We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family Fun”
Review of Huka Prawn Park

Huka Prawn Park
Book In Advance
More Info
$21.89*
and up
Interactive Prawn Park with Prawn Fishing in Taupo
Ranked #9 of 69 things to do in Taupo
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: New Zealand's only Prawn Fishing Park. Located just 5 minutes from Taupo and offering hours of entertainment for people of all ages. Experience the thrill of landing the fiesty prawn at Hook-a-Prawn Fishing, enjoy the delight of hand feeding, baby prawns in the Prawn Nursery, and get up close and personal with Shawn the Prawn, in the Aquarium. Then head out to more than 6 hectares of fun and entertainment throughout the park, including interactive water features, adventure playgrounds, trout viewing and feeding, and geothermal foot baths. The day wouldn't be complete with relaxing beside the mighty Waikato River at the Riverside restaurant and bar and enjoying a mouthwatering selection of meals and beverages on offer. Huka Prawn Park, a day of fun and adventure for all!
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
117 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Family Fun”
Reviewed June 5, 2013

My family and I (children aged 9 and 7) really enjoyed the Prawn Park. We thoroughly enjoyed the fishing experience and eating our Prawns at the end.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank TheRobertsons43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

891 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    352
    301
    150
    58
    30
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Perth W.A
Level Contributor
56 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed May 29, 2013

Looked great on the brochures, and offered something different, but we were very disappointed. The entrance cost was quite high. We were not advised about the tour so were not aware of it, but have heard it is worth doing. We were given small flick rods and bait to try and catch prawns from their ponds. Of the 30 odd people trying to catch prawns, we were the only ones that actually caught anything after an hour an a half,....we only caught 5 prawns between 3 of us. To purchase a kg of prawns from onsight shop was ONLY $65/kg, just a bit expensive. The good thing was that you can cook your own prawns on sight if you wish, or for a fee they will cook them. It WAS quite fun to cook our 5 prawns, but very disappointing.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Fishforeva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Level Contributor
325 reviews
108 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 221 helpful votes
“Just OK”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Didn't fish for shrimp, but ate at the restaurant. The entry price was steep and the shrimp fisherman didn't look like they were catching any. I had the six battered shrimp plate, which was over-priced. The café is located on a very scenic river.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank SolarT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Level Contributor
131 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Fun for the kids and the (not so little) kids”
Reviewed May 23, 2013 via mobile

What a treat! Lots of space, ponds full of trout and prawns. You can feed them by hand and fish for them with a little hook and some bait. Best of all, you eat the catch. Lots of activities are available as well, from driving golf balls into the ponds to frisbee or just watching the action on the river from the comfort of the restaurant. I will be back.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank dougcoAuckland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Fun for whole family”
Reviewed May 19, 2013

Had great time at the Park.
It was first time fishing for our 5 years old daughter and was safe and geart fun, not just for her but whole family include grandmother. We just planed to stay 3 hours but at the end spent whole day until closing time.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank JIWAUCKLAND
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Huka Prawn Park also viewed

 
Taupo, Taupo District
Taupo, Taupo District
 

Been to Huka Prawn Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing