We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun Trip”
Review of Huka Prawn Park

Huka Prawn Park
Book In Advance
Buy Tickets Online
More Info
$21.11*
and up
Interactive Prawn Park with Prawn Fishing in Taupo
Ranked #6 of 69 things to do in Taupo
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: New Zealand's only Prawn Fishing Park. Located just 5 minutes from Taupo and offering hours of entertainment for people of all ages. Experience the thrill of landing the fiesty prawn at Hook-a-Prawn Fishing, enjoy the delight of hand feeding, baby prawns in the Prawn Nursery, and get up close and personal with Shawn the Prawn, in the Aquarium. Then head out to more than 6 hectares of fun and entertainment throughout the park, including interactive water features, adventure playgrounds, trout viewing and feeding, and geothermal foot baths. The day wouldn't be complete with relaxing beside the mighty Waikato River at the Riverside restaurant and bar and enjoying a mouthwatering selection of meals and beverages on offer. Huka Prawn Park, a day of fun and adventure for all!
Reviewed April 13, 2014

friend were recommended to visit Huka Prawn Park when visiting Taupo. We have no experience but yeah we have lots of fun there. Suprised that we sucessfully caught few prawn.

Thank CESCCC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prawn101, Director of Sales at Huka Prawn Park, responded to this reviewResponded April 14, 2014

Thank you for your feedback, we are thrilled that you enjoyed Huka Prawn Park.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (967)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

705 - 709 of 967 reviews

Reviewed April 12, 2014

The pricing is reasonable however with between the four of us having been there for a couple of hours, only 1 prawn was caught. Indeed, a lot comes back to us and our ability to 'fish' however a large part of our unsuccessful rate comes down the to the size of the bait handed to us. My nephew and I have small hands and we had trouble getting the pieces onto the hooks - and 98% of what we had could not go through the hook twice. Therefore anything that did bite at the rod left our lines empty after one bite. Hardly enough to hook a prawn. We were not the only ones who felt like this, overhearing many others complaining of the same thing. More seats along the pools would be welcomed. Would have been better if we'd caught at least a prawn each to experience the cooking part also. We didn't do the tour however, and this may have received a higher rating and that's my loss.

Thank Sunisa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prawn101, Director of Sales at Huka Prawn Park, responded to this reviewResponded April 14, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of Huka Prawn Park.
The reason for having small bait is that the prawns have very small mouths, we have tried many options of bait and the size of the bait over the 26 years we have been in operation and we have found that the current method works the best. It is unfortunate that you did not go on the tour as you get a fishing lesson and some good tips on Prawn fishing as part of the tour. The tour is included in your entry fee and we find that those who do take the tour are usually more successful at catching the prawns. We hope that you do come back and visit us again and that your catch is more successful.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2014

We spent the afternoon at the Huka Prawn Park yesterday due to a recommendation from someone who we met on our travels! We had a delicious lunch at the restaurant then had a very informative tour from Weston. Our tour guide seemed for rally enjoy his job and his enthusiasm was infectious! We tried our hands at prawn fishing afterwards but sadly came away empty handed! It was a great laugh though! A great way to spend an afternoon!

Thank Melanie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prawn101, Director of Sales at Huka Prawn Park, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2014

Thanks for the great review, I hope you come back one day soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2014

We went here with some friends on a recent trip to Taupo. What a laugh! I was thinking of the prawns we had back in the UK, but was I wrong! They were massive!They give you a bamboo rod with a hook and line and a small pot of bait, then, like any other fishing you just sit and wait...

It's worth doing the tour and have something to eat in the lovely restaurant.

Thank Ilide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prawn101, Director of Sales at Huka Prawn Park, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2014

Thank you for writing such a great review. Our Prawn Fishing experience is a very unique one and we are delighted that you enjoyed it so much.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2014

We enjoyed prawn fishing tho there is a knack
Double hook the bait, let the rod rest on the bottom so the little fish don't eat it
When you get a tug just wait the prawn will go for a walk then tug again
Gently bring him in and hook him.
Good luck

Thank kiwihols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prawn101, Director of Sales at Huka Prawn Park, responded to this reviewResponded March 30, 2014

Thank you for your review and for passing on the good advice to other Trip Advisor readers. We hope to see you back here again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Huka Prawn Park also viewed

 
Taupo, Taupo District
Taupo, Taupo District
 

Been to Huka Prawn Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing