We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very good location”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Prince Motor Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Prince Motor Lodge
Ranked #14 of 69 Hotels in Taupo
Certificate of Excellence
Hawkes Bay
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Very good location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2012

We stayed here for one night, the owner was very friendly and accommodating... Our room was great, we could not fault the cleanliness of our room, it was spotless... Great location, within a few minutes walking distance to town, restaurants etc... Breakfast was delivered to our room spot on the time we had requested it... We would definitely stay here again...

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Donz74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    106
    51
    18
    3
    3
See reviews for
40
75
16
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tauranga, New Zealand
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2012

We are so pleased we chose Prince Motor Lodge for our recent stay in Taupo, the rooms were really comfortable and very clean. The Hosts made us very welcome and Rochelle on reception was just lovely, even the cleaning staff were friendly. The town was only a short walk away and once we parked our car we just relaxed and enjoyed our stay. We can highly recommend Prince Motor Lodge for your next visit to Taupo

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CMT970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tauranga, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2012

not only was this motel , so conveniently located in the middle of town, but it was quiet , clean ,
staffed by very friendly cleaners, and managed by very helpfull and friendly personelle .our room was of adequate size for my wife and i , the leather sofa , super comfy , and the bathroom was
very spacious , with a roomy shower, having good water pressure at a good tempreature .
the spa , which we used each day was sparklingly clean ( as new ) and provided us with a very good nights sleep . we no longer have to browse the accomodation sights any more for our next trip to taupo . we know where we will be staying!!

Room Tip: room 103 !!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mike l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2012 via mobile

For the last five years we have stayed here while attending an annual event in Taupo. The staff have always been friendly, the location great and it is reasonably priced. If you are looking for a good mid range priced motel then they are worth considering.

Stayed March 2012
Helpful?
Thank IRFitz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2011

From our experience of 5 nights at Prince Motor Lodge we could not have choosen a better Motel. The hosts are very welcoming and friendly, offer great local advice and went out of their way to make sure our stay was as easy and comfortable as possible. The rooms/bathrooms are spacious (what you need when you have children) and were very clean + serviced room daily. The free WiFi internet was a great bonus for us too.
Very handy to town, an easy 2 minitue stroll to great resturants/shops (no need for taxis) + the onsite Thai resturant was wonderful aswell.
Thank you again and we will definatley be back!!!!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scooterrails
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmerston North
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2011

We stayed here last weekend and despite some of the previous reviews, we were truly impressed! The management were very helpful, friendly and professional and gave good advice on places to eat and what was good to see in Taupo. Our room was very clean and well laid out - and the location of the motel is so close to town that you can just walk everywhere. We are coming through again in November and have already booked in as we really enjoyed our stay. Can thoroughly recommend.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fiona R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ringkobing, Denmark
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2011

Nice location and reasonable in price. We chose to pay extra for the spa, but we could not use it. The ventilation in the bathroom were noisy and both whirlpool and bathroom was dirty. Furthermore, the spa is not maintained and several jets were missing in a carriage and was filled with old body hair. Truly disgusting. We went to the shower, but the next morning the floor was slippery all over, because of the bad ventilation. There were no windows in the bathroom to help out the problem. In addition, I slipped several times on the floor at the kitchen area, between the bedroom and bathroom because it was greasy. A continuous bad experience. We had a pricereduction for the spa - but stil a way to high price for the room.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank Heidisandager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taupo hotels
0.7 mi away
Gables Lakefront Motel
0.7 mi away
Sails On The Lake
Sails On The Lake
#5 of 69 in Taupo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 259 reviews
0.3 mi away
Chantilly's Lake Taupo
Chantilly's Lake Taupo
#17 of 69 in Taupo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
The Reef Resort - Heritage Collection
1.7 mi away
Hilton Lake Taupo
Hilton Lake Taupo
#7 of 69 in Taupo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,951 reviews
0.3 mi away
Beechtree Motel
Beechtree Motel
#6 of 69 in Taupo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 627 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Prince Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Prince Motor Lodge

Property: Prince Motor Lodge
Address: Cnr Titiraupenga & Roberts Streets | 100 Roberts Street Taupo, Taupo 3330, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Taupo District > Taupo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 69 Hotels in Taupo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Prince Motor Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated alongside the heart of Taupo township with an on-site Restaurant, Conference Room, and two (only 2) pet friendly rooms, PRINCE motor lodge offers 32 fully appointed units only a two minute stroll to both the town centre shops and restaurants, and the shores of Lake Taupo. PRINCE has 32 generous ground floor units including Spa Bath Suites, all being serviced daily. Provides Free, Unlimited, Fibre based WiFi, new 42" Netflix enabled TV's with 10xSKYand a choice of King, Queen, and Single sized beds. This all helps to create the ideal location for your next holiday, corporate stop over or conference. We provide a choice of Studio's or 1 Bedroom Suites... or why not enjoy a 1 Bedroom King with a Spa Bath and a separate shower? Owner Operators, Ron, Mairi, and Rachel look forward to welcoming you to PRINCE, "We provide all our guests with clean, comfortable and affordable accommodation in a great location" from where you can enjoy the wonders of the Central North Island, the stunning Geo-thermal valleys, and "Great Lake Taupo" itself. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Prince Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing