We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We LOVED it here.....”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Beechtree Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Beechtree Motel
Ranked #6 of 69 Hotels in Taupo
Certificate of Excellence
Ironbridge Gorge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
257 reviews
121 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 215 helpful votes
“We LOVED it here.....”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2013

Fabulous place to stay!!! there were 3 of us and we had a 2 bedroomed Suite with a balcony overlooking the lake!! We had a great welcome and had a fabulous stay here. There is a Supermarket and Butcher and Greengrocer opposite the Hotel where we purchased food for Dinner.
The hotel has a great BBQ and all well kept.
The facilities here in the Suite we thought were excellent and good quality.
We all loved the area here and would have no hesitation whatsoever in recommending here as a perfect place to stay!!!
Very well managed and thank you.....

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bluemel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeechtreeTaupo, Manager at Beechtree Motel, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Thank you for your great review. It is always nice to know all of our efforts and our staff's amazing hard work at keeping the complex up to a high standard is appreciated. It was great to hear that you were able to take advantage of our lovely weather and enjoy the BBQ area and as you say with the butcher and supermarket across the road you can get everything you need to cook up a feast. We hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back at some future date.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

627 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    397
    185
    39
    3
    3
See reviews for
127
350
18
53
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nova Scotia, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2013

I have read quite a few "average" reviews on this place lately, and recent. We are puzzled as to the negativity, so I will give you an honest review from our stay.
We stayed for three nights mid-February. This was just one of many on our whirlwind honeymoon through New Zealand. And it was among the best.
We were granted an early check in, The room was on the 2nd level and very spacious for our standards. We had the standard king with spa bath. We got internet papers with 200mb internet. BUT she gave us a handful of them so we could both use our devices, and so we never ran out of data. Halfway through the stay we needed more, and she gave us another stack. So this issue with people complaining about internet is false.
The spa bath was lovely, and we always had plenty of toiletries.
The room was very clean, crisp unstained sheets, and the bed was roomy with a comfortable mattress.
The mini kitchen was sufficient with lots of utensils and bowls etc. The only thing I would suggest is to get an egg boiler for the microwave so you dont end up with constant egg product inside the micro as there is no stove.
Other complaints regarded the charge of food in the room- these are all very clearly marked-in bold-so there is no mistaking whether or not they are free. Including the water on the table that was marked right on the bottle.
They used Tuatara coffee, a very nice brand from NZ.
They are a VERY SHORT 5-6 minute stroll to the water. And a VERY SHORT 8-10 minute stroll to the "core downtown" area. If you can walk, you will be there in no time.
They offered a breakfast, but we made our own meals so cannot comment on this aspect.
Really, there are no cons. We had a lovely stay, and the manager of the building (not the owner) was very helpful for all of our endeavors during our stay.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ashley_ducky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeechtreeTaupo, Manager at Beechtree Motel, responded to this review, March 31, 2013
It was a real pleasure to read your delightful review of Beechtree Suites and as you stayed with us for 3 nights you are certainly able to give your honest view. It was a pleasure to have you stay with us while you were enjoying your honeymoon. I was pleased to read you enjoyed the Tuatara Plunger Coffee, it is certainly much more popular that the normal bulk type coffee. We hope you will return to Taupo again in the future and come and stay again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2013

The apartment was clean; tidy and modern.

Ours was an average sized upstairs room with a small balcony looking out over roof tops to the lake and mountains.We had nice views, but standing on the balcony - to take them in - felt a bit funny because you were quite close to your neighbours and there were no screens to provide privacy.(of course screens may well have resulted in a lower level of light in the room).

The kitchen area was practical.Nice bath and shower area.

The natural light in the room was average and overall the room felt "ok" but not "this is really nice and welcoming".

The Manager was friendly.

I'm not sure why,in 4 star rooms, the sound proofing isn't good....from one neighbour we could hear the TV and from the other someone snoring. I know it's a bit of a bugbear for me, but I would have thought that sound proofing would have been better in such high star rated rooms.

The apartment was a short drive to the centre of town (not a problem) and because of this was away from the main road noise.

Presentation of the grounds and communal areas was very nice.
Good off road parking.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nigel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeechtreeTaupo, Manager at Beechtree Motel, responded to this review, March 31, 2013
Thank you for posting feedback following your recent stay with us at Beechtree Suites. I appreciate you taking the time to share your positive comments on TripAdvisor.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2013

Presentation was a major plus when my partner and I arrived at BeechTree Suites Instantly feeling a sense of cleanliness, safety and comfort throughout the property. A bonus after travelling all the way from the U.K. The manager, Jacqui and her husband where bubbly and welcoming.

Talk about under promising and over delivering when it came to facilities in our room and throughout the premises, I lovely surprise to see a 42" flat screen TV on the wall with all the sky channels! Alongside an amazing Jacuzzi bath to watch TV in! Unit appearance was immaculate, I could not fault it at all. The best I have seen to this day.

Love the design and convenience of being very close to town centre, in fact, only a 10 minute walk. Or just 5 minute walk to the beautiful lakefront.

All around an amazing stay would recommend it to anyone that visits Taupo, New Zealand.

Room Tip: If you want a great room its simple... Just ask for a room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joel R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeechtreeTaupo, Manager at Beechtree Motel, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
What a lovely review to read - thank you so much for sharing your experience with us and other Trip Advisor readers. - we too appreciate our lovely property and surroundings. Delighted you enjoyed the Spa Bath and the BIG TV, these features are great and a point of difference from other properties. Again thank you for your review and I will share your comments on our cleanliness and presentation with the rest of our team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melbourne
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2013

Stayed at Beechtree Suites over the Christmas period and had an absolutley fabulous time, check in was very friendly and we were given advice on good places to eat and Jacqui even made us a reservation! Her recommendation for the restaurant was great too! Our room was beautifully presented and opened out on to a lovely quiet courtyard with outdoor furniture. The managers, Jacqui and Barry were lovely and very helpful during our stay.
We would highly recommend anyone to stay here as the rooms are beautiful, it is only a short walk to the CBD, is lovely and quiet, beautifully maintained grounds and all round a fantastic place to stay and the bath in our room was the BEST! Am now wanting to put one in the bathroom at home!
Can't wait to stay again!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joey2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeechtreeTaupo, Manager at Beechtree Motel, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
It was wonderful to have you return to Beechtree Suites for your Christmas vacation, and we really appreciate you taking the time to place a review for us on Trip Advisor. We are delighted that you enjoyed the lovely restaurants that Taupo has to offer and that you enjoyed your time at our property. It is always pleasing to hear that things such as the grounds maintenance is appreciated and we will share your comments with the rest of our team. Also please to hear you enjoyed the spa bath! We hope you are able to visit again next Christmas !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
93 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2013

The check-in was efficient and rather mechanical. I would have preferred to be welcomed there. At checkout I was ready for a complaint when the expected question arose "I hope you enjoyed your stay" or however, it would be phrased, but we were not asked. The room was fine. A few things in the room were damaged, they could use help from a handy-man. The kitchen was good and the outside patio was excellent.

They advertise free internet, well, it is a weak signal and painfully slow that dropped connections frequently. We stayed only two nights and on the morning we were due to leave my internet access quit on me because I'd reached the limit of megabytes to download. I had not been watching movies, talking on Skype, or downloading large files, there was nothing that required a large bandwidth. I did upload one 93kB photo to face book. I thought that the internet access was sufficiently poor that it verged on false advertising.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HowardFreeland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeechtreeTaupo, Manager at Beechtree Motel, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
We very much appreciate you taking the time to share on TripAdvisor and are sorry to read that we fell short of your expectations on this visit. Please be assured that your feedback is very much appreciated. Regarding the internet, this has been an ongoing issue not just at our property but with internet in general, however, I am delighted to advise that Beechtree Suites is now the first accommodation provider in Taupo to switch to the new Ultra Fast Fibre network that has just been installed in Taupo and we go live on this network on the 19th March. Sorry it wasn't available for your visit but we are constantly looking for ways to improve our service.
I would be grateful if you would contact me directly regarding the things you mentioned as damaged as I am not aware of any damage in the room you occupied.
Again I would like to thank you for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise, Idaho
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

We spent two nights at this beautiful, modern property. The welcome at reception was efficient yet warm, our room was spotlessly clean, the spa tub was very inviting, and we were far enough from the main road for our surroundings to be quiet, but within walking distance of Great Lake Taupo. We would most definitely recommend Beechtree Suites to travelers and would stay there again if we are fortunate enough to travel to Taupo again!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BetHoffman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeechtreeTaupo, Manager at Beechtree Motel, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Thank you very much for your review. We were delighted to read that you enjoyed your time with us and the facilities that our studios offer - as you say away from the noise of the main road and the town but still a very easy walk down to the Lake or into the town center. We would be delighted to welcome you back next time you visit Taupo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taupo hotels
0.5 mi away
Gables Lakefront Motel
1.1 mi away
The Reef Resort - Heritage Collection
0.5 mi away
Sails On The Lake
Sails On The Lake
#4 of 69 in Taupo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Hilton Lake Taupo
Hilton Lake Taupo
#7 of 69 in Taupo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,959 reviews
0.6 mi away
Baycrest Lodge
Baycrest Lodge
#9 of 69 in Taupo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 292 reviews
1.3 mi away
Millennium Hotel and Resort Manuels Taupo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beechtree Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beechtree Motel

Property: Beechtree Motel
Address: 56 Rifle Range Road, Taupo 3330, New Zealand (Formerly Beechtree Suites - Heritage Boutique Collection)
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Taupo District > Taupo
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Taupo
#3 Luxury Hotel in Taupo
#4 Best Value Hotel in Taupo
#8 Family Hotel in Taupo
#9 Romantic Hotel in Taupo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Beechtree Motel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Beechtree Motel located in Taupo in the centre of New Zealands North Island, offering the best in luxury motel style accommodation. Beechtree Motel offers free unlimited Wi-Fi throughout the property, free parking, free gym access, free BBQ Facilities and affordable accommodation just 400 metres from Lake Taupo and within walking distance of restaurants and shops. Ground floor and first floor modern, spacious rooms, with spa baths available and every room has a well-equipped kitchenette. Guests can choose from 50+ Sky T.V. Channels and in most rooms view on a 40" LCD Flat Screen T.V. A sumptuous breakfast menu is available and breakfast is delivered to your room. Combine this fantastic property with the personal service offered at this property and you will be ensured of a welcoming and memorable stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Beechtree Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beechtree Hotel Taupo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing