We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Acacia Cliffs Lodge
Nearby Hotels
Boulevard Waters Motor Lodge(Taupo)(Great Value!)
$117
$114
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$133
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Wairakei Resort Taupo(Taupo)(Great Value!)
$96
$86
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Hilton Lake Taupo(Taupo)(Great Value!)
$120
$98
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Executive Motel(Taupo)(Great Value!)
$101
$87
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Gables Lakefront Motel(Taupo)(Great Value!)
$123
$113
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Acapulco Motor Inn(Taupo)(Great Value!)
$71
$69
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$105
$100
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Le Chalet Suisse Motel(Taupo)(Great Value!)
$85
$79
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Prince Motor Lodge(Taupo)(Great Value!)
$88
$85
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (226)
Filter reviews
226 results
Traveler rating
214
8
3
1
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
214
8
3
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsstunning viewsnew zealandlake taupoother guestsperched highsuperb chefgreat hostshelped us planhelpful with suggestionsgreat companyalpine crossingeach eveningoverlooking lakememorable stayour honeymoonglass of winea wonderful place to stay
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
115 - 120 of 226 reviews
Reviewed February 9, 2013

This is indeed a very special place in a spectacular location!

There are just four rooms. Ours was well appointed (but quite small); bathroom was good (but shower only, no bath) and the views are stunning. Linda and Rick are attentive and personable. They have one staff.

You take dinner (good cuisine, well presented but obviously there are no menu options) with those other guests who have decided to eat - so you find yourself bounced into an impromptu dinner party at a set time (we would have preferred to eat an hour earlier) but the other guests happened to be good company so the evening was enjoyable enough. (The response to an earlier review suggests there was a 'dine alone' option, but if there was, it wasn't at all obvious)

Make no mistake, we really enjoyed this experience. However, dinner, bed and breakfast for two worked out at about GBP 540 for one night - as much as one might pay for a small room in a luxury five star hotel. Was it worth it? Hard to tell until I have seen more New Zealand lodges ..... But it seemed very expensive to us.

Room Tip: Pay the extra for a lake view room. It is worth it!
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Preposterous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AcaciaCliffsLodge, Owner at Acacia Cliffs Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2013

Dear Preposterous

We agree! It is indeed " a very special place in a spectacular location!" so we are glad you "really enjoyed your experience".

As our website describes, we are a boutique lodge of four guest rooms, three lake view and one garden view the latter having the bath as well as shower. Dining is optional by pre- arrangement and is a table d'hôte menu adjusted to suit guests dietary requirements or preferences.

We are not a restaurant, so we generally gather for pre-dinner drinks and canapes on the deck or in front of the fire followed by a four course evening meal which is either shared dining with other guests or set up as a private dining option if required.

Your comment has prompted us to make sure this information is more obvious in future so thank you..we are always looking for ways to improve!

In regards to "was it worth it?" We certainly hope so!

We hope you enjoyed the rest of your New Zealand holiday.

Kind Regards
Linda Whitlock
Owner/Host
Acacia Cliffs Lodge Taupo NZ

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2013

We cannot rate Rick and Linda more highly ...a perfect balance of politeness , friendliness and humour . There were four of us and we all found the rooms , the views and the cuisine to be outstanding . It is a stunning place to be and Acacia Cliffs is the best place to enjoy the Taupo experience . Many thanks from the Hangers and Hoares !!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jonathan h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AcaciaCliffsLodge, Owner at Acacia Cliffs Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2013

Dear JonathonH

You were all great company and it was a pleasure to be able to welcome you all to Acacia Cliffs Lodge...........it's always fun for us when guests arrive who are friends travelling together!

Delighted you enjoyed all aspects of the lodge......thank you for the positive feedback and for taking the time to post a review.

Hope to welcome you back this way again.

Kind Regards
Linda Whitlock
Owner/Host
Acacia Cliffs Lodge Taupo NZ

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2013

It was the first time that my wife, Narelle, and I had booked a vacation over the Christmas period - we were not to be disappointed!
The Acacia Cliffs Lodge is a delightful place to unwind, enjoy the wonderful hospitality of Linda and Rick, the views from your private deck over Lake Taupo and Rick's superb cooking!
Christmas Day started with a couple of glasses of sparkling wine over breakfast and, after a day of exploring, the day ended with an outstanding festive feast created by Rick featuring local produce and lamb!
It was also most enjoyable to meet new guests from around the world during our five-day stay over a glass of wine and nibbles produced by Rick daily.
We can't recommend this Lodge and Linda and Rick more fully - we look forward to returning in due course to soak up the tranquil environment and enjoy Rick's cooking!
Sincere thanks to Linda and Rick for making Christmas a time to remember and relax.

Room Tip: All rooms are beautifully designed. Our room - Kaimanawa Suite - had outstanding views of Lake Taupo from every window and, of course, the deck for that all important testing of New Zealand wines and produce!
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GromitAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AcaciaCliffsLodge, Owner at Acacia Cliffs Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2013

Hi Narelle & David
Rick and I really enjoyed sharing your first "holiday and away from home Christmas" with you and our other guests at Acacia Cliffs Lodge..........a good reason to start the day with some bubbles!
Glad too you enjoyed the same aspects of the lodge that we both do......good food, wine and conversation in a stunning location.
Great to hear you may be back this way again..........we'll have the wine chilled!
Happy New Year and all the best for 2013!
Linda & Rick Whitlock
Acacia Cliffs Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2013

Linda and Rick's Acacia Cliffs Lodge is all you can hope for in a purpose-built luxury B&B. The emphasis on privacy, sleek design and an excellent cuisine prepared by chef Rick made this a fantastic location for my wife and I to celebrate the beginning of 2013. We shared wonderful conversations with Rick and Linda, and were amazed at the incredible views over Lake Taupo. If you want to be in the center of Lake Taupo's activities or amenities like gyms or pools are important to you, this might not be your first choice. If you want to feel the luxury of a five star hotel but with a great NZ personal touch, go for Acacia Cliffs. Thanks Linda and Rick!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alex_Atzberger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AcaciaCliffsLodge, Owner at Acacia Cliffs Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2013

Hi Alex
Both Rick and I were delighted to welcome in 2013 with you on New Year's Eve. Glad it was one you will remember!
The combination of relaxed luxury and a personal touch was exactly what we were aiming for when we built the lodge and, as we both know this region well, it is an ongoing pleasure to be able to share it with our guests.
Thank you so much for taking the time to write your review and we are really pleased you enjoyed your stay............hope to welcome you back some time!
Kind regards from Lake Taupo
Linda Whitlock
Acacia Cliffs Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2012

The whole styling of Acacia cliff lodge is excellent. This can really be called luxury lodge and you will never be disappointed. Rick and Linda really have a great touch, and despite you live so tight you still can feel private if you like. We expected a great place , but it was even better :-)

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank connyglindholm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AcaciaCliffsLodge, Owner at Acacia Cliffs Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2013

Thank you for your review Conny.
We worked closely with the architect to design a lodge that was boutique in style but which also ensured privacy for our guests. We are delighted it exceeded your expectations!
Kind regards from Lake Taupo.
Linda & Rick Whitlock
Acacia Cliffs Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews