We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our favourite in New Plymouth”

Marinovich's Seafood Restaurant & Cafe
Ranked #63 of 164 Restaurants in New Plymouth
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood, New Zealand
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Local cuisine, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Pattaya, Thailand
Level Contributor
222 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Our favourite in New Plymouth”
Reviewed May 31, 2013

Yes we had been here on our previous visit to New Zealand. It maybe not the poshest but it is good and well used by locals. Its still as good as ever ,we went twice. There is a good daily menu with always 1or 2 fish choices. My fish as excellent as well as my juicy Angus Steak the following night.My wife had oysters as well as fish very happy. Can recommend the brandy snaps for a desert, yummie yummie ( see picture ) BYO which keeps the cost down.
Good friendly staff and chef's

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Barry-Jang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    50
    48
    17
    10
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Decent seafood”
Reviewed May 11, 2013

We stopped in New Plymouth for one night, and decided on this place for dinner. It was a Fri night and it was busy. However the food was good, seemed to be fresh. We had a platter of seafood. While the service and atmosphere aren't five star, it was an enjoyable meal, and the owners were entertaining and seemed happy.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Rovingbikes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, Scotland
Level Contributor
33 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Worth a visit”
Reviewed April 5, 2013

Dined here over the Easter holidays, very good no nonsense food and great staff (Martin). My wife had the salmon and I had the oysters. Can recommend and we will visit again when next in New Plymouth.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank gjc47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
97 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Go for the food”
Reviewed April 4, 2013

This is a busy, no nonsense sort of place. You go there for the good food, mainly seafood, and not the atmosphere. It has been there a long time and when you taste the New Zealand salmon you can understand why.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank 29grapes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Brilliant fish and chips”
Reviewed February 28, 2013

Inside there's a mirror with the slogan "Traditional Fish and Chips since 1927," and that's it. A pleasantly old fashioned room. My wife had pan-fried gurnard, I had beer-battered snapper. The fish was totally fresh, and hence superb. The chips were nice big chunky chips, the salad meant well. We weakened and had sweets, which were designed to appeal to the inner twelve-year old.

We didn't try their fancy cooking, but the menu wasn't inspirational. Also, it's not cheap--Auckland prices. But if what you're wanting is simple fish and chips, this is about as good as it gets.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Michael W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Marinovich's Seafood Restaurant & Cafe also viewed

New Plymouth, Taranaki Region
New Plymouth, Taranaki Region
 
New Plymouth, Taranaki Region
New Plymouth, Taranaki Region
 
New Plymouth, Taranaki Region
New Plymouth, Taranaki Region
 

Been to Marinovich's Seafood Restaurant & Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing