We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“London in New Plymouth”
Review of Pankawalla

Pankawalla
Ranked #5 of 164 Restaurants in New Plymouth
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $14 - $28
Cuisines: Contemporary, Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Special occasions, Large groups, Families with children, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Delivery, Digital Payments, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“London in New Plymouth”
Reviewed April 20, 2014

The food and decor was superb and high class. I loved the Korma and the drinks were fantastic. I do noyt like having to make these reviews 50 characters.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Well_Travelled_Globe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

223 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    148
    49
    14
    8
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Watford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great place!”
Reviewed March 15, 2014

Go there regularly and always have a wonderful meal! Absolutely delightful staff and great service! Cannot say more really - wonderful food!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank alinz56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Plymouth, New Zealand
Level Contributor
143 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Indian Food - Kiwi style”
Reviewed February 26, 2014

We frequent this restaurant whenever we feel like good Indian food. The atmosphere is pleasant with very good friendly staff & quick service. Good sized servings to share. The naan breads are very good & it's nice to share there mixed platter. Highly reccommended.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Wendy w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington
Level Contributor
40 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Pankawalla is definitely worth it”
Reviewed January 1, 2014

Pankawalla delivered on 'bang for buck. My companion and I had the banquet, which was an excellent option from a menu with many tempting (and therefore difficult) choices. I remember this restaurant from 2006 - it was good back then, too, so clearly they're onto a good thing. Staff are pleasant and efficient. The interior is stylish but not overpowering. As of 31 December 2013, the banquet for two and bottle of pinot noir was $110 for two, and we were also able to take away what we couldn't eat. Definitely worth it.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lachlaninnewzealand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
352 reviews
252 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“NZ adapted Indian food”
Reviewed November 15, 2013 via mobile

We had mixed platter to start. Garlic naan and rice shared with lamb rogan josh, chicken tikka, hot beef curry, fish curry, panneer and a couple other can't remember name. Very toned down even we ordered Indian hot. Nonetheless the service was good considering there is only one waitress.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Wolv3rin3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pankawalla also viewed

New Plymouth, Taranaki Region
New Plymouth, Taranaki Region
 
New Plymouth, Taranaki Region
New Plymouth, Taranaki Region
 
New Plymouth, Taranaki Region
New Plymouth, Taranaki Region
 

Been to Pankawalla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing