We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (868)
Filter reviews
868 results
Traveler rating
784
78
2
4
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
784
78
2
4
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshomemade cookieshot tubacross the roadhosts peterlake tauponight lightcoffee cartprivate spa poollittle touchesgreat hostsup to datefriendly ownerscomfy bedgreat spotonly stayed one nightsky tva great place to stay
Filter
Updating list...
249 - 254 of 868 reviews
Reviewed March 30, 2017 via mobile

All I can say about this Motel is that it Was the most wonderful experience I have ever had.

If your in Taupo say at Gables Lakefront Motel. The owners are fantastic and super friendly. The units are modern clean and so comftrable you don't want to leave.

Highly recommend trust me.
Thank you... :)

Stayed: March 2017, traveled with family
Thank Brizor1991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TaupoGables, Owner at Gables Lakefront Motel, responded to this reviewResponded April 26, 2017

Hi Brizor1991,
Thanks for the great review and kind words. It was lovely to meet you both and we really enjoyed your company. We are pleased that you enjoyed your your room and all our facilities. We wish you all the best and look forward to seeing you again. Take care.
Kind regards,
Peter & Penny

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2017

We thoroughly enjoyed our 3-night stay and were highly impressed by the facilities -- decor, comfortable furnishings and bed, fully-equipped kitchen, pristine shower -- not to mention the relaxing hot-tub at the rear of the unit.
Our unit enjoyed beautiful views across the Lake and the Gables is also conveniently sited -- walking to town & local restaurants can be achieved in 15 minutes with little effort.
What sets this place apart though is the warmth of the welcome, the service throughout, and the attention to detail including the "extras" such as fresh fruit, home-made cookies replenished daily.
Based on our visit, we would have no hesitation in recommending The Gables as THE place to stay!

Room Tip: If possible request a unit with views of the Lake -- and a hot tub! - we were in unit 14.
  • Stayed: March 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AndyW1704
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TaupoGables, Owner at Gables Lakefront Motel, responded to this reviewResponded April 26, 2017

Hi AndyW1704,Thanks for the great review and kind words. It was lovely to meet you both and we are pleased that you enjoyed all our little extras that make the Gables a special place to stay. We try our best here and it is very nice to be appreciated. We wish you all the best and look forward to seeing you again. Take care.
Kind regards,
Peter & Penny

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2017

We stayed for one night and arrived late after a cruise on Lake Taupo. The room was spotlessly clean with everything you could need - microwave, dishwashwer, plates, glasses, etc. Penny and Peter were incredibly friendly and accommodating and we were grateful for the home made choc chip cookies and apples in our room as we hadn't had time to stop for food yet. The hot tub was wonderful after a long day of driving. We were certainly be back one one.

  • Stayed: March 2017, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thehillbillys2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TaupoGables, Owner at Gables Lakefront Motel, responded to this reviewResponded April 26, 2017

Hi thehillbillys2017,
Thanks for the great review and kind words. It was lovely to meet you all and we are pleased that you enjoyed all our little extras that make the Gables a special place to stay. We try our best here and it is very nice to be appreciated. We wish you all the best and look forward to seeing you again. Take care.
Kind regards,
Peter & Penny

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2017

The motel is situated facing the lake with an easy 10 minute stroll into the town centre where the bars and restaurants are located. Having pre-booked, the check-in process was quick and efficient. Peter showed us to our room and was a mine of information about the local area. In addition to the normal facilities one would expect in a motel, there were some lovely touches including fresh fruit and home-made cookies. The decoration, furnishings and bathroom facilities looked pristine and the bed was very comfortable. The water pressure in the shower is very high. We also had a private hot tub which was most relaxing after a long day's walk. Would highly recommend staying at this motel and will definitely return to it if visiting the area.

  • Stayed: February 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Iantravelsalot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TaupoGables, Owner at Gables Lakefront Motel, responded to this reviewResponded April 26, 2017

Hi Iantravelsalot,
Thanks for the great review and kind words. It was lovely to meet you all and we are pleased that you enjoyed all our little extras that make the Gables a special place to stay. We try our best here and it is very nice to be appreciated. We wish you all the best and look forward to seeing you again. Take care.
Kind regards,
Peter & Penny

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2017

We had a very enjoyable three night stay in a three bedroom unit - even though the two bedroom would have been more than adequate.

The motel does command great views of the lake but our room didn't - no big deal, we got out and walked. The host is very friendly, showing us into the room and a very nice touch, bringing in a jar of fresh biscuits. In the unit was also a bowl of fresh fruit which were replenished each day - so that was lovely. Free laundry, family hot tub, nice kitchen, dishwasher a plus. Friendly welcome.

The motel is on the main road so there is a little traffic noise but not unbearably so. There is free laundry which again is a big plus for a family. The kitchen was nice and roomy and the dishwasher is a big big plus as well for an extended stay.

There was lots of space in the vanity unit for toiletries which is welcomed when sharing a three bedroom unit. A separate toilet is also a plus. We had the three bedroom unit but we really could have managed with a two bedroom. I do like stainless steel kettles rather than those horrible plastic ones.

The only negatives - the downstairs bedroom's only ventilation was unfortunately a window that opened into the laundry corridor and so not as good as opening onto the street or a lawned area. A bigger refrigerator for a family using a three-bedroom unit would have been nice. The motel was a little more expensive than others we've stayed at in NZ.

My other bigger concern was the railing that goes to the upstairs area. When I first saw it, I did notice that the corners had been rounded off, but I still thought that the small portion that still prortues about 10 cms or so would be something that a small child like my six year old grandchild could still hit her face on and unfortunately one day she did when we were sitting on the dining chair and she rushed past - she wasn't running but just getting past us to go into the lounge area. So one unhappy child with a sore head for a little while.

But on the whole the host was very friendly with nice little touches that make your stay very memorable.

  • Stayed: December 2016, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank GlobeTrotters4001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TaupoGables, Owner at Gables Lakefront Motel, responded to this reviewResponded April 26, 2017

Hi GlobeTrotters4001,
Thanks for your review and feedback. You had booked the 3 bedroom unit and all our 2 bedroom units were already booked so you stayed in the unit that you had booked online. I am sorry to hear about your grandchild and hope she is feeling better. We have not had this problem before with the stairs railings but we will look at how we can improve it so this does not happen again. We wish you all the best.
Kind regards,
Peter & Penny

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews