We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Too quick tour. Need to know in advance what to order, or you'll get frozen shrimps!”
Review of Huka Prawn Park

Huka Prawn Park
Book In Advance
More Info
$19.47*
and up
Interactive Prawn Park with Prawn Fishing in Taupo
Ranked #12 of 35 things to do in Taupo
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: New Zealand's only Prawn Fishing Park. Located just 5 minutes from Taupo and offering hours of entertainment for people of all ages. Experience the thrill of landing the fiesty prawn at Hook-a-Prawn Fishing, enjoy the delight of hand feeding, baby prawns in the Prawn Nursery, and get up close and personal with Shawn the Prawn, in the Aquarium. Then head out to more than 6 hectares of fun and entertainment throughout the park, including interactive water features, adventure playgrounds, trout viewing and feeding, and geothermal foot baths. The day wouldn't be complete with relaxing beside the mighty Waikato River at the Riverside restaurant and bar and enjoying a mouthwatering selection of meals and beverages on offer. Huka Prawn Park, a day of fun and adventure for all!
Reviewed November 4, 2013

The tour of the prawn hatchery etc. could have been very interesting; but the guide was apparently in a hurry, so we had to run at almost every station, with the only exception of the prawn hand feeding. Maybe because there were only 4 of us, so he did not want to spend too much time...
And we did not catch any prawn, because a lot of red little fish was always eating the bite...

Then at the restaurant, we ordered one Prawn Skewer salad and one Prawn curry. The waitress assured us that there were three skewers of prawns. But in both courses, we found just one prawn and a lot of frozen shrimps (three skewers of them, but...).
So we learned that in order to REALLY eat some locally grown prawns, you must choose the "Steamed Whole Prawns"; which we did and this course was indeed satisfactory (about 12 prawns). But so in the end, we paid the two other courses, for nothing...

Date of experience: November 2013
Thank Sergiob703
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,126)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"prawn fishing"
in 174 reviews
"prawns"
in 755 reviews
"prawn farm"
in 72 reviews
"garlic butter"
in 23 reviews
"paddle boats"
in 20 reviews
"chowder"
in 19 reviews
"foot bath"
in 18 reviews
"fun fishing"
in 13 reviews
"great family day"
in 15 reviews
"guided tour"
in 28 reviews
"hand feeding"
in 15 reviews
"hot chips"
in 12 reviews
"trout"
in 53 reviews
"nature walk"
in 12 reviews
"few hours"
in 32 reviews
"great fun"
in 52 reviews
"couple of hours"
in 26 reviews
Filter

903 - 907 of 1,126 reviews

Reviewed November 4, 2013

The park is beautifully kept and to before starting to fish for prawn there's a very interesting guided tour that educates children and adults alike on prawn farming. Fishing is really a simple pleasure and the park itself has a quite relaxing atmosphere but at the same time exciting due to the thrill of a catch and the kids adventure walk that leads to trout feeding and ultimately to the restaurant where friendly staff will cook your prawns for you!

Date of experience: October 2013
Thank c0mmuter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2013

We fished for 5.5 hours and caught 14 prawns between 3 of us which is pitiful really but we had so much fun it didn't matter.

Two off us wandered off to the restaurant for lunch and came back an hour later to not many more prawns in the bucket.

If you are serious fisherman that wants to catch a feed for your family this is not for you but if you want a bit of relaxing fun this is great.

It's not a cheap outing at $26 per adult but we filled a large part of our day doing this so not a bad hourly rate.

Date of experience: October 2013
Thank Helly13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2013

Admission was a bit pricey for what it is.The food in the restaurant was great. The fishing less so....Maybe it's just because I didn't catch anything!

Date of experience: October 2013
1  Thank TSandH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed October 20, 2013

My partner and I had a fantastic time at Huka Prawn Park! We visited on a weekday which worked well as they weren't to busy, I can imagine this place gets really busy in school holidays and over summer. We did the full tour through the Hatchery's, even got to hand feed some prawns! The guide we had was very informative and friendly. We then had a quick fishing lesson and then we got let lose on the rods! (rods and bait ar provided)The park has plenty of space and its really well laid out with nice jetty's to sit and fish from and even comfy arm chairs. In the first 20 minutes we had some beginners luck and caught 2 decent size prawns then the next couple of hours were lots of bite but not much action. We left the day with 3 but was very fun and well worth a visit and entry fee. A few tips I would like to suggest are Make a day of it, there is heaps to do here, especially for kids. The restaurant closes quite early around 4pm so pays to do a lunch, we didn't eat there but wow the food looked and smelt great

Date of experience: October 2013
1  Thank Claire W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Huka Prawn Park also viewed

 

Been to Huka Prawn Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing