We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Your typical chinese and western buffet food”

Sun World Chinese Restaurant
Ranked #79 of 164 Restaurants in New Plymouth
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
New Plymouth, New Zealand
Level Contributor
67 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Your typical chinese and western buffet food”
Reviewed June 6, 2014

As my heading states this restaurant provides pretty typical buffet food, nothing special about it at all, nothing produced or cooked to a high quality, we used to eat here a lot with other family for dinners as they have good seating and can cater for large groups but food has recently gone down hill and often someone from our dining group always gets sick from eating something bad. The restaurant is not the worst I have been too but definitely not the best either, if you want cheap all you can eat then this place would be good for you.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Matthew H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    17
    21
    7
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New Plymouth, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good value for average fare”
Reviewed June 4, 2014

Wide range of food - but mediocre in quality. Good for all you can eat fare. The restaurant is popular with a wide cross section of the local poulation.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank carlaUK59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Not for all”
Reviewed May 30, 2014

Good value from a banquet point of view. Average food but with lots of options. If low on money then this is the place.If you want authentic Chinese then go elsewhere...

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank VRT911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, New Zealand
Level Contributor
698 reviews
144 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 263 helpful votes
“Very enjoyable meal”
Reviewed April 28, 2014 via mobile

First time to visit Sun World. I was surprised by the range of food available for both the main and dessert food provided. Staff were excellent. Price was good value. I would go again.

Helpful?
1 Thank Janr20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
95 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Good Selection of Eastern and Western Food”
Reviewed February 25, 2014

A reasonably priced buffet style restaurant with a good selection of western and eastern foods. You can mix and match entrée and mains. There is also soup, desert and coffee. We can't miss it if we are in New Plymouth.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 538AlanR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sun World Chinese Restaurant also viewed

New Plymouth, Taranaki Region
New Plymouth, Taranaki Region
 
New Plymouth, Taranaki Region
New Plymouth, Taranaki Region
 

Been to Sun World Chinese Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing