We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful B&B near Taupo”

Kinara Country Homestay
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Taupo
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Kinara Country Homestay
Ranked #29 of 41 Taupo B&B and Inns
Reviewed December 27, 2013 via mobile

We stayed only one night in Kinara Country Homestay which was to short. The hospitality of Heather and Greame is great. And Kinara Country Homestay is a wonderful place to stay in a magnificent area.
Wim and Olga, The Netherlands.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Wim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (29)
There are newer reviews for Kinara Country Homestay
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

8 - 14 of 29 reviews

Reviewed April 8, 2013

My husband and I stayed at Kinara Country Homestay for three nights. We were delighted with the comfortable accomodations and the extremely friendly owner, Heather. We enjoyed the rural atmostphere outside of Lake Taupo and it was easy to access Lake Taupo, Rotorura and other surrounding areas. Heather had a wealth of ideas about what to see and do and her recommendations fit us perfectly. Breakfast was hearty and we also enjoyed afternoon tea and a glass of wine in the evening. Other guests who stayed there were repeat customers who obviously liked Kinara, too! Kiwis don't put screens on their windows--my only complaint--but we fount that was true almost everywhere we stayed in New Zealand.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CarolJ242
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2013

This is the second time we have stayed at this property, the first was three years ago, and if anything it was even better than we remembered. The rooms are extremely comfortable, exceptionally well maintained and the hospitality extended by Heather and Graeme is absolutely first class. Sitting around the breakfast table chatting to other guests and our hosts until nearly 11 o'clock - having sat down at 8 - was really lovely and the breakfast was pretty good too!
It is not often that I recommend anything but I am happy to make an exception in this case. I really cannot think of anything which would improve this homestay - unless it was several thousand miles close to the UK so we could visit more often.

Room Tip: Don't think it makes any difference they are all very good
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dave B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2013

Kinara Homestay was our first stop after Auckland in our month in NZ. What a wonderful home Heather has made. We stayed here for 3 days as a base for our visit to the Taupo/Rotorua area. After visiting Rotorua, we were so glad that we had chosen Taupo, and especially Kinara in which to stay. The rooms are very comfortable and clean with a dresser so that you can unpack. The grounds are magnificent although we did not have any time to enjoy them. Heather presides over a wonderful breakfast and treats her guests like a part of her family. She makes excellent suggestions for dinner and daily activities and always wears a smile. Upon returning from dinner we were invited to sit and chat over a glass of wine. We only wish that we had been able to meet Graeme who was away on business during our visit. Kinara is a wonderful place to stay while visiting this area.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank the_gogo_girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2013

Heather & Graeme were very welcoming and flexible about our stay. My suitcase had been lost and Heather was very helpful in assisting us in any way she could to locate it. The lovely robes in the room were such a welcome, especially due to my missing luggage! The room accommodations were lovely and the grounds were beautiful. It is a spacious homey house! Heather takes alot of time to make many little details perfect, and it is noticeable in every aspect. She made a sumptuous breakfast for us and there were many delicious food choices with a lovely table setting. Her sweet little grand daughter was there which made it all the more homey to us. She even gave us some suggestions of things to do and see for the next part of our journey. I regretted we were only staying for one night and I definitely recommend it to others!!

Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank solotraveler94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 24, 2012

This was our second stay at Kinara. We had been keen to return after our first visit as it was such a wonderful experience, and true to form they did not disappoint the second time around. Heather and Graham are fantastic hosts who were extremely accommodating to our needs.

We stayed for 3 nights with our son who was 17 months at the time. The room next to ours was not occupied and so they offered to set up a portacot for my son in the room adjacent to ours at no extra charge. This was very convenient for us as we did not have to worry about disturbing him once we put him to sleep for the night. They also allowed us free access of their kitchen and dining area so we could wash our son’s bottles and also have any takeaway which we brought back from town at their dining table. It was like staying with family.

They gave us excellent recommendations for places to visit such as Paradise Springs Wildlife Park in Roturua which our son thoroughly enjoyed. Breakfast was always very relaxing as Heather and Graham would entertain our son with DVDs (they even let him use their granddaughter’s beanbag and toys, while we indulged ourselves on their delicious homemade food. We look forward to our next stay at Kinara!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dananka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2012

We spent two days here and it was one of the most relaxing places I have ever stayed at, it made you want to stay longer and just hang out in the house and the patio area. The yard was so beautiful and well maintained. The towels and bed were of the finest quality. Heather makes a great banana bread and breakfast excellent!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wineloversandimas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taupo hotels
8.6 mi away
Te Moenga Lodge
Te Moenga Lodge
#10 of 41 in Taupo
36 reviews
7.7 mi away
Hilton Lake Taupo
Hilton Lake Taupo
#7 of 69 in Taupo
2,111 reviews
8.0 mi away
The Reef Resort - Heritage Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 mi away
Gables Lakefront Motel
8.1 mi away
Millennium Hotel and Resort Manuels Taupo
7.5 mi away
Sails On The Lake
Sails On The Lake
#5 of 69 in Taupo
332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kinara Country Homestay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kinara Country Homestay

Address: 159 Palmer Mill Road | RD1, Taupo 3384, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Taupo District > Taupo
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 41 B&Bs / Inns in Taupo
Price Range: $117 - $135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing