We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Over night in Taupo”
Review of Ashbrook Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ashbrook Motel
Ranked #31 of 69 Hotels in Taupo
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Over night in Taupo”
Reviewed June 25, 2013

We spent a Friday night in Taupo at the Ashbrook Motel. While just outside the central town area, is was quiet, very clean and well appointed, including wifi. The host was very accommodating and easy to get along with. Good value, and would stay again.

We also had a great breakfast at Vines Eatery in Taupo, again well worth trying.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frank S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    20
    5
    1
    3
See reviews for
27
17
Solo
0
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
Reviewed June 23, 2013

A group of nine of us ascended on the Ashbrook Motel on Friday 21st June to be warmly welcomed by our host. We had three rooms amongst us, all together which was great. The rooms were exceptionally clean and tidy and the location for our evening was great. Thanks for for making us so welcome - and also thanks for the Saturday Herald to do the puzzles!! We would recommend this motel to anyone wanting a stay in Taupo.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Liane M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McLaren Vale, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2013

It's fair to say that I have been judgemental in the past on Taupo accommodation, however Ashbrook Motel leads by example.

We arrived late on a Saturday night and were warmly welcomed by the host/owner after a long day on the road. Check-in was seamless and we were guided to our room by the host and shown all of the necessary features of the room to make our stay enjoyable.

The room was well appointed and very comfortable with a plentiful amount of amenities to accommodate our family. The room was highly maintained and very clean and we were able to park directly infront of the room, making it convenient to unpack the vehicle.

My daughter left a stuffed toy in the room upon departure and the host called us to advise that it had been found. We were delighted that they made an effort to call us to collect the lost property.

We travel to Taupo on a regular basis and I would highly recommend staying at Ashbrook Motel. We also had a fabulous breakfast at Fine Fettle Cafe in Taupo, well worth a visit if you are heading through Taupo.

Room Tip: Book directly via their website -
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cellardoorwine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunshine Coast, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
250 reviews
99 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2013

Our group of four friends booked a two bedroom unit for a couple of nights a few blocks back from the lake. The unit was clean and looked like it had not long been refurbished so no problems there. Location was OK as we could walk to the main shopping area. We made use of the barbecue area which was just outside our back door. The only negative was the second twin bedroom was extremely small and really only suited one single bed not two as there was nowhere to hang clothes. Initially we thought we received better value for money elsewhere on our trip, however, we forgot to take into account that Taupo is a very popular tourist area so we adjusted our thinking to take this into account and agreed the tariff was fair. We would stay here again but we would take 2 single rooms not the 2 bedroom.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Mackasx2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed April 8, 2013

This is the second time I have stayed at this motel. The owners are very welcoming -organising us a late check in and late check out to suit our needs. The room itself was modern, comfortable and very clean with everything you need. It may not be a lakefront location but compared to other motels I've stayed at in Taupo it is very pleasant stay. It is especially great if you are just passing through. Would stay again.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AJ_Lim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2013

Very welcoming and helpful reception. We had the disabled unit (not requested) which was a plus with it's open spaces and extras. Super shower and bathroom together with a separate bedroom. Lounge area was spacious and very comfortable. The location of this Motel was exquisite, just a short walk to the lake, shops and restaurants. Only stayed one night, wish we could have stayed longer.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PatW1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2013

This motel is great. The rooms are exceptionally clean and nicely decorated; the cooking facilities were also a great convenience. We enjoyed the comfortable beds and quiet location. We had planned to stay for one night and ended up staying for three. We found the owners and staff extremely accommodating - they couldn't seem to do enough to make sure our stay was enjoyable. We were upgraded to a two bedroom unit and sure enjoyed the extra space. The later check-out when we were running behind schedule was willingly offered. It is located in a area away from major roads but only a short drive or walk down to the beach or downtown area. We would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: We loved unit #15.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CaraLynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taupo hotels
2.1 mi away
Accent on Taupo Motor Lodge
0.9 mi away
The Lake Motel
The Lake Motel
#29 of 69 in Taupo
110 reviews
0.5 mi away
Birchlands Motel
Birchlands Motel
#20 of 69 in Taupo
167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Dunrovin Motel
Dunrovin Motel
#46 of 69 in Taupo
40 reviews
1.9 mi away
Cascades Lakefront Motel
1.1 mi away
VU Thermal Lodge
VU Thermal Lodge
#47 of 69 in Taupo
14 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ashbrook Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ashbrook Motel

Property: Ashbrook Motel
Address: 9 Scannell Street, Taupo 3330, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Taupo District > Taupo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 69 Hotels in Taupo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ashbrook Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Ashbrook Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing