We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (868)
Filter reviews
868 results
Traveler rating
784
78
2
4
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
784
78
2
4
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshomemade cookieshot tubacross the roadhosts peterlake tauponight lightcoffee cartprivate spa poollittle touchesgreat hostsup to datefriendly ownerscomfy bedgreat spotonly stayed one nightsky tva great place to stay
Filter
Updating list...
80 - 85 of 868 reviews
Reviewed February 1, 2018

Very happy to review this place. We were greeted by a genuine warm welcome with lots of good local advise. It is very clean, with a cheeky hot tub out the back, extremely quiet, well appointed with a free laundry, honesty box for the detergent - nice touch.
We only stayed one night but would happily stay longer, especially as Lake Taupo seemed such a nice place.
Wouldn't hesitate to return.

  • Stayed: January 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sparkyfletch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TaupoGables, Owner at Gables Lakefront Motel, responded to this reviewResponded June 5, 2018

Hi Sparkyfletch,
Thanks for the great review and kind words. We really do try our best to make your stay the best ever. It was lovely to meet you both and we are pleased that you enjoyed your room and all our facilities including the homemade cookies and fresh, crisp apples each day. We wish you all the best for the rest of your travels and hope to see you again soon. Take care. Kind regards, Peter & Penny

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2018

We decided to stay some where near the shops,The view from our motel unit was amazing we could see the mountains in the distance and lots of people enjoying the weather.The unit was great had its own hot pool which was great to soak in after long drive.The bed was to die for haven't slept in one so comfortable in motel I think it was because the pillows were full not skinny like others we have had.The cooking arrangement was well provided for and a great variety of coffee , tea etc , The bathroom was spacious and clean and tidy so all in all a great place to stay plus the hosts were friendly and nothing was to much trouble.

Room Tip: good views on left of reception
  • Stayed: January 2018, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank deniswaddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TaupoGables, Owner at Gables Lakefront Motel, responded to this reviewResponded June 5, 2018

Hi deniswaddy,
Thanks for the great review and kind words. We really do try our best to make your stay the best ever with very comfortable beds and good pillows. It was lovely to meet you both and we are pleased that you enjoyed your room and all our facilities including the homemade cookies and fresh, crisp apples each day. We wish you all the best for the rest of your travels and hope to see you again soon. Take care. Kind regards, Peter & Penny

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2018

Missed Peter and Penny this year, but Aaron was great. Very friendly and helpful. Facilities super clean and tidy, comfortable bed and love the full oven and fridge available in our unit. Ice machine a winner & use of a laundry great as we exercise each day, great not needing to store sweaty items.
Looking forward to returning next year.

Room Tip: Some rooms I believe have A/C but not the upstairs 2 room unit we had. Is a pretty hot summer, but A/C would have been amazing.
  • Stayed: January 2018, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank abbiebambam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TaupoGables, Owner at Gables Lakefront Motel, responded to this reviewResponded June 5, 2018

Hi abbiebambam,
Thanks for your great review and sorry that we missed you this year. We are pleased that you had a good stay and you enjoyed our facilities. Hope to see you next year. We wish you all the best. Take care.
Kind regards,
Peter & Penny

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2018

I travel extensively for work in NZ & stay in motels. This trip was for pleasure, but The Gables would have to be the best motel I have stayed in, in NZ. Fantastic attention to detail, extremely clean, well appointed, very comfortable bed & very nice home baked biscuits.

  • Stayed: January 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Chilham2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TaupoGables, Owner at Gables Lakefront Motel, responded to this reviewResponded June 5, 2018

Hi Chilham2,
Thanks for the great review and kind words. It was lovely to meet you all and we are pleased that you enjoyed all our little extras that make the Gables a special place to stay. We try our best here and it is very nice to be appreciated. We wish you all the best and look forward to seeing you again. Take care. Kind regards, Peter & Penny

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2018

Aaron was the perfect meet and greet Manager. He gave us all the information we needed, in a friendly, knowledgeable manner. The lake view apartment gave us all the facilities we required to enjoy our stay.

Stayed: January 2018
Thank frankandsally2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TaupoGables, Owner at Gables Lakefront Motel, responded to this reviewResponded June 5, 2018

Hi frankandsally2018,
Thanks for the great review and kind words. It was lovely to meet you both and we are pleased that you enjoyed all our little extras that make the Gables a special place to stay. We try our best here and it is very nice to be appreciated. We wish you all the best and look forward to seeing you again. Take care. Kind regards, Peter & Penny

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews