We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Falls Chateau
Nearby Hotels
$95
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cascades Lakefront Motel(Taupo)(Great Value!)
$90
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Wairakei Resort Taupo(Taupo)(Great Value!)
$114
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Hilton Lake Taupo(Taupo)(Great Value!)
$126
$120
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$146
$119
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Gables Lakefront Motel(Taupo)(Great Value!)
$120
$115
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sails On The Lake(Taupo)(Great Value!)
$111
$102
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$108
$102
Hotwire.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Prince Motor Lodge(Taupo)(Great Value!)
$89
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Le Chalet Suisse Motel(Taupo)(Great Value!)
$88
$80
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (102)
Filter reviews
102 results
Traveler rating
15
22
12
16
37
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
15
22
12
16
37
See what travelers are saying:
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
76 - 81 of 102 reviews
Reviewed November 21, 2012

Having stayed at Falls Chateau previously we knew how to find it and we were also sent, via txt, travelling directions by the owner - so much better to the previous experience of trying to find the house in the dark of winter with no signage about. Nice to also see a name at the entrance to the house now too, much less confusing for first time 'residents'. The house itself is a lovely property, tastefully decorated with wonderful views from the front. On this stay we were in a one-bedroom suite which was quite adequate and had enough space to feel comfy in. I would however like to see a 'pathway' made to the entrance to this part of the house as grass would not be as pleasant to walk on in the wetter months. There were minor details that could be dealt with (including bed-side lamps that we could not turn on) but no way that we could see of leaving a message for the owners, when one left, to indicate this. More could be done with this lovely house.

Room Tip: The front of the house has all the big vista views. The downstairs one-bedroom suite is roomy and has outdoor flow but not the views.
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Diane C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2012

The Falls Chateau is a two storied house on the outskirts of Taupo by Huka Falls. It comprises two separate one bed units and a two bed apartment. We stayed in the apartment which had a very large kitchen downstairs, a dining suite for 4 and a comfortable day room. Upstairs was an enormous lounge and two bedrooms with bathroom. The apartment was tastefully decorated, very clean and very comfortable with splendid views. The Chateau is not easy to find so ring once you are close for directions. The arrangement of the property, the accessing and some of the rules may appear odd but if you can live with them then this is a very comfortable and convenient place for a couple of nights.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JackAuckland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2012

Apartments are very comfortable and clean. Very nice decor, bathroom suites etc. Not a very welcoming arrival and bit of a strange set up. No office/reception desk at apartments. Arrived and house was locked and in darkness. Owner has alarm which goes off in his house to notifiy of people arriving at house, who arrived a few minutes after arrival. House is split into apartements so has lots of inter-connecting doors which are locked.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LCGAyrshire_Scotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2012

We booked on booking.com for 3 rooms, and 15 minutes before we arrived received a text that the rooms were not availalbe and he would 'do us a favour and give us an upgrade" we arrived too early and I was advised in no uncertain terms that we were not welcome until 3 pm. When our travelling party arrived before us they were given the 'lecture' about unacceptable standards of behaviour and a laminated list of instructions of what not to do. We were advised no parties, and that some people had to nerve to change tempature settings on the heater ( imagine if you live in sunny Qld and it is less than 5 degress that you would want it warm!) and that is was programmed to shut off at 24 degrees. Not an upgrade for our friends who booked 2 rooms they were given an appartment with one bathroom between 4 people and were lectured on the water restrictions and charges for using excess water. The offensive signs about do not cook were wasted on us as the stove had been disconnected. He may have 100% occupancy in summer and 98% in winter, but VERY disappointed. I beleive he should have been paying us. The worst ever experience in new zealand!

Room Tip: Don't book here
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Lesa P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2012

We were to stay here on Thursday night which my boss had booked the cheapest room possible. When we got there a man was waiting for us on the driveway with his clipboard ready to meet us. He told us that due to their strict "no kids" policy, we had had our room upgraded to the 2 level deluxe apartment. At first we thought this would be good, but after the man quickly ran upstairs to lock the extra room, we started to have our doubts

He promptly started reading us the list of do not's which included; no visitors, do not turn the heatpump above 22 degrees, do not park anywhere but here, do not slam the door etc.

Seeing as the room had two lounges and enough seating to accomodate atleast 20 people, we invited 2 friends over after dinner for a quick drink. Within 3 minutes of walking back into the house we recieved a text message (pictures attached) to say that they had to leave with the ridiculous excuse that "security" (who turns out to be all one person) have noticed additional people in the room and that they must leave. I rang him to tell him we were just having a drink and to simmer down and he gave us 30 minutes before they had to be out. 34 minutes later, we recieved another text saying that the guests were still there and if he had to send a "security gaurd" to evict them, we would be charged. He kept using the same stupid excuses and in the end we all left as we felt uncomfortable constantly being monitored. The man must have just bought a dymo label maker or something and had gone bananas with it. A couple of stickers to note were: " do not cook asian or indian food" above the stove. A sign on the heatpump remote that said " do not turn to above 22 degrees or the unit will be shut down". There were signs that said if we didn't leave by 10 that there would be a charge put on our card immediatly, $50 for a lost towel, and a fee for not cleaning the room. I was to scared to pass wind incase we were charged some sort of soiling the air fee.

I understand that we only paid about $100, but its not our fault he had double booked us. All in all, a really nice place that has terrible customer service and an analy retentive manager/owner.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Beth W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews