We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Finlay Jack's Backpackers
Nearby Hotels
Wairakei Resort Taupo(Taupo)(Great Value!)
$102
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$137
$104
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hilton Lake Taupo(Taupo)(Great Value!)
$166
$156
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Cascades Lakefront Motel(Taupo)(Great Value!)
$92
$90
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Beechtree Motel(Taupo)(Great Value!)
$134
$96
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$247
$219
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Lake Motel(Taupo)(Great Value!)
$99
$89
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Baycrest Lodge(Taupo)(Great Value!)
$141
HotelQuickly
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$482
$469
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$535
$453
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (258)
Filter reviews
258 results
Traveler rating
160
66
21
5
6
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
160
66
21
5
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe kitchenhostel dogperfect hostelprivate ensuiteshared bathroomtongariro crossingenjoyed my staymain buildinggreat kitchenbed roomnew zealandhuka fallsa great stayfree wififamily roomstayed here for two nightsgreat facilities
Filter
Updating list...
156 - 161 of 258 reviews
Reviewed June 23, 2014 via mobile

We had a double room which was very spacious. You have your own bathroom and fridge in the room.
There is free Tea & Coffee at the reception.
The kitchen/dining area was clean and well equipped.
The staff was super friendly and helpful.
It is about 5-10 min walk to the restaurants, bars, shops and the lake.
About 25-30 min walk to the Bungy Side and the Hotsprings (definitely worth going there!).

Absolutely worth staying here. 100% recommended.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Udooo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2014 via mobile

Clean hostel. Comfy bed. Friendly and helpful staff. good location. All single beds, not bunks in the room we stayed in. However / nothing to write home about. Didn't have very homely / cosy feel about it. Did the job as a place to stay overnight!

Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
Thank DNC10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2014 via mobile

Spotless clean and comfy rooms and amazingly friendly staff. Our double was huge and came with a private bathroom. We had a skydive booked and wanted to head further north directly afterwards so we checked out in the morning. Due to weather conditions the dive was first delayed and then finally postponed to the next day. They let us stay in the common area for the whole time inbetween (it isn't excactly common to do that in NZ) and even called the skydiving place for us. We would definetly recommend the place, although free wifi would have been a nice addition.

Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank hoeferjan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2014

We stayed in a double ensuite room for two nights. Blackcurrant is well-situated, away from the noise but an easy walk to Pak N Save and the main centre, restaurants, etc. The staff were helpful and friendly. The room was lovely but had the potential to be even better.

Obviously newly renovated, the room was fresh and clean and the bed comfortable. The nearly-brand-new bathroom was fantastic and the shower great.

The fridge in the room was an unexpected bonus, but it didn't make much sense to us to have the fridge but no other food storage space, nor a kettle and some mugs/plates/bowls/spoons. There is plenty of room for a couple of shelves over the fridge, so it surely would be easy enough to supply these extra amenities.

The pillows were thin, rock-hard and not comfortable.

A couple of shelves, a kettle, some crockery and cutlery, four big fluffy pillows (rather than two disappointing ones!) and a bit more attention to hanging of pictures (better placed, and one or two more as well) would turn this lovely room into something quite luxurious!

We will certainly stay here again next time we are in Taupo.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ronillian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2014

Me and my three other friends stayed for two nights and we enjoyed it! Prior to our arrival, we booked an ensuite room with single beds online, but when we arrived, the staff said they made a mistake and gave us an ensuite room with a double bed and two single beds. Luckily, this small drawback could be overcome by the spacious room, the great scenery, and friendly staff. The staff showed us around the hostel and helped us book any local shuttle we need. They also got a large pantry with utensils given so many of us could cook at the same time, though it would be best to let the door and windows open at that time. It's totally worth the money and I would definitely recommend it to my friends!

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LingLing_LOTR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews