We did not take a spa, need airport transportation or a fitness centre ...everything was perfect.

Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank mia s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

286 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    265
    19
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
16
226
8
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2011

We had a lovely 2 night stay at Kauri Point and enjoyed spending time with Gail, Robert and pets. Everything lived up to expectations, from the comfy bed, warm fire, delicious food and peaceful setting. We felt like family.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gay2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kauripoint, Owner at Kauri Point, responded to this review, August 5, 2011
Thank you for your review. Sorry that the garage door woke you up. We have addressed the issue, thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviewed July 28, 2011

Room is spacious and most importantly, clean and makes you feel at home rightaway.
Hosts are fantastic and so is their adorable & friendly dog, Arnie.

There is even a spa pool for guests, which unfortunately we did not get to try as we couldn't bring ourselves to step out from the warm and cosy room into the wintry cold. It was great to meet and interact with the other guests over a drink in the evening and also over breakfast.

Overall, perfect stay and highly recommend Kauri Point!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kwlu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
1 review
Reviewed July 24, 2011

Gail and Robert were wonderfully accommodating during my stay. The breakfasts were delicious & I loved being able to temporarily adopt their pets. If you want great food, peace & quiet, and enjoyable conversations with fellow guests over breakfast or evening drinks - don't consider anywhere but Kauri Point.

I'm looking forward to returning to Taupo & I'll definitely stay at Kauri Point again.

Room Tip: I stayed in the Aratiatia Room which was very warm & cosy. Fantastic bedding & linen meant b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank whitenectarine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2011

First class accommodation and food. Hosts excellent including family dog and cat, felt very welcome from the moment we arrived. Can't wait for the summer as we will return.
Thanks Gail & Robert.

Wendy, Auckland
Norman, Uk

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WendyFroggatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Level Contributor
46 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2011

Thank you so much Gail and Rob - we had a fantastic time with you!
To everyone else - If you are looking for a quiet country retreat a few minutes from Taupo then this really is the place to stay. It's small with friendly hosts, and they also run the place very professionally. Nothing was to much trouble.
We are actually planning a summer trip to Taupo now so that we can stay with them again and do some of the activities they suggested.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OptomAbroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed July 19, 2011

Even before we arrived we thought that this place might be special, because of Gail's thoughtful email to us to us a few days before our arrival to ask about our detailed requirements. When we arrived it was like being invited into their home and she ensured that we had everything that we needed. The rooms were spacious, pristine and very well appointed and furnished. A well as the spacious suites there is also a spacious lounge and dining room to relax in with a warm fire. For fine weather there is the sweeping deck and BBQ.
We enjoyed Gail's and Robert's company and the opportunity to share excellent meals with them and lots of interesting conversation with them and other guests.
The complementary big cooked breakfasts ( or option of continental) gave us an excellent start to a day of walks and sightseeing ( irrespective of the weather.
Although only about 5-10 minutes from the centre of Taupo we felt that we were right out in the country, surrounded by trees and able to enjoy the birdsong and the views of Tauhara.

Room Tip: We had the Ngatororangi suite which probably has the best views but all seemed equally well appointe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tm_bevin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kauripoint, Owner at Kauri Point, responded to this review, July 19, 2011
We thouroughly enjoyed your company and thank you for your kind words. Hope you are all well and that the twisted ankle is well on the road to recovery. We look forward to seeing you again sometime.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taupo hotels
4.1 mi away
Gables Lakefront Motel
3.1 mi away
Hilton Lake Taupo
Hilton Lake Taupo
#7 of 69 in Taupo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,990 reviews
3.6 mi away
Sacred Waters Taupo Luxury Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
The Reef Resort - Heritage Collection
9.2 mi away
Whakaipo Lodge
Whakaipo Lodge
#2 of 41 in Taupo
5.0 of 5 bubbles 191 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Pillars Retreat
The Pillars Retreat
#1 of 41 in Taupo
5.0 of 5 bubbles 272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kauri Point? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kauri Point

Property: Kauri Point
Address: 4 Mark Wynd, Taupo 3379, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Taupo District > Taupo
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 41 B&Bs / Inns in Taupo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Kauri Point 5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Robert & Gail would love to welcome you to your "Luxury home when you are away from Home." You will arrive as guests and leave as friends having enjoyed being thoroughly spoiled from the moment you arrive. Stay as long as you can - Taupo has so much to offer you, and we are so close to other cities such as Rotorua and the Hawke's Bay - so unpack your bags for a few days and relax and really enjoy New Zealand at its best. Our suites are luxuriously appointed and all are en-suite and have deck access. Join us in the evening for a glass or two of wine, beer or a soft drink before you head into town for dinner (we will even drive you in). Alternatively, and by prior arrangement, we can prepare you a supper, one or 2 course dinner, platter or special occasion dinner. Welcome to New Zealand,have a great holiday in paradise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Kauri Point reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing