We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely food and ambience”

GCR Grand Central Restaurant & Bar
Ranked #103 of 165 Restaurants in New Plymouth
Price range: $13 - $25
Cuisines: Contemporary, Bar, New Zealand
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Large groups
Dining options: Reservations
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
101 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Lovely food and ambience”
Reviewed October 24, 2013

Had a few meals at the GCR over our weekend in New Plymouth. They were beautifully prepared, served and delicious to eat. Would definitely have a meal here again!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jen_knee43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ResmanagerGCH, General Manager at GCR Grand Central Restaurant & Bar, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
I am glad your enjoyed your meals at GCR and thank you for your comments. We have a great new chef on board and we have recently updated the restaurant with a fresh paint. We are updating the seasonal menu soon and hope you will come and try it.

Kind regards,
Angela Taylor
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    6
    6
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Port Townsend, Washington
Level Contributor
84 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Typical Hotel Resaturant”
Reviewed October 19, 2013

I did like that breakfast you could oder a-la-carte rather than the usual buffet. Eggs Benedict were good. Coffee could be better.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank styaner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ResmanagerGCH, General Manager at GCR Grand Central Restaurant & Bar, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Thanks for your feedback regarding our new breakfast menu. I agree, it is much nicer to have a la carte menu rather than a hot buffet for breakfast. I am glad you enjoyed your meal and we look forward to welcoming you back to GCR @ Copthorne Hotel in the future.

Kind regards,
Angela Taylor
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whanganui
Level Contributor
69 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“service with a smile.”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

There was plenty of room in the restaurant, Simple uncluttered layout, prompt service.Tasty food. Excellent cooked breakfast.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank fussy c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ResmanagerGCH, General Manager at GCR Grand Central Restaurant & Bar, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Thanks for your positive feedback regarding GCR Restaurant & Bar. We appreciate your comments about our service.

Kind regards,
Angela Taylor
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotorua, New Zealand
Level Contributor
720 reviews
317 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 258 helpful votes
“Wow - the breakfasts are huge!”
Reviewed July 25, 2013

My husband recently spend two days in New Plymouth, staying at the Copthorne. Restaurant is part of this hotel. We had buffet option breakfast. A little different from others, where the hot options are ordered, and cereal, toast, yoghurts, danishs etc are on table. First morning we ordered the full cooked breakfast. What a huge meal! Neither of us finished it and didn't eat until dinner that night! It was a fantastic meal. Presentation a little haphazard but still great. Second morning, we decided to try something hopefully a little small. Corn fritters, another good sized meal, but not quite a large. Presentation much better on this meal. And it was very nice, with hollaindaise, camembert.brie?, bacon etc with a relish. Could have been better with homemade fritters tho. Staff very friendly and welcoming. Would definitely eat here again.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Strickes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Al Khobar, Saudi Arabia
Level Contributor
438 reviews
177 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 199 helpful votes
“Don't know why this restaurant is so overlooked!!”
Reviewed February 14, 2013

Had a valentine's meal for two at this restaurant and it was very good. Yes, it is poorly patronised, but people clearly don't know what they are missing.

The menu is not large, but the food we had was very good and the portion size was on the large side. It is not fine dining, but everything was beautifully cooked and very flavoursome. The service was excellent, and overall we had a very pleasant evening out. We will definitely be visiting again based upon this very good experience.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Superpear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed GCR Grand Central Restaurant & Bar also viewed

New Plymouth, Taranaki Region
New Plymouth, Taranaki Region
 
New Plymouth, Taranaki Region
New Plymouth, Taranaki Region
 

Been to GCR Grand Central Restaurant & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing