We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“FANTASTIC day out!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Huka Prawn Park

Huka Prawn Park
Book In Advance
More Info
$20.10*
and up
Interactive Prawn Park with Prawn Fishing in Taupo
Ranked #8 of 67 things to do in Taupo
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: New Zealand's only Prawn Fishing Park. Located just 5 minutes from Taupo and offering hours of entertainment for people of all ages. Experience the thrill of landing the fiesty prawn at Hook-a-Prawn Fishing, enjoy the delight of hand feeding, baby prawns in the Prawn Nursery, and get up close and personal with Shawn the Prawn, in the Aquarium. Then head out to more than 6 hectares of fun and entertainment throughout the park, including interactive water features, adventure playgrounds, trout viewing and feeding, and geothermal foot baths. The day wouldn't be complete with relaxing beside the mighty Waikato River at the Riverside restaurant and bar and enjoying a mouthwatering selection of meals and beverages on offer. Huka Prawn Park, a day of fun and adventure for all!
Hamilton
Level Contributor
52 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“FANTASTIC day out!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2013

Our kids just loved their day here - it was brilliant. Loads to see an do, wonderful staff, nice food and great service.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank argentmotorlodge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

831 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    330
    274
    144
    54
    29
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
225 reviews
77 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
“Too quick tour. Need to know in advance what to order, or you'll get frozen shrimps!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2013

The tour of the prawn hatchery etc. could have been very interesting; but the guide was apparently in a hurry, so we had to run at almost every station, with the only exception of the prawn hand feeding. Maybe because there were only 4 of us, so he did not want to spend too much time...
And we did not catch any prawn, because a lot of red little fish was always eating the bite...

Then at the restaurant, we ordered one Prawn Skewer salad and one Prawn curry. The waitress assured us that there were three skewers of prawns. But in both courses, we found just one prawn and a lot of frozen shrimps (three skewers of them, but...).
So we learned that in order to REALLY eat some locally grown prawns, you must choose the "Steamed Whole Prawns"; which we did and this course was indeed satisfactory (about 12 prawns). But so in the end, we paid the two other courses, for nothing...

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sergio b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waikato New Zealand
Level Contributor
71 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“A great family day out”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2013

The park is beautifully kept and to before starting to fish for prawn there's a very interesting guided tour that educates children and adults alike on prawn farming. Fishing is really a simple pleasure and the park itself has a quite relaxing atmosphere but at the same time exciting due to the thrill of a catch and the kids adventure walk that leads to trout feeding and ultimately to the restaurant where friendly staff will cook your prawns for you!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank c0mmuter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington
Level Contributor
62 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great fun”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2013

We fished for 5.5 hours and caught 14 prawns between 3 of us which is pitiful really but we had so much fun it didn't matter.

Two off us wandered off to the restaurant for lunch and came back an hour later to not many more prawns in the bucket.

If you are serious fisherman that wants to catch a feed for your family this is not for you but if you want a bit of relaxing fun this is great.

It's not a cheap outing at $26 per adult but we filled a large part of our day doing this so not a bad hourly rate.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Helly13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
31 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Meh...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2013

Admission was a bit pricey for what it is.The food in the restaurant was great. The fishing less so....Maybe it's just because I didn't catch anything!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank TSandH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Huka Prawn Park also viewed

 
Taupo, Taupo District
Taupo, Taupo District
 

Been to Huka Prawn Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing