We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Serene Lakefront Lodge”
Review of Waitahanui Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Taupo
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Waitahanui Lodge
Ranked #11 of 34 Specialty Lodging in Taupo
Reviewed March 31, 2012

A friendly welcome on arrival from the owner. The unit was just lovely - perfectly cosy old-school bach with a brand new bathroom. Impeccably clean and tidy. Stunning view of the lake. Less than a ten minute drive to Taupo town centre.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Wats30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (63)
There are newer reviews for Waitahanui Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

57 - 63 of 63 reviews

Reviewed March 2, 2012

We were traveling by the seat of our pants from Waitaomo cave area to Taupo, arrived late in the day and they had an Iron Man trials going on....nothing avialable, so we headed toward the south end of the lake and ran into these Waitahanui Lodges! Another amazing stroke of luck on our journey through NZ. 5 minutes from Taupo and right in the thick of the fishing which is the reason we were in NZ to start with! The first two nights, we stayed in Lodge #2 which was quite large with two bedrooms and a full kitchen. NOT fancy, just simple accomodations with all you need. This unit was connected to the boiler room via the back door, where you could hang out with other guests, BBQ, do laundry or play a game of cards or darts. They also had a fish cleaning station and a guest use smoker here for your catches. Yeah! The weather was terrible, and so as soon as the front unit along the lake (#3) became available, we snagged it up and watched the lake churn like an ocean. It was nice watching the storms come across the lake, the ducks and the silly people swimming in the rain! This unit is literally 15 steps to the water...at most! There is a long sandy beach running both ways from the place and the Waitahanui River, famous for it's fishing is only about 50 yards away. Unit 4 is also water front, but the whole place is truly lake front! If you are suseptable to traffic noise, as I am, I wouldn't stay in Unit 1 or 5, but with everything closed up because of the cold weather it didn't bother me at night. There are only 5 units and all have kitchens, BBQ's and are very reasonably priced. They also have another Freezer and Refrigerator in the boiler room for guests use.
A wonderful couple, Roger and Sue are running the place and they really bent over backwards to make us comfortable. Sue is a cleaning machine, and seems to be everywhere at once! I wanted to take her home with me! Roger is also quite the fisherman and was great at helping us out in picking our gear (there is a fishing tackle shop in the front office which even the locals use) and giving us tips on where to try our luck. There are herbs planted all around the place that guests are free to use, and Kayaks and a row boat that you can rent. Overall a fantastic experience and we ended up staying 5 days!

Room Tip: Ask for units 3 or 5....lake front!
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Momospond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2012

Read Craigs review & decided to stay outside of Taupo - thanks Craig, best decision I have made in a long time. Truly brilliant & the most relaxing short holiday we have had since I can't remember when. If you like formulaic motels & the coffee shop scene this is wasted on you, or rather you are wasted on it. A real touch of the past, definately nostalgia without the bad bits & clearly managed by people who love what they do. We will be back.

Room Tip: Waterfront Bach 3 or 4
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PommyRob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2011

If you want something different then the waitahanui Lodge certainly is it and if you are lucky to get the waterfront unit ( 4 mtrs to the water) to watch sunsets and awesome morning views this is the place to be. This is a fishing lodge steeped in history and is the old style kiwi bach type of thing , no frills , great hosts , this is not a 4 star hotel but it does feel like the holidays you had when you were a kid if you know what i mean , ideal for the budget minded , great hosts and nothing is a problem with a beautifull river to walk ( awesome tracks) , for somwhere to lay your head you will remember this for a long time

Room Tip: Get the waterfront rooms
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Craig H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2011

The Lodge is stunning. We stayed here for 3 nights in a waterfront room - bedroom, bathroom, kitchen/lounge, stunning wterront patio, access to multiple bbqs, vergetable patch (for yum fresh salad and tomatoes!). The best thing is the access straight to the water - we went swimming on a couple of times a day and it is delightful! Make sure you are back inside with all teh windows shut before it gets properly dark though as the sand flys start comign up and could ruin your night if ou are not careful. Grat place to base yourself for walks in the tongarirro national park.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KateandMurray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2010

we had a great time with our young family right on the water front in a lovely lovely unit. it was winter but the unit was warm and comfortable. the lovely owner even made us Scones and they were yum!!i will be staying there again!! thank u for having us

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank GoodOldTimes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2015
Google Translation

Room Tip: De kamers aan de oever zijn het mooist, maar ook het duurst. De goedkoopste kamer ligt aan de straat...
  • Stayed: November 2015, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Maarten D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taupo hotels
6.0 mi away
Hilton Lake Taupo
Hilton Lake Taupo
#7 of 69 in Taupo
2,111 reviews
5.7 mi away
The Reef Resort - Heritage Collection
6.2 mi away
Sails On The Lake
Sails On The Lake
#5 of 69 in Taupo
332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
Gables Lakefront Motel
5.3 mi away
The Cottage Mews Motel Taupo
6.0 mi away
Taupo DeBretts Spa Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waitahanui Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waitahanui Lodge

Address: 116 State Highway 1 | Waitahanui, Taupo 3378, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Taupo District > Taupo
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 34 Specialty Lodging in Taupo
Price Range: $72 - $109 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Waitahanui Lodge is all about the kiwi bach experience. The original lodge was built in 1932 as a fishing lodge that by today's standards would have been fairly basic. In the 1950's a new lodge was built right by the lake's edge and close to the world renowned Waitahanui River. With renovations and upgrading the Lodge has up to date facilities and caters for today's travellers, yet the "kiwiana soul" of the Lodge remains. The lodge consists of 5 well equipped, self catering cottages, accommodating up to 5 guests. All linen is supplied. Absolute lakefront location can be enjoyed from two of our cottages while the others are just a few steps away. Our wonderful lakeside terrace provides the perfect spot for a barbecue or simply to enjoy a great sunset. Our on site tackle shop has waders and rods for hire plus all the fishing tackle needed to fish our local rivers for trout. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing