We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Finlay Jack's Backpackers
Ranked #6 of 33 Specialty Lodging in Taupo
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great place to stay”
Reviewed June 23, 2014 via mobile

We had a double room which was very spacious. You have your own bathroom and fridge in the room.
There is free Tea & Coffee at the reception.
The kitchen/dining area was clean and well equipped.
The staff was super friendly and helpful.
It is about 5-10 min walk to the restaurants, bars, shops and the lake.
About 25-30 min walk to the Bungy Side and the Hotsprings (definitely worth going there!).

Absolutely worth staying here. 100% recommended.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Udooo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    128
    56
    20
    5
    3
See reviews for
9
42
86
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed June 10, 2014 via mobile

Clean hostel. Comfy bed. Friendly and helpful staff. good location. All single beds, not bunks in the room we stayed in. However / nothing to write home about. Didn't have very homely / cosy feel about it. Did the job as a place to stay overnight!

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank DNC10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Düsseldorf
Level Contributor
47 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2014 via mobile

Spotless clean and comfy rooms and amazingly friendly staff. Our double was huge and came with a private bathroom. We had a skydive booked and wanted to head further north directly afterwards so we checked out in the morning. Due to weather conditions the dive was first delayed and then finally postponed to the next day. They let us stay in the common area for the whole time inbetween (it isn't excactly common to do that in NZ) and even called the skydiving place for us. We would definetly recommend the place, although free wifi would have been a nice addition.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank hoeferjan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tauranga, New Zealand
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2014

We stayed in a double ensuite room for two nights. Blackcurrant is well-situated, away from the noise but an easy walk to Pak N Save and the main centre, restaurants, etc. The staff were helpful and friendly. The room was lovely but had the potential to be even better.

Obviously newly renovated, the room was fresh and clean and the bed comfortable. The nearly-brand-new bathroom was fantastic and the shower great.

The fridge in the room was an unexpected bonus, but it didn't make much sense to us to have the fridge but no other food storage space, nor a kettle and some mugs/plates/bowls/spoons. There is plenty of room for a couple of shelves over the fridge, so it surely would be easy enough to supply these extra amenities.

The pillows were thin, rock-hard and not comfortable.

A couple of shelves, a kettle, some crockery and cutlery, four big fluffy pillows (rather than two disappointing ones!) and a bit more attention to hanging of pictures (better placed, and one or two more as well) would turn this lovely room into something quite luxurious!

We will certainly stay here again next time we are in Taupo.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ronillian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2014

Me and my three other friends stayed for two nights and we enjoyed it! Prior to our arrival, we booked an ensuite room with single beds online, but when we arrived, the staff said they made a mistake and gave us an ensuite room with a double bed and two single beds. Luckily, this small drawback could be overcome by the spacious room, the great scenery, and friendly staff. The staff showed us around the hostel and helped us book any local shuttle we need. They also got a large pantry with utensils given so many of us could cook at the same time, though it would be best to let the door and windows open at that time. It's totally worth the money and I would definitely recommend it to my friends!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LingLing_LOTR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2014 via mobile

Loved my stay here! clean, friendly, lounge with lots of good movies, excellent sized kictchen, really comfortable beds, very social hostel and great staff. Cheap prices too, worth every penny and more .
Will stay again when I'm next in Taupo and would recommend it to everyone.

Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Alex M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
86 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for a few nights in a private room and didn't want to leave at the end!
The lady who checked us in was so friendly which always gets you off to a good start and then we were shown to our room which was hotel standard. It was spotlessly clean with an en suite, very spacious with a fridge too and also an electric blanket which was nice!

It's a nice size hostel, with a decent sized kitchen and communal areas which are all kept clean. There's also some nice views across Taupo from the balcony.
The wifi is also cheap, only $12 for a week and it worked well.

It's only a 10 minute walk to the I-site and centre of town which means it's not too noisy at night time. There's also a pak n save next door which is great.
This really is one of the best hostels we've stayed in on our travels and we'd definitely return if in the area again.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank BackpackinBrit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taupo hotels
1.0 mi away
Gables Lakefront Motel
2.0 mi away
Hilton Lake Taupo
Hilton Lake Taupo
#7 of 69 in Taupo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,993 reviews
0.3 mi away
Haka Lodge Taupo
Haka Lodge Taupo
#2 of 33 in Taupo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Tiki Lodge
Tiki Lodge
#12 of 33 in Taupo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 183 reviews
0.1 mi away
Rainbow Lodge
Rainbow Lodge
#8 of 33 in Taupo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 250 reviews
0.3 mi away
Taupo Urban Retreat
Taupo Urban Retreat
#17 of 33 in Taupo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Finlay Jack's Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Finlay Jack's Backpackers

Property: Finlay Jack's Backpackers
Address: 20 Taniwha Street, Taupo 3330, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Taupo District > Taupo
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 33 Specialty Lodging in Taupo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Finlay Jack's Backpackers 2*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Taupo's best option for comfort, convenience and great times with international friends. Here you'll find a bunk-free experience with single beds made up ready for your arrival and delightful en-suite bathrooms. We've renovated one of Taupo's most central hostels with the modern backpacker in mind. Two minutes from the supermarkets and central bus station, we have a comfy DVD lounge, huge garden, massive balcony complete with BBQ and stunning views of Mt. Ngauruhoe (Mt. Doom) and beyond. Whether you're an adrenaline junky keen to launch yourself from a plane at 15,000 feet, looking to set sail on the Great Lake or seeking peace and tranquillity along with some of New Zealand's most beautiful walks, our staff are here to make sure your visit lives up to expectations...aim high, people! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Expedia and HostelWorld so you can book your Finlay Jack's Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing