We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“quite possibly the best hostel yet!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Berkenhoff Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Berkenhoff Lodge
Ranked #15 of 33 Specialty Lodging in Taupo
taupo, New Zealand
1 review
“quite possibly the best hostel yet!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2010

An absolutly brilliant choice of hostel for what you pay you get an ensuite room, an on site bar spa pool swimming pool option of bbq menu huge kitchen area big lounge massive dinnig room great service not much more you could ask for really theres also benson the cat and lolly and tickle the parrots add too this hostel's warm and friendly atmosphere i wouldnt even mind living there!!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wollytwist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    25
    7
    5
    5
See reviews for
9
26
18
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2010

I stayed for one night and was very happy with the place. I ended up reaching there late at night and they called me in advance to let me know the code to get in to the lodge and where my key would be since they place doesn't have 24 hour room service. Although I think they should mention that on their website and reservation confirmation since I just assumed I could check late night!

Besides the room heater being a little weak, I had no other comments. I was in a 3-bed room with toilet attached for one night and slept like a log. The room and bed were clean and the place is really well done up.

Definitely a winner for anyone looking for a cheap option the night before hitting up the slopes at Mt. Ruapehu.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank moosafir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2010

Berkenhoff Lodge is at 10 minute walk from the centre of Taupo. It’s comfortable, safe and the rooms are clean. The owners are friendly and helpful and you can easily book for many activities. Also on arrival they can pick you up from the centre of town. There's a really cute cat that lives there too, and a bird, giving Berkenhoff Lodge a home like feel. Berkenhoff Lodge is an ideal place to stay at if you have a car, It’s the best hostel I've stayed in during my backpacking trip around NZ. I was so impressed that I went back to Berkenhoff Lodge a second time when I didn't have a car, and enjoyed the walk to the centre of town in the mornings, although after dark its maybe better to get a taxi as there are few street lights! The taxis are cheap though. I like Berkenhoff Lodge too as it has character, and there's also a nice big kitchen too!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Higgy22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Channel Islands
Level Contributor
18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2010

Safe option in Taupo. The hostel has everything you should expect including a very good kitchen. Cheap laundry, free parking and free DVD's etc all add to the package.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JerVan11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rotorua
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2009

i enjoyed staying at this hostle while i was in taupo on business, friendly staff awsum massive kitchen and relaxing spa, and a nice calm cruzy atmosphere in the hostle,

good work guys :)

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank big-muma-on-busines
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Level Contributor
84 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2009

We used Taupo as our base in the North Island as we found real difficulty finding a place in Hamilton. We couldn't have been happier with deciding to stay in this charming little town.

We were greeted at the door by a very friendly and helpful woman. We checked into our double rooms with ensuites and relaxed after a long day of driving. The rooms are in decent shape (not top in the class) but acceptable. The bathrooms were fine as well, the shower pressure was very low (but apparently they have fixed this now).

The kitchen was huge and well stocked. The only downside is that you aren't allowed your own alcohol in the kitchen or fridge as there is a bar at the far end of the hostel. We were fine with drinking at the bar, but it would have been nice to chill our beer prior to heading out for the evening.

Only other complaint was that the hallways kinds of smelt, but it was fine once getting into the rooms.

One of the best tips the woman gave us at the front desk was the hotsprings located just a 10 minute walk from the hotel. You could walk there and just lie in the river and relax. We went 3 times in our 3 days in town. Usually around midnight... there were always some locals but no tourists. Bring a few beers and hang out in the river! (safe, maybe not, but very fun).

Taupo is great and chock full of things to see and spend your money on. There's parking right outside as we had rented a car, it was perfect. The location otherwise is probably a 15 minute walk into town.

No Wifi, only fairly expensive internet stations

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank losttravelling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taupo hotels
0.5 mi away
Chantilly's Lake Taupo
Chantilly's Lake Taupo
#18 of 69 in Taupo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 160 reviews
0.6 mi away
Finlay Jack's Backpackers
0.4 mi away
Haka Lodge Taupo
Haka Lodge Taupo
#2 of 33 in Taupo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Tiki Lodge
Tiki Lodge
#11 of 33 in Taupo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 180 reviews
0.5 mi away
Rainbow Lodge
Rainbow Lodge
#8 of 33 in Taupo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 244 reviews
0.2 mi away
Camellia Court Motel
Camellia Court Motel
#57 of 69 in Taupo
3.0 of 5 bubbles 138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Berkenhoff Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Berkenhoff Lodge

Property: Berkenhoff Lodge
Address: 75 Scannell Street, Taupo 3330, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Taupo District > Taupo
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 33 Specialty Lodging in Taupo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, HostelWorld, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Berkenhoff Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing