We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay in Taupo”
Review of Beechtree Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Beechtree Motel
Ranked #6 of 68 Hotels in Taupo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 15, 2012

Stayed at Beechtree for three nights in early August.
Owner greeted us pleasantly. Our suite had two good-sized bedrooms and was on the 2nd floor. We had a lovely balcony and a view. Great open living/kitchen area. Free wifi. Bathroom was well-stocked with an incredibly large spa tub and a separate shower. The whole place was spotless.
Great location close to restaurants and stores.
Very pleasant stay - we will stay again!
Marian, Courtney and Chuck

Room Tip: Loved our upstairs corner room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marian K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (646)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

466 - 472 of 646 reviews

Reviewed August 6, 2012

Booked what we thought was a basic motel for one night's accommodation for the Taupo Half-marathon. Very friendly and efficient check in and service. Directed upstairs and opened the door to a spacious and very clean suite. King-size comfortable and clean bed with an electric blanket for colder nights, which we didn't need to use as the room temperature was comfortable during our August stay. Large clean bathroom with deep spa bath in addition to nice shower. Sliding screen doors can be opened to allow you to watch the big flat screen tv (with its 50+ channels!) from the spa bath - this was such a treat, particularly as we stayed during the Olympics and Chiefs rugby game! Good breakfast options available although we didn't try them as we had brought our own specific foods ahead of our half-marathon run. A fully equipped kitchenette with fridge, microwave, toaster, coffee plunger with real coffee sachets, in addition to the standard tea/coffee and kettle, meant we had everything we needed for an awesome night away. We wished we were staying longer! Parking is not allocated but there was plenty available when we were there. Only a short walk to the lake and a walkable distance for most to shops, events centre, etc. Definitely planning a return visit.

Room Tip: Quite a big property and probably good to request or specify room with a good view if that is what y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cat_Tauranga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2012

My Wife and I Recently stayed at the Beechtree over the weekend, it was organized for us to stay here by family as the normal hotel we stay at was fully booked, I can only say good things about this place, and will be the only taupo spot for us to stay at for now on, the room we had was just amazing, with its own outside sitting area, had a spa bath and awesome bathroom , the Large Flat screen tv was a nice touch, as we had allways been use to small little ones at other hotels, it even had a Ipod dock, which was great to listen to our music, heatpump also kept us warm on the cold night that it was, I even noticed they had a large Trampoline area for kids and large BBQ area which could be used, ideal for in the summer months, all i can say is that if you want a great room, with all the mod cons of modern living, this is the place to go, we will be back here again in a few months time!!!!!

Room Tip: we stayed on the ground level, the rooms were very quite and couldn't hear what was going on out...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brock O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2012

We recently spent 12 days in the North Island of New Zealand. Out of those 12 we spent 3 nights in a 3 bedroom unit here at the Beechtree Motel. It was modern, clean, well equiped, comfortable and the staff AMAZING. The ladies at reception were very helpful and the hotel is close to everything. It was the best accommodation we had during our holiday.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TownsvilleTraveller5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2012

Stayed for 2 nights recently. Jacqui was awesome. The room I had was exquisite with a lovely spa bath, King sized bed...very clean, very tidy, totally unexpected from the pictures. There was ample parking and I had a unit that was private and quiet. Of course it helped too that there was free WI-FI and 50 something channels on the flat-screened tv. Highly recommend and will stay again.
An added bonus was the superette across the road and a cafe. Nice location!

Room Tip: Comfort and space, the Executive Suites are worth the price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Parnz2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2012

Stayed two nights last weekend and most impressed with friendly welcome at reception. We had a lake view room that we could not fault. Large tv, good kitchenette and nice bathroom with deep spa. Comfortable bed and very clean suite. A fair way from lake with limited views but would definitely stay again.

Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Maccas9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2012

My expectations of this Motel were that it would be basic, but I can honestly say that that we were really impressed with everything about this Motel.
It was in a good location, very clean and tidy and the staff were very helpful.
Would defiantly return if in the area.

Room Tip: A high room facing the lake will give fantastic views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StubStAlbans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taupo hotels
1.1 mi away
The Reef Resort - Heritage Collection
1.4 mi away
Hilton Lake Taupo
Hilton Lake Taupo
#8 of 68 in Taupo
2,158 reviews
0.5 mi away
Gables Lakefront Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Sails On The Lake
Sails On The Lake
#4 of 68 in Taupo
363 reviews
1.3 mi away
Millennium Hotel and Resort Manuels Taupo
0.4 mi away
Le Chalet Suisse Motel
Le Chalet Suisse Motel
#10 of 68 in Taupo
371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beechtree Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beechtree Motel

Address: 56 Rifle Range Road, Taupo 3330, New Zealand (Formerly Beechtree Suites - Heritage Boutique Collection)
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Taupo District > Taupo
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Taupo
#3 Luxury Hotel in Taupo
#5 Best Value Hotel in Taupo
#8 Family Hotel in Taupo
#9 Romantic Hotel in Taupo
Price Range: $97 - $159 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Beechtree Motel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Beechtree Motel located in Taupo in the centre of New Zealands North Island, offering the best in luxury motel style accommodation. Beechtree Motel offers free unlimited Wi-Fi throughout the property, free parking, free gym access, free BBQ Facilities and affordable accommodation just 400 metres from Lake Taupo and within walking distance of restaurants and shops. Ground floor and first floor modern, spacious rooms, with spa baths available and every room has a well-equipped kitchenette. Guests can choose from 50+ Sky T.V. Channels and in most rooms view on a 40" LCD Flat Screen T.V. A sumptuous breakfast menu is available and breakfast is delivered to your room. Combine this fantastic property with the personal service offered at this property and you will be ensured of a welcoming and memorable stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Priceline, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Beechtree Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beechtree Hotel Taupo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing