We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The price of prawns” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Huka Prawn Park

Huka Prawn Park
Book In Advance
More Info
$20.13*
and up
Interactive Prawn Park with Prawn Fishing in Taupo
Ranked #8 of 67 things to do in Taupo
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: New Zealand's only Prawn Fishing Park. Located just 5 minutes from Taupo and offering hours of entertainment for people of all ages. Experience the thrill of landing the fiesty prawn at Hook-a-Prawn Fishing, enjoy the delight of hand feeding, baby prawns in the Prawn Nursery, and get up close and personal with Shawn the Prawn, in the Aquarium. Then head out to more than 6 hectares of fun and entertainment throughout the park, including interactive water features, adventure playgrounds, trout viewing and feeding, and geothermal foot baths. The day wouldn't be complete with relaxing beside the mighty Waikato River at the Riverside restaurant and bar and enjoying a mouthwatering selection of meals and beverages on offer. Huka Prawn Park, a day of fun and adventure for all!
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
101 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“The price of prawns”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2013

Visited on our way from Taupo to Rotarua thought it might be a fun thing to do to catch some prawns. We thought the prices were over the top for our limited time so bought some raw prawns to cook later, we should have kept our money - when compared with normal stores the price was way over the top. We won't bother again.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Ian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

832 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    330
    275
    144
    54
    29
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Bristol
Level Contributor
381 reviews
137 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 219 helpful votes
“An unusual and fun thing to do”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

We took the full tour of the prawn park and got to find out how they breed the prawns. As we are foodies then we found this fascinating, but I guess not everyone would.

Then we went prawn fishing which was fun but fruitless. If you are hoping to catch your dinner, it will take a LONG time. Easier to buy them at reception, or eat in the restaurant.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank TravelNutBristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmerston North, New Zealand
Level Contributor
70 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Prawns a little overcooked”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2013

Come here every time we go to Taupo, but felt this time that the 1/2 kg of prawns was overcooked, would come again, hopefully would be better. Lovely sitting out in the sun.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank MargoBebb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very enjoyable day”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2013

Overall, it was a very enjoyable experience. The price ($26 for an adult) struck me as a little expensive, but you could easily spend half or even the full day at this place. There is plenty to see and do, along with the fishing. I highly recommend going on the guided tour first, it only takes 20-30 minutes and they will provide you with some hints and tips to maximise your catch. Our tour guide, Greg, was very enthusiastic and helpful and this was representative of all the staff.

Fishing for the prawns can be tricky (as noted in the other reviews), however it is not impossible. We were in a group of 4 and caught 27 prawn in under 3 hours. There is a technique to it, so I recommend going on the tour first.

Didn't try out the restaurant as we preferred to take ours home.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Tigerwoods11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 attraction reviews
“Great Family Trip”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2013

We spent the day here with family and kids. The trip around the prawn nursery wher you can feed the prawns was good fun for young and old. Afterwards you can go do some fishing for prawns and you get to eat your catch, as well as a nice playground for the kids.

Great day trip

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Gary C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Huka Prawn Park also viewed

 
Taupo, Taupo District
Taupo, Taupo District
 

Been to Huka Prawn Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing