We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant place”

Arborio Restaurant, Cafe & Bar
Ranked #27 of 173 Restaurants in New Plymouth
Price range: $3 - $26
Cuisines: Italian, Contemporary, Cafe, New Zealand
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Reviewed April 9, 2014

Went in a group of eight people -well managed with drink and food appearing in timely manner. Food certainly ok nothing startling but tasty and wholesome. Nice wines, fair price and pleasant ambience.
Well worth visiting.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank timjed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarnieJS, Owner at Arborio Restaurant, Cafe & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2015

Thank you for taking the time to review Arborio. It is good to hear you enjoyed your experience. Hope to see in in again sometime soon :)
Kind regards,
Marnie Johnston-Saywell
Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (481)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

362 - 366 of 481 reviews

Reviewed March 23, 2014

Have tried to eat here on several Saturday luncheons only to find it was closed for a private function. The decor view and ambience were great and the food very good. We had a potato gnocci with blue cheese and macadamia nuts, and a spicy fried calamari with lettuce pickled daikon plus a garlic coriander aioli. The wait staff were very good excepting we would have had another glass of wine each had we seen wait staff.. After waiting for 15 minutes after main course plates were taken the desert we had promised ourselves was had at another establishment. We will be back though.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Umfoloz1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarnieJS, Owner at Arborio Restaurant, Cafe & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2015

Thank you for taking the time to review Arborio. It is great to hear you enjoyed your experience. Hope to see in in again sometime soon :)
Kind regards,
Marnie Johnston-Saywell
Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2014

Well I've always thought this was the case - and unfortunately Arboria on the gorgeous New Plymouth front bears it out. A bit disappointing. A good taste of the NZ waiting style "were you wanting anything else?" I reckon there will be better restaurants tucked away in NP...

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Acey75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarnieJS, Owner at Arborio Restaurant, Cafe & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2015

Thank you for taking the time to post these comments.

I regret to hear that your experience did not meet the mark this time, my sincere apologies. I hope that you will consider contacting us at the restaurant if you would like to discuss your experience any further.

We value feedback such as this so that we can continue to improve.

Kinds regards,

Marnie Johnston-Saywell
Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2014

Wonderful staff and a lovely night celebrating our Mothers birthday (80) with family although she has not been with us for 30 years. The food was very appetising and well presented.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank georgeandmcduff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarnieJS, Owner at Arborio Restaurant, Cafe & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2015

Thank you so much for your awesome feedback! We really appreciate you taking the time to detail your experience - it means a great deal to the team, thanks! Hope you will come and visit us again :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2014 via mobile

Didnt realise how good the food and service was here until we ventured into the restaurant.

Welcomed immediately and service was impressive.

Very polite staff member served us really made us feel at home.

Plenty of conversation and banter made us feel great.

Well done see you soon.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank spockii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarnieJS, Owner at Arborio Restaurant, Cafe & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2015

Thank you for taking the time to review Arborio. It is great to hear you enjoyed your experience. Hope to see in in again sometime soon :)
Kind regards,
Marnie Johnston-Saywell
Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Arborio Restaurant, Cafe & Bar also viewed

New Plymouth, Taranaki Region
New Plymouth, Taranaki Region
 
New Plymouth, Taranaki Region
New Plymouth, Taranaki Region
 

Been to Arborio Restaurant, Cafe & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing