We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GREAT ONE NIGHT STOP”
Review of Executive Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Executive Motel
Ranked #17 of 69 Hotels in Taupo
Certificate of Excellence
Livingston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“GREAT ONE NIGHT STOP”
Reviewed March 6, 2014

Easily found and booked on line with excellent directions to property. A very nice welcome from the Owner with local advice was the start of a very pleasant stay. The room was very clean with a well equipped bedroom, kitchen and bathroom. The front car park is furnished with patio furniture for guests to enjoy the excellent views across Lake Taupo to the mountains. It certainly ticked the box for our one night stay and the owners were very pleasant and informative without being intrusive.
Having stayed in numerous Motels in both islands of New Zealand this was up there with the best and excellent value for money.

Room Tip: The only lake view belongs to the Owners so don't bid for it????
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marsandbob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TaupoExecutive, Manager at Executive Motel, responded to this review, May 19, 2014
Thank you so much for your lovely review.
Also thanks for posting the photos really nice shots.

Kind regards
Keith and Phillippa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

228 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    132
    68
    21
    4
    3
See reviews for
27
133
14
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2014

Stayed for 3 nights with 2 rooms. 1 of our rooms allowing easy access for elderly guests in our group. A nice location, about 10 mins walk to the main part of town. Nothing glamorous but modern enough, a little bit noisy during our stay as construction works were going on right next door but it wasn't a problem at night time and as we were out most of the time it didn't really matter. Car parking on site. The lady that checked us in insisted that we paid for accommodation upon check in - we thought this was quite unusual for a motel and maybe it was because there was construction going on at the time.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank killiansonthemove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TaupoExecutive, Owner at Executive Motel, responded to this review, May 27, 2014
Thankyou for your review.We always take payment on arrival as that has always been our policy.
The mornings are very busy here and sometimes guests leave before the office is open and they find it very convenient to have their receipt immediately.
Pleased you enjoyed the activities taupo has to offer.
Kind regards,Keith & Phillippa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2014

All accommodation in Taupo is expensive, however we found executive motel to be great value for money. The motel is in a good location just 10 minutes from the main centre and the room was clean and spacious.If I'm ever back in taupo I'd definitely consider staying here again.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 526Traveller526
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TaupoExecutive, Owner at Executive Motel, responded to this review, May 27, 2014
Thankyou for taking the time to review.
We are so pleased you found your stay great value.
Kind regards, Phillippa & Keith
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed January 8, 2014

The first few minutes I walked into the reception and talked to the lady host, Phillippa, I felt the warmth and welcome instantly. She is really nice and has a lot of local knowledge of Taupo including restaurants, art galary..etc. The room I stayed(room 10) has a fantastic view over Lake Taupo on its valcony, it is so beautiful either in the morning or in the evening sunset. The ground is well maintained and pot plats with many beautiful flowers are particularly impressive in this hot NZ summer. The morning I left I had the opportunity to meet the husband of Phillippa, Keith, he is equally warm and friendly. This is the best motel hosts I have ever met in my trip.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Braemar_Motor_Lodge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TaupoExecutive, Owner at Executive Motel, responded to this review, May 27, 2014
Great to receive your lovely review.
Thank you.
Kind regards,
Phillippa & Keith
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam
Level Contributor
48 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2013

We stayed at the Executive Motel in Taupo during our journey through New Zealand. We chose Taupo as a centre point for walking the Tongariro Crossing and Waitomo and chose the Executive Motel after reading many good reviews.
We can only add to this list becuase there is nothinng that's not good here.
When we arrived, we were warmly greated by the owner. She gave us an upgrade of our former room which was very kind and provided us with a bath and shower instead of just a shower. The room was very clean and almost everything you need is present. There were no pots and pans. They had removed them after people cooked spicy and strong smelling food. You can het them though by just asking. I have to admit I was extra careful with my cooking after seeing the shock on the owners face whilst she was telling the story, but it all worked out fine.

You can eat your food inside at the table, but there are chairs and tables outside as well which give you a nice sea view.
The motel is located near the street but you don't have to worry about traffic noises. You walk out of the motel and cross the street where you can walk alongside the lake towards the town centre where you can grab some food to later on return to this lovely place.
Towels are changed every day just as the turning of the bedsheets. The owners will do everything to make you feel right at home.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ucchan82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TaupoExecutive, Owner at Executive Motel, responded to this review, May 27, 2014
Pleased you had such an enjoyable stay.Thank you for your comments.
Kind regards Keith & Phillippa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed October 9, 2013

Can't fault this place; from check-in to check-out everything was superb. We stayed in Superior Studio which was very clean and well equipped. Great view, comfy bed, comes with spa bath, kitchenette, Sky TV, secured car park and FREE Wi-Fi what more do you want...

Moreover our host Phillippa was outstanding and the customer service we received was top-notch during our entire stay of 3 nights. Lovely lake front location and city center is with walking distance.

Highly recommended...... Absolutely amazing in all areas which exceeded our expectations.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 700Milind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TaupoExecutive, Owner at Executive Motel, responded to this review, May 27, 2014
Look forward to your return.
Thank you for your review.
Kind regards,
Keith & Phillippa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2013

We were really looking forward to our night away, husband had something on in town so after a long drive and waiting in town from 8am in the cold I headed over to the motel at 1.30pm. The man behind the desk clearly showed his disappointment I arrived half a hour early and said that check in wasn't until 2pm. I get that arriving really early could be annoying but please... It was half hour, it was quiet, no one else was around. Being a bit more accommodating would have been great, charge me an extra 10 bucks if that helps you. Room was ok dated but ok, apart from the small double bed (who has these nowadays?) and not the best quality, we would not stay in a double ever again, the room was very clean though. The lady on check out was lovely, and made up for the check in experience.

Room Tip: Please ask if you are in a double bed... If so you would be better in two singles
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank 7travelbug7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TaupoExecutive, Owner at Executive Motel, responded to this review, May 27, 2014
Thankyou for your review.
Pleased to hear the location was to your satisfaction.
Kind regards, Keith & Phillippa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taupo hotels
0.1 mi away
Gables Lakefront Motel
0.8 mi away
The Reef Resort - Heritage Collection
0.2 mi away
Sails On The Lake
Sails On The Lake
#5 of 69 in Taupo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Baycrest Lodge
Baycrest Lodge
#11 of 69 in Taupo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 293 reviews
0.7 mi away
Chantilly's Lake Taupo
Chantilly's Lake Taupo
#19 of 69 in Taupo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 161 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hilton Lake Taupo
Hilton Lake Taupo
#7 of 69 in Taupo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,992 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Executive Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Executive Motel

Property: Executive Motel
Address: 114 Lake Terrace, Taupo 3330, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Taupo District > Taupo
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 69 Hotels in Taupo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Executive Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Executive Motel in Taupo is the perfect accommodation for business travelers and couples wanting a tranquil, safe and secure environment with off street parking. Our spacious spotless quiet non smoking units with tasteful decor and quality furnishings have outdoor tables and chairs for relaxing; ensuring your stay will leave you refreshed and revived. All 11 units face away from the road - minimising road noise and helping you get a great night's sleep. With views of the lake from the upstairs balcony you can relax with a coffee or glass of wine and hear the gentle waves of Lake Taupo as they come to shore and view the superb sunsets. Your unit is serviced daily and an in room breakfast is available if requested and we offer a full Laundry service to our guests. The main Taupo town centre, with its excellent dining and shopping facilities is located a short walking distance away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Executive Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing