We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay !!!”
Review of Prince Motor Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Prince Motor Lodge
Ranked #14 of 69 Hotels in Taupo
Certificate of Excellence
New Zealand
1 review
“Great place to stay !!!”
Reviewed October 24, 2011

From our experience of 5 nights at Prince Motor Lodge we could not have choosen a better Motel. The hosts are very welcoming and friendly, offer great local advice and went out of their way to make sure our stay was as easy and comfortable as possible. The rooms/bathrooms are spacious (what you need when you have children) and were very clean + serviced room daily. The free WiFi internet was a great bonus for us too.
Very handy to town, an easy 2 minitue stroll to great resturants/shops (no need for taxis) + the onsite Thai resturant was wonderful aswell.
Thank you again and we will definatley be back!!!!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scooterrails
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

194 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    113
    57
    18
    3
    3
See reviews for
41
83
18
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Palmerston North
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 26, 2011

We stayed here last weekend and despite some of the previous reviews, we were truly impressed! The management were very helpful, friendly and professional and gave good advice on places to eat and what was good to see in Taupo. Our room was very clean and well laid out - and the location of the motel is so close to town that you can just walk everywhere. We are coming through again in November and have already booked in as we really enjoyed our stay. Can thoroughly recommend.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fiona R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ringkobing, Denmark
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2011

Nice location and reasonable in price. We chose to pay extra for the spa, but we could not use it. The ventilation in the bathroom were noisy and both whirlpool and bathroom was dirty. Furthermore, the spa is not maintained and several jets were missing in a carriage and was filled with old body hair. Truly disgusting. We went to the shower, but the next morning the floor was slippery all over, because of the bad ventilation. There were no windows in the bathroom to help out the problem. In addition, I slipped several times on the floor at the kitchen area, between the bedroom and bathroom because it was greasy. A continuous bad experience. We had a pricereduction for the spa - but stil a way to high price for the room.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank Heidisandager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RonPH1, Owner at Prince Motor Lodge, responded to this review, May 31, 2017
For the reader. This review was written 6 years ago and under the previous management. We are the new owners and guarantee this will not be your experience today.

Looking forward to meeting you.

Regards, Mairi, Ron, and Rachel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2011

We regularly stay here with friends. Great proximity to town - everything is in walking distance.
The internal courtyard gives you piece of mind for bikes and other toys.
Rooms are well appointed and tidy.
Can be a little noisy if you have groups of people chatting outside late in the evening - but I'm sure we've all done that!
Average pricing - assume they add a high season surcharge.
We'll be back.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank L0ve2Fish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rotorua
2 reviews
Reviewed December 7, 2010

Friendly professional managers and the rooms were clean & tidy and close proximity to city

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bobmate_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Cruces, New Mexico
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2010

My family and I were driving through Taupo, and were so tired when we arrived that we just picked a place at random. The Prince Motor Lodge happened to be in the right place at the right time.

The manager escorted us to our room, and I was pleased. There was a separate bedroom for the kids, a wonderful bathroom with a tub for two, and internet was included in the price. He plugged in some heaters for us to make sure we stayed warm, and kept telling us if we needed anything to let him know.

Some of the previous reviews seem to have been unfair. The lady at the front desk was certainly no bubbly personality, but she wasn't rude. The rate was no great bargain, but it wasn't a ripoff either.

I would recommend this hotel to any families traveling through Taupo.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SleeperAwakened
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
1 review
Reviewed October 31, 2010

The unit was very spacious and fitted out beautifully. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The facilities were very convenient and the bed was very comfortable. Close to shops, hotel and eating places. I would return to this establishment and recommend anyone going to Taupo to stay there.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nise19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taupo hotels
0.7 mi away
Sails On The Lake
Sails On The Lake
#5 of 69 in Taupo
316 reviews
0.7 mi away
Gables Lakefront Motel
1.3 mi away
The Reef Resort - Heritage Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Hilton Lake Taupo
Hilton Lake Taupo
#7 of 69 in Taupo
2,079 reviews
0.3 mi away
Beechtree Motel
Beechtree Motel
#6 of 69 in Taupo
638 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Cottage Mews Motel Taupo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Prince Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Prince Motor Lodge

Property: Prince Motor Lodge
Address: Cnr Titiraupenga & Roberts Streets | 100 Roberts Street Taupo, Taupo 3330, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Taupo District > Taupo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 69 Hotels in Taupo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Prince Motor Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated alongside the heart of Taupo township with an on-site Restaurant, Conference Room, and two (only 2) pet friendly rooms, PRINCE motor lodge offers 32 fully appointed units only a two minute stroll to both the town centre shops and restaurants, and the shores of Lake Taupo. PRINCE has 32 generous, air conditioned ground floor units including Spa Bath Suites, all with in-floor winter heating and daily servicing. Includes Free, Unlimited, Fibre based WiFi, new 42" Netflix enabled TV's with 10xSKYand a choice of King, Queen, and Single sized beds. This all helps to create the ideal location for your next holiday, corporate stop over or conference. We provide a choice of Studio's or 1 Bedroom Suites... or why not enjoy a 1 Bedroom King with a Spa Bath and a separate shower? Owner Operators, Ron, Mairi, and Rachel look forward to welcoming you to PRINCE, "We provide all our guests with clean, comfortable and affordable accommodation in a great location" from where you can enjoy the wonders of the Central North Island, the stunning Geo-thermal valleys, and "Great Lake Taupo" itself. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Prince Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing