We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Courtney Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Courtney Motel
Ranked #48 of 71 Hotels in Taupo
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2013

We stayed at Courtney Motel for three nights last weekend - the room was very very comfortable, we enjoyed Our stay and Leoni was an awesome hostess - thankyou again Leoni,
we will be back - Regards Ross.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rareteam007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
traveller19701, Owner at Courtney Motel, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to review your recent stay at Courtney Motel. Your reviews make a difference, they assist us to provide the best value Budget Motel Accommodation in Taupo. We hope to welcome you back to Taupo at some time in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    26
    17
    4
    8
See reviews for
16
29
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hastings, New Zealand
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2013

we stopped in unexpectedly on the way home and asked if there was a room. I asked to see it first and was given the keys to room 19 and 21 of Courtney. They were both wonderful and we stayed in for the nite. The lady in reception Lynda was wonderful to us and this is what i remembered the most.She went out of her way.Internet was free. Milk was given (not uht milk like the other motels).Shower was wonderful.
Only comment is the hair in the shower hole.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank margaret b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
traveller19701, Owner at Courtney Motel, responded to this review, June 23, 2013
Thank you for taking your time to provide your review. Your feedback assists us in continually improving our product and service. I'm pleased you enjoyed your stay. The Courtney Motel team strive to make your stay enjoyable at Taupo's best value Budget Motel, ideal for a overnight stay or a little longer. I have passed your feedback on to our housekeeping team. We look forward to welcoming you back to Taupo at some point in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2013

We didn't find it anywhere near as bad as some of the reviews. We appreciated the close proximity to town, the room was a good size, the bed huge and importantly the room clean. The room was well priced for what it offered. If you want luxury pay more and enjoy. If you want a place to put your head on a pillow stay here. We only talked to one staff member during our two day stay and she was friendly and polite.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kjmnic S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
traveller19701, Owner at Courtney Motel, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Thanks for your review, we appreciate that you have taken your time to provide feedback on your recent stay at Courtney Motel. We strive to be the best value Budget Motel in Taupo and appreciate the feedback and guidance you have provided to Trip Advisor readers. We hope to welcome you back to Taupo at some time in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whakapapa, New Zealand
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2013 via mobile

Booked a room here as a stop over on the way home from Auckland Airport and called to book a late arrival, lovely woman at desk left key for us to find and the heater on which was great as we arrived just after midnight. We found the room to be very spacious and clean, bed was very comfy and the fresh milk was the icing on the cake. Thank you Courtney Motel for a very pleasant stay. We will definitely be back. :-)

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sonz091285
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
traveller19701, Owner at Courtney Motel, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to review your recent stay at Courtney Motel, we very much appreciate your feedback and comments and look forward to welcoming you back to Taupo at some point in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2013

I must say I was put off staying in this motel when I read previous trip advisor reviews, however I decided to keep an open mind and try it for myself as it was very reasonably priced and well located. I'm glad I did as I was very pleasantly surprised. It sounds as though all rooms may not be fully updated yet but the room I had was modern and tastefully decorated. The kitchenette was well equipped, bathroom was large with a big spa bath and lot's of hot water, lovely comfortable bed and all very clean. I consider myself fairly fussy about motel rooms but the only negatives I could say was a bit of damage to the ceiling above the shower and in one place on the edge of the carpet. The drive in entrance and car parking are a little bit tight but nothing to worry about and management happily allowed me to leave my car parked there after I checked out, while I walked into town. I found all the staff to be friendly, efficient and helpful. As a woman travelling alone I was looking for somewhere walking distance to town where I felt safe, and I felt completely safe here. I think if you bear in mind this is a good value for money, budget motel you will find it absolutely fine. I would particularly recommend it for a night stop over, budget business or Taupo short stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tyney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
traveller19701, Owner at Courtney Motel, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay at Courtney Motel. Like the vast majority of our very happy guests I am pleased we were able to meet all your expectations of what a great value 3 star budget property should be. A well priced clean and friendly, safe and comfortable home away from home when travelling on your own or in a Group or Family. Courtney Motel prides itself on being the best value 3 star property within an easy walk of the town centre and close to the lake front. The Courtney Motel Team are happy to receive all guest feedback, as this provides a good basis for constant improvement, but we are even more happy when we get positive feedback that suggests we are meeting or exceeding our guests expectations, thanks for your time and we hope to welcome you back at some stage in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2013

In NZ for 10 days and regrettably, 4 of these were spent here. Taupo a lovely place but this motel has more than seen its day. Old, worn out and tired. Carpets putrid. Hubby NEVER wears shoes inside but insisted the entire stay to wear thongs (flip flops) whilst inside. Shower revolting, requiring me to wear thongs also. Family room (2 adult kids with us) and inadequate lounge seating...for 3...so, last one in got to sit on a kitchen chair for the evening!
Lights blown in every room BEFORE we took occupancy. Crockery & cutlery thrown together and no full sets of anything. Came home late evening to find room had been serviced but no one had bothered to restock toilet paper supplies and the night manager (when he eventually arrived) was rude and aggressive. We didn't bother to try the spa given the state of the bathroom in the room ugggh!
Don't waste your money on this place there are plenty of LOVELY places in Taupo to pick from.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wazsim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
traveller19701, Owner at Courtney Motel, responded to this review, June 1, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback. I have noted your concerns with regards to the supply of your bathroom consumables and have revised our housekeeping checks to ensure an adequate supply is available to guests at all times. Courtney Motel is a 3 star property where we aim to provide the best value budget accommodation in Taupo. I do apologies that on this occasion we have not met your expectations but can assure your all our carpets are steam cleaned on a regular basis.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Taupo hotels

Masterton
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2013

First impression was okay but we were put off using the spa bath by a build up of hair in the plug hole. The basin had mould around the plug hole. There was an old TV on a bracket sticking out over the door entrance which is very dangerous.My wife got a nasty bang on the head when returning to motel in the evening. The bed was comfortable which was the only good thing about this motel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cameron427
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
traveller19701, Owner at Courtney Motel, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to provide your review. The team at Courtney Motel have an aim to provide the best budget 3 star motel accommodation in Taupo. It appears on this occasion we have fallen short of our high House Keeping standards, for this I apologise and can assure readers we have taken steps to amend our House Keeping quality control so as to avoid a future reoccurance of this oversight. We have invested in quality bedding for improved guest comfort and will be working through a program of TV upgrades over the coming year to add to the upgrades already installed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taupo hotels
0.1 mi away
Wellesley on the Lake Taupo
0.7 mi away
Ashbrook Motel
Ashbrook Motel
#33 of 71 in Taupo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 66 reviews
0.1 mi away
Acapulco Motor Inn
Acapulco Motor Inn
#21 of 71 in Taupo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Suncourt Hotel & Conference Centre
0.1 mi away
Tui Oaks Motor Inn
Tui Oaks Motor Inn
#38 of 71 in Taupo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
0.4 mi away
Absolute Lake View Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtney Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtney Motel

Property: Courtney Motel
Address: 15 Tui St, Taupo 3330, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Taupo District > Taupo
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #48 of 71 Hotels in Taupo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtney Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Courtney Motel is conveniently located just 100 metres from a safe swimming beach and a short stroll along the lakefront to the town centre. Offering a selection of value oriented refurbished 3 star studio,1,2 and 3 bedroom motel units , all with modern furnishings, oversize beds, free on site carparking, Sky TV, Broadband Internet access and Full Kitchen facilities (studios with Kitchenettes). Motel services include, Guest Laundry facilities, Spa and Heated Pool, quiet garden setting with BBQ’s and Breakfast options. So whether you want to stay a night ,a week, or a month from 1 person to a group, Courtney Motel can offer you some of the best value accommodation in Taupo. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Courtney Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing