We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely delightful!”
Review of Chelmswood Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Chelmswood Motel
Ranked #36 of 68 Hotels in Taupo
Reviewed April 29, 2013

Stayed one night with family of 3 teenage kids for $215. It can be hard to find a room for 5 people these days so we were happy to find the Chelmswood offers two story rooms - master bedroom in the back plus one bed in the lounge area and two singles upstairs. Also had a thermal pool to ourselves but with the wonderfully hot/heated pool outside, there was really no need! It's like one bit hot spa pool and really really nice!

Hotel is a 3 minute drive from centre of town.

Hosts really helpful and friendly. Room clean. Beds comfy, room quiet, enough space for 5. Lots of free WIFi for computer/iPad/iPod obsessed kids. Water bottles handed out on departure!

Will def stay again when/if in Taupo!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HollowVictory
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmswood M, Owner at Chelmswood Motel, responded to this reviewResponded April 30, 2013

Thanks for the feedback guys it is really appreciated.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (266)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

201 - 207 of 266 reviews

Reviewed April 8, 2013

The family suite suited our family of five wonderfully. Queen size bed in the bedroom with a lovely mineral pool just outside in a natural setting. Single bed downstairs in the lounge area and two single beds upstairs on the mezzanine floor. The stairs are very narrow though, but that was ok considering it was only the kids using them. The kitchen is nice and compact. It has a seperate shower and toilet both reasonably sized. The hot mineral pool takes about an hour to fill and once it's full, soaking in it is absolutely divine!!!! The motel itself is lovely as are the hosts. Getting a nice little basket of cookies on arrival was a nice touch as was the bottled water we were each given on our departure. Would definitely stay here again the next time my family and I decide to take another weekend getaway in Taupo!!!!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Salzinvegas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmswood M, Owner at Chelmswood Motel, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2013

Thanks for taking the time to post you feedback we really appreciate it

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

We had a lovely stay at the chelmswood motel. The owners were very friendly and helpful. We had a lake view room with a mineral pool in the bathroom. It was wonderful. the motel was booked out but was quiet and private. Great price and location. Would recommend.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Berky59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmswood M, Owner at Chelmswood Motel, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2013

thanks guys appreciate your comments

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2013

Chelmswood Motel promotes itself as being the "Friendliest Motel in Taupo", well, maybe so, but it's certainly not the cleanest! Rooms are looking far from sparkling, limp, greying sheets, and wiping up a spill in the kitchen revealed hard floors that haven't seen a mop in, at a guess, MONTHS (and I think that's being generous)! Toilet had a grotty ring around the water line where it hadn't had a good scrub in a while either. We took a family room with single beds on a mezzanine platform, another single bed stuck under the stairs in the (small) lounge/dining area and a double bed in a separate bedroom at the back. The problem with these rooms is that, for those not staying in the separate bedroom, there is nowhere to put anything. Luckily we only had four people staying, so could put cases & clothes on the spare beds. If all beds were taken, you would be climbing over your stuff the whole time. if you stay here, make sure you close the high window in the back bedroom before dusk. It has no fly screen on it and when bedtime came, we found the bed COVERED in flying bugs! On the plus side, the rate is reasonable by Taupo standards, but you get what you pay for!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank holfiend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmswood M, Owner at Chelmswood Motel, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2013

Thankyou for the feed back, we wish you had bought your concerns to us during your visit as they could have been addressed. Alsco our laundry service, supply linen daily and they are very diligent on quality control as we triple sheet all of our units which provides the guest with immediate visual confirmation on entering a room that room is up to scratch. The floors in all units are cleaned daily and waxed monthly. We take the cleaning functions extremely serious as our other reviewers indicate and thus your comments will be discussed with all staff concerned.
Lake Fly or Trout fly only swarm and live for a few hours and althought totally harmless will be attracted to lights. This occurrs only a few times a year during perfect conditions and yes they enter any open windows.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2013

Awesome hospitality and communication - could not have organised this without the assist of Brian & Janice, the nicest and most accomodating hosts that we have come across - and we have travelled a lot over the last four years! Spacious rooms, hot pools in the room, the layout, the gardens, safety, parking, laundry facilities, swimming pool, the breakfast room, packed lunches and organisation on our behalf or evening meals at a nearby venue. Can't thank Chelmswood enough and despite wanting to keep the find a secret they truly deserve the recognition!!

Room Tip: Discuss your needs with the owners - I'm pretty sure they could accommodate anything that you as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lennie524
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmswood M, Owner at Chelmswood Motel, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2013

Thanks Guys bigger groups can often be a challenge but your girls were amazingly well organised and a pleasure to host. I see you are joining us again this year, thank you for the booking.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2013 via mobile

We only stayed here one night as were making our way north to Auckland but were very happy as we picked it using the lonely planet.
The owners are very friendly and willing to share knowledge of where to eat in town.
The rooms are big and well furnished, we had our 18 month old daughter with us and were easily able to set up her travel cot.
Units are clean and good value. Easy to recommend.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Withnail_19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmswood M, Owner at Chelmswood Motel, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2013

Thanks for taking the time to give us you great feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2013

The owners and staff have gone out of their way to make our recent stay memorable. Every nicety has been taken, and then they added one more detail to everything; the best TV lineup of any motel during our 3 weeks, friendly staff, swap library, business center, etc. I found that the owner even offered to drive my wife to the botanical garden.

The owners, ah, what can I say about them. They were very friendly, and my wife said that it was like staying with friends ... without having to wake up to them. I was so happy that I elected to have this stay at the end of our stay, instead of at the beginning. It was like a wonderful dessert at the end of a great meal.

Room Tip: In NZ, a US-style motel room is called a "bedroom", but a studio has a kitchen,
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SteveHill0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmswood M, Owner at Chelmswood Motel, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2013

Thanks for the kind words, we hope you can join us again on a future trip.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taupo hotels
1.1 mi away
Wellesley on the Lake Taupo
0.3 mi away
Accent on Taupo Motor Lodge
1.4 mi away
Alpine Lake Motor Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Beechtree Motel
Beechtree Motel
#6 of 68 in Taupo
645 reviews
1.4 mi away
Ascot Motor Inn
Ascot Motor Inn
#25 of 68 in Taupo
175 reviews
1.3 mi away
Twin Peaks Lakeside Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chelmswood Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chelmswood Motel

Address: 250 Lake Terrace, State Hwy 1 | Waipahihi, Taupo 3330, New Zealand (Formerly Chelmswood Manor)
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Taupo District > Taupo
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#19 Family Hotel in Taupo
#21 Romantic Hotel in Taupo
Price Range: $82 - $175 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Chelmswood Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Asure Chelmswood Motel Taupo Overlooking Lake Taupo New Zealand. Chelmswood Motel Taupo is a Tudor style complex consisting of 36 units (24) with their very own natural thermal mineral pools. Located at the southern entrance to Taupo with beautiful views of Lake Taupo. One of only 10 properties with SKY Guest Select (60 Plus TV Channels). Easy to find, conveniently located on Lake Terrace (old SH 1) which passes through Taupo on the way to either Auckland or Wellington. Just a few minutes from town, with off street parking for cars, boats, trailers, trucks and more. The complex sits on a very peaceful two acres of grass land with stunning views of Lake Taupo. Asure Chelmswood Motel Taupo is the perfect choice for the whole family, the couple wanting a romantic peaceful break, the over-nighter looking for a great nights sleep to break their journey, or the club who want all the facilities on one site. (Function room and large kitchen). Secure off road parking for your trail bike trailers, race rigs, boats etc. While staying have a fun filled break and use the heated outdoor swimming pool, redwood sauna, grassed BBQ area or one of our bikes to ride around the lakes cycle-ways, or just sit along the front of the complex and soak up the magnificent views of Lake Taupo. Keep in touch by utilising our high speed internet access including free wireless, and catch up on the washing in our Free Guest laundry. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your Chelmswood Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chelmswood Manor Hotel Taupo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing