We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Was ok”
Review of Family Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Taupo
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Family Motel
Ranked #59 of 68 Hotels in Taupo
Reviewed January 24, 2012

The Camellia Court was ok, you definitely get what you pay for. The Cabins are very run down and tired looking. The Hosts were helpful enough. The place is marketed very well but money could be well spent to upgrade the place.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WanganuiTabs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (28)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

12 - 18 of 28 reviews

Reviewed August 13, 2011

Clean and tidy rooms at a reasonable price to meet our budget requirements. We have been coming to the Camelia Court for several years now and have always found the management friendly and excellent to deal with. We will continue to come back.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Barry E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2011

Nice to stay here, good for a rest. We are from Philppines and had a good stay. Help from staff good, and nice and quiet.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cristoben
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2011

Nice and quiet motel on a back street.Very afordable ,Icertianly got what I paid for ,definitly will be back in the near future.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank george_doctor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2011

This place is expensive, dirty, and the staff are rude.

Stay away!

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sebykrueger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zipper1952, Owner at Family Motel, responded to this reviewResponded June 12, 2012

The customer had lots of problems with us. Her accusations are fabricated. She demanded a refund, and threatened to write a bad feedback report on Trip Advisor. See other feedbacks. She also wrote to the mayor and to MANZ. She wants to destroy our business and livelihood. We are a cheap motel in Taupo, and we know we are not amongst the best. She thought she'd get the best motel, booking the cheapest. We dot not deserve to be treated in this unfair manner, because we do not have marble floors and golden taps. Just because one customer is unhappy, we must be destroyed! How can others be happy with our establishment and our manners, yet SHE wants revenge!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2011

Relation room and price perfect; very nice location for trips in the neighbourhood, Friendly and helpful host even in the darkest hours! Good advices for trips and visites.
The parc itself is very quiet. Clean rooms. We will recommend this place to all our friends in the Netherlands who want to visite New Zealand.
When we will visite NZ for the seconde time FOR SURE we will come again and we hope to see then the present owners.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ronald2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2010

We stayed here as our entire group could be accommodated. However the motel is very tired and in need of upgrading for the amount charged for the units, squeezing extra beds into rooms with barely enough space to walk between them in order to make a unit sleep more, isn't always the best option particularly if you are not a family sharing a unit. I had the misfortune to have the room mentioned by others with the water pump below my window, and I would suggest the lovely owners may try and sleep a night in this room when the motel is busy, this might prompt some action to change things or reduce the rate for this room! The owners are very friendly and helpful but their motel standard lets them down.

  • Stayed: November 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank smiley070
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taupo hotels
0.0 mi away
Camellia Court Motel
Camellia Court Motel
#55 of 68 in Taupo
142 reviews
0.5 mi away
Beechtree Motel
Beechtree Motel
#6 of 68 in Taupo
645 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hilton Lake Taupo
Hilton Lake Taupo
#8 of 68 in Taupo
2,130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Millennium Hotel and Resort Manuels Taupo
1.5 mi away
The Reef Resort - Heritage Collection
0.9 mi away
Gables Lakefront Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Family Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Family Motel

Address: 50 Tonga Street | PO Box 795, Taupo, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Taupo District > Taupo
Hotel Style:
Ranked #59 of 68 Hotels in Taupo
Number of rooms: 34

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing