We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location and lovely staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Finlay Jack's Backpackers
Ranked #6 of 34 Specialty Lodging in Taupo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 18, 2011

We were given a really friendly welcome and time to look around the room when we arrived. The double en-suite room we took was spotless and decorated to a really high stardard. The hostel had every thing you needed, was near to two supermarkets and only a short walk to town and the lake.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bozo_100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (218)
There are newer reviews for Finlay Jack's Backpackers
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

183 - 189 of 218 reviews

Reviewed July 12, 2011

What a fantastic place. The staff are so friendly, the place was so clean, the quality of the furniture and bedding was great. Fantastic value. It was like staying in a hotel or guest house. Make sure you do the return walk to hukka falls and soak in the natural hot springs on the way back.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank zoe82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2011

We were amazed when we checked into our double en-suite - the fittings and decoration were definitely hotel standard and really comfortable, the bathroom was especially impressive for the price and as it was the middle of winter we were very impressed with the electric blanket! really pleasantly surprised with the room and would definitely recommend.

Room Tip: the double en-suites on the first floor are great - ours was adjacent to the kitchen.
  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AmyEllenN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2011

I visited this place in winter time and it was really cold in the kitchen! I had breakfast in the morning and wished I had my jacket on, 'cause the kitchen is not heated. They do serve free coffee and tea, which was a nice thing and the receptionist was very helpful in showing me around.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank msp1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2011

Very clean with nice rooms, no bunkbeds that I saw which is great. The kitchen and common area are great to hang out in and chat with people. The staff are super friendly and enthusiastic about everything. The weather was horrible in Taupo and the power went out throughout the city but I still had a great time hanging out at this hostel.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank grnbrgtravler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2011

Have stayed here once before with a friend, and when I came to Taupo again with my partner there was no where else I'd consider staying.
It's nicer than the hotel we stayed in at Rotorua and has the exact same facilities in the room for much less.
Rooms are spacious, beds are comfy and warm, bathrooms are modern, staff are great - what more could you ask for?

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nmurph22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2011

Blackcurrent was perfect! New and very clean, our double bed ensuite room was exactly like a nice hotel room. It even had a Samsung mini fridge in our room, which meant we didn't have to go through the hassle of labeling and storing our food in the common use fridge. The common-use kitchen was clean and bright! Blackcurrant is in the center of town, so it provides easy access to all the popular Taupo attractions. Even if you're not usually a hostel-user, I'd DEFINITELY look into booking a private room at this place because it's GREAT! The only negative I can think of is how noisy it can occasionally be because of its proximity to the main road (Spa). Other than that love, love, loved Blackcurrant! The shower was large, they provide you with towels, electric blankets on the bed, and the help at the front desk was cheery and....well, helpful!

Room Tip: We had room #11 and loved it.
  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nush87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taupo hotels
1.7 mi away
The Reef Resort - Heritage Collection
1.1 mi away
Sails On The Lake
Sails On The Lake
#5 of 69 in Taupo
331 reviews
1.0 mi away
Gables Lakefront Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Haka Lodge Taupo
Haka Lodge Taupo
#2 of 34 in Taupo
353 reviews
0.4 mi away
Tiki Lodge
Tiki Lodge
#11 of 34 in Taupo
189 reviews
0.1 mi away
Rainbow Lodge
Rainbow Lodge
#8 of 34 in Taupo
257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Finlay Jack's Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Finlay Jack's Backpackers

Address: 20 Taniwha Street, Taupo 3330, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Taupo District > Taupo
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 34 Specialty Lodging in Taupo
Price Range: $29 - $60 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Finlay Jack's Backpackers 2*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Taupo's best option for comfort, convenience and great times with international friends. Here you'll find a bunk-free experience with single beds made up ready for your arrival and delightful en-suite bathrooms. We've renovated one of Taupo's most central hostels with the modern backpacker in mind. Two minutes from the supermarkets and central bus station, we have a comfy DVD lounge, huge garden, massive balcony complete with BBQ and stunning views of Mt. Ngauruhoe (Mt. Doom) and beyond. Whether you're an adrenaline junky keen to launch yourself from a plane at 15,000 feet, looking to set sail on the Great Lake or seeking peace and tranquillity along with some of New Zealand's most beautiful walks, our staff are here to make sure your visit lives up to expectations...aim high, people! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Finlay Jack's Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing