We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, Very comfortable”
Review of Prince Motor Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Prince Motor Lodge
Ranked #14 of 69 Hotels in Taupo
Certificate of Excellence
Marton, New Zealand
1 review
“Clean, Very comfortable”
Reviewed April 1, 2013

Our room was huge just for the two of us, bed extremely comfortable, walking distance to town, quiet, and very reasonably priced, what more could one want for, thank you Ron and Jules we will be back.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GraemeS369
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    110
    55
    18
    3
    3
See reviews for
41
80
16
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2013

We stropped one night. The motel staff were friendly and the location is good and handy for a walk into town. It's always a gamble when looking for a one night stop when touring and this motel suited us. I'd stop there again

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raglan, Waikato, New Zealand
Level Contributor
42 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2013

My husband and I as well as friends of ours have stayed here many times and love it,the people are friendly and the studios and two bedroom suites are very roomy.
Lodge is close to everything in taupo,shops,cafes,restaurants,and of course the lake.
Beds are big and comfortable,very spacious bathroom.
When we in taupo this is the only place we will stay.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lorraine L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Level Contributor
736 reviews
118 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

This was a real surprise - central to the shops, easy to find, staff that are friendly and obliging, and rooms that will bring you back, spacious, well furnished, real coffee to brew, and even proper ice cubes in the fridge! - and a spa bath that really works. I have stayed in and around Taupo for years and just don't know why I hadn't stumbled on this place before. When I'm next going to Taupo, the Prince Motor Lodge will be at the top of my list to enquire about for vacancies.

Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Narziss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Levin, NZ
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 13, 2013

We have chosen Prince Motor Lodge now for over 6 years whenever we are in Taupo or travelling through. Nothing is too much trouble for the team at the motel, we have turned up late at night and often with big furniture trailers that need to be parked in the complex. The staff always make us feel welcome and the location is great for restaurants,shopping and easy access for arrival and departures. Thanks guys

Room Tip: We book the larger rooms with the spa bath for space, plus a deep bath with a glass of wine is hard...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maggie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Level Contributor
65 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2013

We stayed here for 3 days over christmas and new year. Staff were friendly, the rooms were clean but a little dated. Really close to town - within walking distance. The beds were very old and had really bad roll together so they could do with updating the beds but otherwise pretty good. No allocated parking which was a shame so it was a first in first served park.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roxy1932
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2012

We booked in and stayed here recently - (November 2012). The motel rooms are lovely - spacious and clean - we even had spa bath in our large bathroom. The staff (owners) were really lovely and helpful.

Great location - walking distance to town which is great when you want to go shopping or go out for drinks/dinner - no worrying about driving home.

Will definitely stay here again and recommend to everyone I know. Enjoy!

Room Tip: All rooms have parking right outside so you don't need to walk far to with your luggage!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JanetPat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taupo hotels
0.7 mi away
Gables Lakefront Motel
1.7 mi away
Hilton Lake Taupo
Hilton Lake Taupo
#7 of 69 in Taupo
2,020 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sails On The Lake
Sails On The Lake
#5 of 69 in Taupo
292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
The Reef Resort - Heritage Collection
0.3 mi away
Beechtree Motel
Beechtree Motel
#6 of 69 in Taupo
633 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Cottage Mews Motel Taupo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Prince Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Prince Motor Lodge

Property: Prince Motor Lodge
Address: Cnr Titiraupenga & Roberts Streets | 100 Roberts Street Taupo, Taupo 3330, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Taupo District > Taupo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 69 Hotels in Taupo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Prince Motor Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated alongside the heart of Taupo township with an on-site Restaurant, Conference Room, and two (only 2) pet friendly rooms, PRINCE motor lodge offers 32 fully appointed units only a two minute stroll to both the town centre shops and restaurants, and the shores of Lake Taupo. PRINCE has 32 generous, air conditioned ground floor units including Spa Bath Suites, all with in-floor winter heating and daily servicing. Includes Free, Unlimited, Fibre based WiFi, new 42" Netflix enabled TV's with 10xSKYand a choice of King, Queen, and Single sized beds. This all helps to create the ideal location for your next holiday, corporate stop over or conference. We provide a choice of Studio's or 1 Bedroom Suites... or why not enjoy a 1 Bedroom King with a Spa Bath and a separate shower? Owner Operators, Ron, Mairi, and Rachel look forward to welcoming you to PRINCE, "We provide all our guests with clean, comfortable and affordable accommodation in a great location" from where you can enjoy the wonders of the Central North Island, the stunning Geo-thermal valleys, and "Great Lake Taupo" itself. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Prince Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing