We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, perfect addition to the cricket”

Crowded House Bar & Cafe
Ranked #50 of 179 Restaurants in New Plymouth
Price range: $7 - $27
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Crowded House, it's a local sports bar like no other in the heart of the New Plymouth CBD. Open 7 days from 10am until late the eatery menu has a wide selection of dishes to choose from brunch, lunch & dinner. The bar has an extensive range including Heineken. We LOVE sport and have plenty of screens for you to watch it all on. FREE WIFI for all of our customers too. Crowded House is just 5 minutes walk to our World famous Pukekura Park or down to the Coastal Walkway.
Reviewed January 10, 2014 via mobile

Perfect place for Saturday night tea, with huge screens to watch the cricket. Food was great, white bait omelette was delicious and girlfriend ordered the naki burger and it was huge and tasty. Staff were attentive and really friendly, we will definitely come back.

Thank Braeden87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EmmaPuletaha, Owner at Crowded House Bar & Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded January 12, 2014

Fantastic to hear you enjoyed a great night at Crowded House, love getting great feedback. Sounds like you'll be back again so why not join the VIP club to get a few freebies. Just text 'crowd' and your 'email address' to '4664'.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (175)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

135 - 139 of 175 reviews

Reviewed December 29, 2013 via mobile

3 of us had the ribs, 1 chicken pasta, 1 brekkie, 1 naki burger and I had the battered fish and chips. The ribs were OK, the pasta good, the brekkie better, the burger great BUT the fish and chips were EXCELLENT. The price really good for the amount of food. Only small prob was the cleaning of the tables. I recommend this place as a must visit if in New Plymouth.

Thank Gerryb690212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EmmaPuletaha, Owner at Crowded House Bar & Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2014

Thank you for writing a review, it is always good to know the good and the bad. I will pass on to the Chefs what you thought of the meals, and have a word with our wait staff about making more of an effort in clearing tables. Cheers.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2013

After being turned away from Garage Joe's because they were full we walked a few minutes away to a bar restaurant called Crowded house and all I can say is Im glad Garage Joe's was full.
The meal was top class, plentiful, reasonably priced AND the surroundings were ok. We had a better time and no doubt saved a few bucks.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank majnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EmmaPuletaha, Owner at Crowded House Bar & Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2014

Great to hear you enjoyed your meal and visit with us, thanks for the feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2013

Went after the movies so it was handy location, good variety on menu. Steak was cooked very nicely. Sat and watched sports while waiting for our meal, very relaxed atmosphere.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Sheryl H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EmmaPuletaha, Owner at Crowded House Bar & Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2014

Sheryl, great to hear that you had a good time at Crowded House, thanks for your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2013

A big dinner crowd greeted us for dinner. Apparently, some had been in the bar for most of the afternoon. Our order (for our reserved table for 10) was taken quickly bjut took an eternity to arrive. One order was omitted, and an apology with a free cup of coffee offered.
Typical bar food, burgers, fish and chips, pizza were amongst the orders. Nothing outstanding but acceptable nosh. It is a pity that the food service does not match the bar service which was efficient. The staff were good at their jobs and, at the end of the evening, our party was happy with the meal charges.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank JohnMarion H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Crowded House Bar & Cafe also viewed

New Plymouth, Taranaki Region
New Plymouth, Taranaki Region
 
New Plymouth, Taranaki Region
New Plymouth, Taranaki Region
 

Been to Crowded House Bar & Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing