We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A must-stay in Taupo”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Finlay Jack's Backpackers
Ranked #6 of 34 Specialty Lodging in Taupo
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“A must-stay in Taupo”
Reviewed December 5, 2012

Most people's idea of a backpackers will be zillions of miles from the upmarket but homely realty of this pace. Exceptionally clean rooms, the twin/double options are fantastic value for money with nice en suites, and the staff have unreserved enthusiasm to make your stay a good one. If they ever have a bad day, they don't show it. Could not recommend more. In fact, all the other backpackers on our trip after this one could not live up to expectations so this place defo raises the bar.

Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Zebraclark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    129
    56
    20
    5
    3
See reviews for
9
42
87
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2012 via mobile

The staff was absolutely great, full of suggestions for things to see and do, all at a good price. The room was very nice with a modern ensuite and even our own fridge. The kitchen is large and has all the items one would need. We will definitely stay here again.

Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Holly B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zug, Switzerland
Level Contributor
150 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2012 via mobile

Spaceious and clean rooms with either ensuite or shared bathrooms. Both are clean and pretty new. The kitchen offers everything you need and our room even had its own fridge to store food and drinks. Shops are close and within walking distance.
They also offers parking right in front of the building and a prepay wifi which is only limited by time but not data, which is nice in New Zealand.
They can also organize different tours and trips for you and the staff is always around to help or up for a chat.
The TV room has a DVD player and you can get DVD's for free at the reception if the weather is not so good.

Stayed November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Berickus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taipei, Taiwan
Level Contributor
35 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2012

i stayed here for 3 nights and really enjoy the room and facility. the kitchen and female dorm room are very clean and comfortable. only one flaw is the heater is too weak! i was glad i hv my sleep bag with me since it was very cold in sep especailly in taupo. price is good and enviroment is good also.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank museshao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2012

I booked here after hearing some of the other places located right on the main street of Taupo were subjected to excess noise from the pubs and clubs. This place is still in a great position with just a short few minutes walk into town. The room we got was clean, had a TV and great little ensuite. The staff were very helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David50013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2012

I really enjoyed my two weeks staying in a four bed share room. The single beds are a welcome change from squeaky bunks and super comfy, the room I had was warm and the en-suite facilities kept clean every day. The kitchen is huge as is the very comfy DVD lounge. The staff here really go out of their way to make you feel at home, super friendly and always smiling, they clearly enjoy their jobs! And I enjoyed Taupo, so much to do and such a beautiful setting, especially viewed from the upstairs BBQ deck, loved it!!!

Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Just_Timothy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2012

Just stayed here for one night. Nice clean rooms with no bunk beds, all en-suite, extra showers, a lovely TV room, a big and clean kitchen with places to eat and hang out, and very friendly and helpful staff: without their advice I wouldn't have had the amazing experience of the Tongarino Alpine Crossing. One complaint, and one complaint only: the room was very cold (though it was midwinter) even with the meagre heater on. Luckily they provided extra blankets but it was freezing when I got out of bed! Nonetheless I'd stay again if in Taupo.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SweetPete58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taupo hotels
2.0 mi away
Hilton Lake Taupo
Hilton Lake Taupo
#7 of 69 in Taupo
2,020 reviews
1.0 mi away
Gables Lakefront Motel
1.1 mi away
Sails On The Lake
Sails On The Lake
#5 of 69 in Taupo
292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Haka Lodge Taupo
Haka Lodge Taupo
#2 of 34 in Taupo
329 reviews
0.4 mi away
Tiki Lodge
Tiki Lodge
#11 of 34 in Taupo
185 reviews
0.1 mi away
Rainbow Lodge
Rainbow Lodge
#8 of 34 in Taupo
252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Finlay Jack's Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Finlay Jack's Backpackers

Property: Finlay Jack's Backpackers
Address: 20 Taniwha Street, Taupo 3330, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Taupo District > Taupo
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 34 Specialty Lodging in Taupo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Finlay Jack's Backpackers 2*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Taupo's best option for comfort, convenience and great times with international friends. Here you'll find a bunk-free experience with single beds made up ready for your arrival and delightful en-suite bathrooms. We've renovated one of Taupo's most central hostels with the modern backpacker in mind. Two minutes from the supermarkets and central bus station, we have a comfy DVD lounge, huge garden, massive balcony complete with BBQ and stunning views of Mt. Ngauruhoe (Mt. Doom) and beyond. Whether you're an adrenaline junky keen to launch yourself from a plane at 15,000 feet, looking to set sail on the Great Lake or seeking peace and tranquillity along with some of New Zealand's most beautiful walks, our staff are here to make sure your visit lives up to expectations...aim high, people! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline and HostelWorld so you can book your Finlay Jack's Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing