We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun, fun, fun!!”
Review of Huka Prawn Park

Huka Prawn Park
Book In Advance
Buy Tickets Online
More Info
$20.68*
and up
Interactive Prawn Park with Prawn Fishing in Taupo
Ranked #7 of 70 things to do in Taupo
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: New Zealand's only Prawn Fishing Park. Located just 5 minutes from Taupo and offering hours of entertainment for people of all ages. Experience the thrill of landing the fiesty prawn at Hook-a-Prawn Fishing, enjoy the delight of hand feeding, baby prawns in the Prawn Nursery, and get up close and personal with Shawn the Prawn, in the Aquarium. Then head out to more than 6 hectares of fun and entertainment throughout the park, including interactive water features, adventure playgrounds, trout viewing and feeding, and geothermal foot baths. The day wouldn't be complete with relaxing beside the mighty Waikato River at the Riverside restaurant and bar and enjoying a mouthwatering selection of meals and beverages on offer. Huka Prawn Park, a day of fun and adventure for all!
Reviewed January 7, 2014

It is a great place to spend about half a day at. You will need patience for the prawn fishing. It is very close to the huka fall jets and entrance fee is cheap and reasonable.

Thank Penina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prawn101, Director of Sales at Huka Prawn Park, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2014

Thanks for taking the time to post such great feedback, we really appreciate it. I hope we see you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (943)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

710 - 714 of 943 reviews

Reviewed January 5, 2014

We went at 3pm and was told they close at 4pm . Nevertheless , we decided to have a go . The kids had fun even though they didn't catch anything . It was the experience . Their bait disappeared as soon as they put them in the water . Soon they realized it was the fish which ate the bait and the prawns are right at the bottom . We caught a 35 cm long prawn at the end of 1 hour and were absolutely happy with it . And yes if you are wondering , we ate it .

Thank Pris W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prawn101, Director of Sales at Huka Prawn Park, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback. We are thrilled that you caught such a huge Prawn. 35cm, that's a whopper! Well done. We hope you come back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2014

We have been here twice before, both times we caught nothing. Probably our fault, but felt it was a bit of waste of money. We were hoping for third time lucky.

We tried to go again, at $15 per child that was ok, but when we got there we were told we had to pay an additional $12 per adult for spectating! This almost doubled the cost and given our previous experience we decided against it, I had one very sad and disappointed 7 year old. I won't be going there again unfortunately. They then tried to sell us a family package for a few dollars extra, which included a tour as well as fishing. I can't help but feel this is a marketing stunt to get more money out of us. Quite disappointing really. $30 I was prepared to pay for the fun of fishing, for the hope of possibly catching something this time but at almost $70 for a family I wasn't prepared to pay that!

1  Thank kiwipomster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prawn101, Director of Sales at Huka Prawn Park, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to post a review.
All our pricing except the spectator entry includes a full days access to the Prawn Fishing park and a 30 minute tour of the Prawn Nursery and Hatchery. During the tour of the Prawn Nursery and Hatchery you have the opportunity to see our breeding stock, hand feed baby Prawns and receive a 10 minute Prawn Fishing lesson before you are taken into the park and set up with everything you need to go Prawn fishing.
We have tried very hard to provide a unique experience that is value for money. We are disappointed that you feel we have not achieved this but we do hope you may be able to come and take full advantage of whats on offer at some other time and have a successful fishing day. Once again thank you for taking the time to post a review, we do appreciate all feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2014

Excellent tour! Were able to learn about the history of the prawn park and given some tips into how to fish for prawns. Some practical activites meant that you were able to hand feed baby prawns. So I do highly recommend the tour if you have not been to the prawn park before. Athough had only caught 2 large prawns in 3 hrs. Which was a long time,due to the fish eating our bait. As a family we throughly enjoyed fishing and would go again!:)

Thank Chocolate601
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prawn101, Director of Sales at Huka Prawn Park, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to post a review.
We are delighted that you had a great family day out. Luckily we are in the planning stages to try and remove the mosquito fish that are in our ponds.
Thank for the review, we really appreciate all feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2014

We love this place and have now been twice. The prawn fishing is addictive. Its worth going to the tour early (think first is 11am) so you can learn the technique and then have lots of time to fish. The other features at the park are entertaining too and the foot spa over looking the Waikato river is bliss!

Thank Anna C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prawn101, Director of Sales at Huka Prawn Park, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2014

We are delighted that you enjoy Huka Prawn Park so much. Hopefully you will be back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Huka Prawn Park also viewed

 
Taupo, Taupo District
Taupo, Taupo District
 

Been to Huka Prawn Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing