We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Peaceful sanctuary”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Aultmore Hollow

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Aultmore Hollow
Ranked #24 of 41 Taupo B&B and Inns
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Peaceful sanctuary”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights In Feb . It's a charming place to stay for visiting Taupo and its beautiful lake(this takes about 15-20 mins in car with detailed directions from our hosts Mike and Julia) or to see plenty of other local attractions in the area eg the dramatic Huka Falls and a little further afield the fascinating geothermal sites near to Rotorua.
. The accommodation is altogether spacious with our own living room plus fridge, bathroom and utility room,. Our bedroom was perfectly adequate but not so spacious. Its great joy was a view out over our small terrace to the very beautiful and extensive "English" gardens, with colourful herbaceous borders and the magnificent Waikato river at the end of the garden, where Mike said we could swim This is a homely and very friendly B &B rather than 5 star, with good breakfast and Julia even did our laundry for us! A happy stay in such peaceful surroundings..

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    8
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
25
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
121 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2012

We stayed at the self catering cottage, welcomed by Mike who had a vast amount of knowledge of the area and things to do.

The location was very peaceful, with lovely well kept gardens. A hammock and sitting area overlooking the river to chill out next to. There was access to the river and a wooden bench to sit down there. We got our feet wet but didn't go swimming - Mike had explained which area's were safe to swim in. We met a neighbours dog that kept coming into the water to catch stones!

The property is approx 15 mins away from Taupo by car - I'm glad we didn't stay in Taupo - while the view over the lake was great the town was very touristy and could imagine it being quite loud at night.

If you stay at Aultmore make sure you go to the Huka falls and the Aratiatia dam - Mike can advise the timings for these.

Mike and Julia have 4 cute cats whowill come and say hello if you call them over.

As this is near the river there are quite a few mosquito's around and we did have to spray a fair wack of bug spray - Mike had range me after I left to say he couldn't get rid of the spray smell. There were quite a few mosquito's around and got inside despite keeping the windows shut.

The property was roomy, well equipped and had some cookies left for us to eat. Plenty of books and games around the place.

It was a bit tired and basic as other guests have said - everything worked ok but could do with a bit of a refit soon. Old fashioned bathroom. Few cobwebs and dead flies. The owners don't charge much so it was good value to what was on offer. A nice refit and I'd happily pay a bit more.

Very peaceful stay - basic place to stay at a budget rate - would rather stay here than in touristy andoverpriced Taupo! We liked being welcomed back each night by the cats :)

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 27L09R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
140 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2012

Our B&B near Taupo was very good value. The self-catering accommodation is in a separate building from the main house. It was roomy but a little tired, with a large living room, kitchen and smallish bedroom and bathroom. It had a beautiful garden and is situated next to the river. You can swim there, but it was a little cold for us on the days we were there. It was significant distance from Taupo (about 20 km) but can act as a useful base for exploring the thermal areas. Don’t miss the Huka falls and the Aratiatia dam, where water is frequently let out of the dam forming a dramatic event.

Room Tip: You have the choice between a B&B room in the house or a self-catering cottage
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BelairTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Collins, CO
Level Contributor
35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2012

We recently spent two nights here while exploring the Taupo-Rotorua area. It's about 10 to 15 minutes out of town but the setting couldn't be lovelier. Located on the river with river access for those who want to swim, the owners have refurbished the absolutely gorgeous gardens. We had a small back patio to enjoy the view.

Mike and Julia were friendly and helpful and Mike really helped us make the most of our time in the area with his suggestions for sights to visit.

The cottage itself is clean, comfortable, and quiet with a private entrance, great shower, and sitting room.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelers058
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perpignan, France
Level Contributor
54 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2012

We stayed in the self-catering accommodation. We chose Aultmore for its location which is well placed between Taupo and Rotorua. We stayed three nights. I must say we had a very good price for the cottage, but whilst the bed was comfy and there was plenty of hot water the place is definitely tired and it was a bit grubby - - didn't bear looking at with my specs on - lots of cobwebs and the upholstered furniture wasn't nice. (Sorry!) When we booked Julia had mentioned the place is in need of a refit. The bathroom definitely has seen better days. Everything worked OK though. We never saw Julia, but Mike is charming and very helpful. The garden is lovely and I'm sure the spa would be great, but for us the weather wasn't playing ball. Getting down to the river over the barbed wire fence was a challenge but worth the effort! In short this could be a real little gem but needs some money spending on it and then they could charge a lot more and it'd be worth it!

Room Tip: S/C is OK if you don't plan to cook much and can do your own breakfast.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank catllar2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2012

We stayed with Mike and Julia on 01 Jan 2012 and were very impressed with the accommodation, facilities, friendliness of the owners and the magnificent setting of the house.
The guest accommodation has its own front door and includes a separate sitting room, WC and bathroom, as well as a large bedroom with access to river via the wonderful and very large gardens. There's a hot tub available as well.
The breakfast prepared by Julia was excellent and Mike couldn't have been a more friendly and helpful host.
Overall, this is an excellent B&B that thoroughly deserves its high ranking. We will certainly return if we ever go back to the Taupu area.
One word of warning: the house is quite remote and our Garmin satnav took us miles away and couldn't find the correct location. Their website has clear directions so use them and don't rely on modern technology!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pullman, Washington
Level Contributor
120 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2011

This place is as close to perfect as I can imagine. We stayed in the self-catering cottage which was lovely. Comfortable bed, great shower with tons of hot water, TV if you want it, and lots of books. We were only staying for two nights (wish it had been two weeks) so we didn't want to do much cooking, but there was coffee and tea, milk, home baked cookies, and chocolates on the bedside table. We went fishing and brought home trout, so a BBQ was immediately supplied to cook it. Perhaps the best part is the lovely river-side spot in the beautiful garden perfect for a rest in the hammock or a drink in the evening.

If you want to be in the heart of the action, this isn't your place, but if you want a quiet, restful place within reach of the town of Taupo, you couldn't do better. I could live here happily!

Room Tip: The self-catering cottage is lovely and great value if you don't mind not having a breakfast mad...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Locheriboll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taupo hotels
5.2 mi away
Haka Lodge Taupo
Haka Lodge Taupo
#2 of 33 in Taupo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 302 reviews
9.9 mi away
Whakaipo Lodge
Whakaipo Lodge
#2 of 41 in Taupo
5.0 of 5 bubbles 187 reviews
4.5 mi away
All Seasons Holiday Park Taupo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
The Pillars Retreat
The Pillars Retreat
#1 of 41 in Taupo
5.0 of 5 bubbles 269 reviews
5.7 mi away
The Cottage Mews Motel Taupo
5.2 mi away
Beechtree Motel
Beechtree Motel
#6 of 69 in Taupo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 627 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aultmore Hollow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aultmore Hollow

Property: Aultmore Hollow
Address: 615 River Road | Broadlands, Taupo 3081, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Taupo District > Taupo
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 41 B&Bs / Inns in Taupo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Country Comfort bed & breakfast in a special, secluded riverside setting. Choice of full private B&B suite or self catering, self contained detached cottage. Everything provided for your comfort. Safe swimming, year round fishing & boating right here. A truly romantic place to stay handy to both Taupo & Rotorua. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Aultmore Hollow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing