We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Apalling service”
Review of Gusto Restaurant

Gusto Restaurant
Ranked #18 of 169 Restaurants in New Plymouth
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $11 - $31
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Gusto Restaurant is a new spacious dining experience right on the waterfront, with plenty of deck space for outdoor dining on fine days, or warm, cosy waterfront dining indoors on cooler days or nights. We are open every day for breakfast, lunch or dinner with plenty of parking available. Our chefs source top quality ingredients fresh daily to ensure our meals are enjoyed by everyone, and they come back to Gusto time and again.
New Plymouth, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Apalling service”
Reviewed April 11, 2014

Due to its beautiful location we used to eat here quite regularly and overlooked the really poor service and average food. But at our last visit we unfortunately had to send back a steak which was swimming in clear fluid which meant dealing with the waitress and the manager.....needless to say the service went from poor to appalling very quickly. Both staff were snide, rude, unhelpful and basically horrid! Subsequently we won't even set foot in the place ever again.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Jojo4141
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gustotaranaki, Owner at Gusto Restaurant, responded to this review, April 27, 2014
Hi JoJO4141
This matter was addressed some 6 months ago, bit of a belated review. There is always two sides to the story and you have only given a small portion of the event. You forgot to mention that the staff were only concerned for your wellbeing.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

321 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    161
    98
    34
    13
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Tauranga, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“stunning location”
Reviewed March 31, 2014

Sunday breakfast over the water - what could be better? excellent food, great coffee in a gorgeous room with the harbour at your feet. The dinner menu looked amazing as well

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank ci_bach_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gustotaranaki, Owner at Gusto Restaurant, responded to this review, April 1, 2014
Thank you so much for your lovely feedback we will make sure all our staff are aware, we look forward to seeing you again in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hawera, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
369 reviews
169 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Potentially the best.... Let down by service. ”
Reviewed March 26, 2014 via mobile

Undisputedly one if the best locations in town. Modern, minimal full of light, blue sky vistas and breakwater sea views. Plenty to see and watch.

A lazy lunch was the order of the day and the menu did not disappoint. Stylish, modern, well cooked and great sized meals came our way. The wine and beer list was adequate.

.....then we were forgotten....everything started out with such promise. We were not offered further drinks. We were not offered dessert or coffee. The girls working were busy granted and we were not in a hurry. But after our mains were served we were never seen to again.....and it sure was hard to catch someone's eye!

This has also happened to us once before.....it's a shame, you so missed out on a 5/5. Not sure I will try a third time lucky.

Helpful?
Thank RocheMaree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gustotaranaki, Manager at Gusto Restaurant, responded to this review, April 1, 2014
Thank you for your feedback. We are disappointed you felt forgotten and have brought this to the attention of our front of house staff. We have extra staff on call for busy lunches such as the one you experienced and hopefully will be called in the future to prevent this happening again. We do hope you will visit us again to experience as you mention the beautiful location and food.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Plymouth, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great coffee”
Reviewed March 12, 2014

A favourite of mine after a Sunday walk. Usually have coffee and a muffin, the views of the ocean are great. When dining in the evening the sunset is amazing. The food and service are great too.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank trickles-1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gustotaranaki, Owner at Gusto Restaurant, responded to this review, April 27, 2014
Hi Trickles
Thankyou for your review and giving positive feedback about our coffee. It is nice to hear when people are pleased with our products. Looking forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Plymouth, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fantastic Resturant”
Reviewed March 11, 2014

I have been many times to Gusto and find it the very best restaurant in New Plymouth. It is a lovely location on the seashore and has a very friendly staff and a quiet envioroment that makes so nice to relax and enjoy my family with me. The food is excellent and well presented.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Peter H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gustotaranaki, General Manager at Gusto Restaurant, responded to this review, April 27, 2014
Hi Peter
Thankyou for your great review it is very much appreciated. I have fed your review back to our staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gusto Restaurant also viewed

New Plymouth, Taranaki Region
New Plymouth, Taranaki Region
 
New Plymouth, Taranaki Region
New Plymouth, Taranaki Region
 

Been to Gusto Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing