We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the very best”
Review of Aultmore Hollow

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Aultmore Hollow
Ranked #27 of 41 Taupo B&B and Inns
Reviewed January 1, 2012

We stayed with Mike and Julia on 01 Jan 2012 and were very impressed with the accommodation, facilities, friendliness of the owners and the magnificent setting of the house.
The guest accommodation has its own front door and includes a separate sitting room, WC and bathroom, as well as a large bedroom with access to river via the wonderful and very large gardens. There's a hot tub available as well.
The breakfast prepared by Julia was excellent and Mike couldn't have been a more friendly and helpful host.
Overall, this is an excellent B&B that thoroughly deserves its high ranking. We will certainly return if we ever go back to the Taupu area.
One word of warning: the house is quite remote and our Garmin satnav took us miles away and couldn't find the correct location. Their website has clear directions so use them and don't rely on modern technology!

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (31)
There are newer reviews for Aultmore Hollow
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

14 - 20 of 31 reviews

Reviewed December 9, 2011

This place is as close to perfect as I can imagine. We stayed in the self-catering cottage which was lovely. Comfortable bed, great shower with tons of hot water, TV if you want it, and lots of books. We were only staying for two nights (wish it had been two weeks) so we didn't want to do much cooking, but there was coffee and tea, milk, home baked cookies, and chocolates on the bedside table. We went fishing and brought home trout, so a BBQ was immediately supplied to cook it. Perhaps the best part is the lovely river-side spot in the beautiful garden perfect for a rest in the hammock or a drink in the evening.

If you want to be in the heart of the action, this isn't your place, but if you want a quiet, restful place within reach of the town of Taupo, you couldn't do better. I could live here happily!

Room Tip: The self-catering cottage is lovely and great value if you don't mind not having a breakfast mad...
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Locheriboll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2011

Great spot in a tremendous park-like setting on the tree-lined banks of the Waikato River. Unit was very well set out & comfortable. Hospitality was excellent - warm & friendly without being over-bearing. We had to set off early, 4.45am, the first morning of our stay well before breakfast time - but it was no trouble for the hosts to prepare the night before a great breakfast for us! And the breakfast on the 2nd morning, the full deal, was superb. A short but very enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Yvonne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2011

We stayed in the cottage at Aultmore recently. We were met by Mike, who was really welcoming and ready with many suggestions for what to do during our stay. We were somewhat familiar with the area but really appreciated his input, and the loan of a map for locating nearby attractions. For an overseas guest his local knowledge would be most helpful in maximising the exploration of the area.
The cottage is very clean, extremely well stocked with books and tourist information. We loved the little touches like milk in a sweet little jug in the fridge, freshly baked cookies and chocolates in the bedroom. The cottage is somewhat tired but this in no way detracts from the experience and the price is extremely good value for money. Sam the cat has to be one of the handsomest and charming we've ever encountered and he is perfectly willing to be adored if you are a cat lover!

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank flyingwesties
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2011

The Aultmore Hollow is about 20 minutes out from the center of things, but its serene and relaxing being on the swimmable river with hammock, and deck just steps from the self contained cottage, which shows its age , but is still comfy and clean."coming home" after a days site seeing was a pleasure and the price was a bargain. The hot tub is a lovely treat too.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank newzealand66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2011

Close to both Taupo and Rotorua. Wonderful gardens on the banks of a river. Friendly and considerate hosts. The self catering cottage is spacious, clean & well-equipped. Very reasonable price..

Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
1  Thank iljtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2011

I suppose this is one of the best accommodations for rental-car travelers due to proximity to both Taupo and Rotorua. This is located in the quiet forest beside a beautiful river. Hosts gave us friendly and ultimately cordial consideration and substantial information on surrounded areas. We stayed in self catering cottage; very clean, very spacious, well-equipped with full kitchen, too cheep; We thought even the twice the amount might be still OK. We bought foodstuff and nice wine at a supermarket in Rotorua and enjoyed satisfactory dinner cooked by ourselves.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ginmokusei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taupo hotels
5.3 mi away
Gables Lakefront Motel
4.8 mi away
Hilton Lake Taupo
Hilton Lake Taupo
#7 of 69 in Taupo
2,111 reviews
5.4 mi away
The Reef Resort - Heritage Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Millennium Hotel and Resort Manuels Taupo
5.3 mi away
Sails On The Lake
Sails On The Lake
#5 of 69 in Taupo
332 reviews
5.7 mi away
The Cottage Mews Motel Taupo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aultmore Hollow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aultmore Hollow

Address: 615 River Road | Broadlands, Taupo 3081, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Taupo District > Taupo
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 41 B&Bs / Inns in Taupo
Price Range: $75 - $94 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Country Comfort bed & breakfast in a special, secluded riverside setting. Choice of full private B&B suite or self catering, self contained detached cottage. Everything provided for your comfort. Safe swimming, year round fishing & boating right here. A truly romantic place to stay handy to both Taupo & Rotorua. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Aultmore Hollow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing