We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and Central”
Review of Prince Motor Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Prince Motor Lodge
Ranked #18 of 69 Hotels in Taupo
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Clean and Central”
Reviewed January 3, 2013

We stayed here for 3 days over christmas and new year. Staff were friendly, the rooms were clean but a little dated. Really close to town - within walking distance. The beds were very old and had really bad roll together so they could do with updating the beds but otherwise pretty good. No allocated parking which was a shame so it was a first in first served park.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roxy1932
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

192 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    112
    56
    18
    3
    3
See reviews for
41
82
17
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2012

We booked in and stayed here recently - (November 2012). The motel rooms are lovely - spacious and clean - we even had spa bath in our large bathroom. The staff (owners) were really lovely and helpful.

Great location - walking distance to town which is great when you want to go shopping or go out for drinks/dinner - no worrying about driving home.

Will definitely stay here again and recommend to everyone I know. Enjoy!

Room Tip: All rooms have parking right outside so you don't need to walk far to with your luggage!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JanetPat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2012

The location is excellent, and is only a short walk into the middle of town. The rooms are very clean, and have everything a traveller needs. But the highlight is the friendliness of the people who run the lodge, who truly make you feel at home, and will do their utmost to make your stay in Taupo a pleasant one. Whenever I travel to Taupo, I always stay at the Prince, my home away from home.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BobHart308
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed November 27, 2012

We really enjoyed staying at the Prince Motor Lodge. The room was very nice and the kitchen was well stocked with tea, coffee and hot chocolate. The staff were very friendly and helpful. I recommend Prince Motor Lodge for anyone who wants to stay in Taupo. You definitely need at least two nights because there is so much to do and see in the area.

Room Tip: We stayed in a room away from the road, so it was nice and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2012

We drove to Taupo without accommodation and rang en route from Hamilton after seeing it in a Guide.
We had a Room facing the side street, king bed, very comfortable and clean room. Parking at door. Our view consisted of two concrete trucks parked on the grass outside the Motel. Thankfully we didn't hear them leave.
The lady in the Office was helpful and kindly showed us where other eating places were.
Only one night in Taupo and only one small complaint, didn't like large bathroom windows facing carparking area where other guests were sitting having a drink after dark. Felt a blind in there would have been appropriate at night. Otherwise bathroom large with shower, no spa or bath.
However, would happily recommend the Motel to others.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank holly255060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 20, 2012

A great place to stay - such friendly, welcoming people. It was rather chilly the weekend we were there, having the underfloor heating was sooo cozy. I really enjoyed the spa bath, I certainly relaxed in it. The rooms are soo clean and modern and we had awesome sleeps in the bed. I would like to thank the owners and workers for all they did - they are all awesome!!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Corrina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bagram, Afghanistan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2012

The Prince Motor Lodge, 100 Roberts Street, Taupo, was the perfect base of operations. Besides being centrally located to everything within easy walking distance, the staff was most friendly, courteous, professional and accommodating. They went out of their way to not only make me feel welcomed, but were most gracious by making me feel happy to be there. Julie and Rochelle must be singled out as being outstanding civil ambassadors for New Zealand. When I requested to pay to have my laundry done due to my fishing travels, they on both occasions completed the task but refused to accept payment. However, they did leave a most kind note stating they were glad to have me as their guest in their country and payment for such a task was not necessary. The rooms of the Lodge are tastefully coordinated and extremely comfortable, with new beds, new mattress, leather sofa, table and chairs, well stocked kitchenette, and a great bathroom. I without reservation recommend the Prince Motor Lodge for any of your clients staying in Taupo.

Room Tip: All rooms are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Madoda25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taupo hotels
0.7 mi away
Gables Lakefront Motel
1.7 mi away
Hilton Lake Taupo
Hilton Lake Taupo
#7 of 69 in Taupo
2,063 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sails On The Lake
Sails On The Lake
#5 of 69 in Taupo
310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
The Reef Resort - Heritage Collection
0.3 mi away
Beechtree Motel
Beechtree Motel
#6 of 69 in Taupo
637 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Cottage Mews Motel Taupo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Prince Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Prince Motor Lodge

Property: Prince Motor Lodge
Address: Cnr Titiraupenga & Roberts Streets | 100 Roberts Street Taupo, Taupo 3330, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Taupo District > Taupo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 69 Hotels in Taupo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Prince Motor Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated alongside the heart of Taupo township with an on-site Restaurant, Conference Room, and two (only 2) pet friendly rooms, PRINCE motor lodge offers 32 fully appointed units only a two minute stroll to both the town centre shops and restaurants, and the shores of Lake Taupo. PRINCE has 32 generous, air conditioned ground floor units including Spa Bath Suites, all with in-floor winter heating and daily servicing. Includes Free, Unlimited, Fibre based WiFi, new 42" Netflix enabled TV's with 10xSKYand a choice of King, Queen, and Single sized beds. This all helps to create the ideal location for your next holiday, corporate stop over or conference. We provide a choice of Studio's or 1 Bedroom Suites... or why not enjoy a 1 Bedroom King with a Spa Bath and a separate shower? Owner Operators, Ron, Mairi, and Rachel look forward to welcoming you to PRINCE, "We provide all our guests with clean, comfortable and affordable accommodation in a great location" from where you can enjoy the wonders of the Central North Island, the stunning Geo-thermal valleys, and "Great Lake Taupo" itself. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Prince Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing