We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Delicious”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Gusto Restaurant

Gusto Restaurant
Ranked #15 of 163 Restaurants in New Plymouth
Price range: $11 - $29
Cuisines: Seafood, European, New Zealand
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Families with children, Kids, Special occasions, Scenic view, Romantic
Dining options: Brunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Late Night, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Gusto Restaurant is a new spacious dining experience right on the waterfront, with plenty of deck space for outdoor dining on fine days, or warm, cosy waterfront dining indoors on cooler days or nights. We are open every day for breakfast, lunch or dinner with plenty of parking available. Our chefs source top quality ingredients fresh daily to ensure our meals are enjoyed by everyone, and they come back to Gusto time and again.
UK
Level Contributor
48 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Delicious”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2012 via mobile

Just had an impromptu meal here and was really impressed. Lovely views, nice atmosphere and truly delicious food. The venison pie was absolutely scrummy and one of the best dishes I've had in a long time. Highly recommended.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AllyJWH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

305 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    152
    94
    34
    12
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
New Plymouth, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Come on In!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2012

I loved the view, the food was yum, and the service was done with a smile!! The welcome was a welcome to 'come on in'.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Plymouth, New Zealand
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“WATERFRONT RESTAURANT”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2012

Excellent Restaurant Design , spacious with flexible dining options ,competant staff excellent chef , whether it be coffee and cake , breakfast / lunch or dinner ... book for that special event , take advantage of the in door outdoor flow .... Great Summer option , watch the waves break .. a 5min drive to the Port area / West of Central New Plymouth, you will not be disappointed ..

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Ruth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Plymouth, New Zealand
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2012

21st August 2012-08-21


To day I was feeling hungry so I went to Gusto Gafe in New Plymouth.

It is a wonderful place to have a meal with an awesome location on the shores of the harbour in New Plymouth.
The café staff are so friendly and the food they serve is delicious. I really enjoyed it as I know others who were there at the same time did also.
So often at so many resturants the background noise is loud which makes it difficult to have a conversation with your friends at the table. Not at Gusto it is not at all like that even when they are busy.
However this time I have a photo that shows how happy their customers are. Thanks Gusto for a great meal and service.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Plymouth, New Zealand
Level Contributor
39 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Expensive but great food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2012

in a great setting right by the water and nice to either sit outside or inside if the weather isn't great and be warm yet watch the elements.

Helpful?
Thank teachernan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gusto Restaurant also viewed

New Plymouth, Taranaki Region
New Plymouth, Taranaki Region
 
New Plymouth, Taranaki Region
New Plymouth, Taranaki Region
 
New Plymouth, Taranaki Region
New Plymouth, Taranaki Region
 

Been to Gusto Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing