We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Consistently very good”

Arborio Restaurant, Cafe & Bar
Ranked #27 of 164 Restaurants in New Plymouth
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $3 - $25
Cuisines: International, New Zealand, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Scenic view, Bar scene, Kids, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
new plymouth
Level Contributor
258 reviews
144 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Consistently very good”
Reviewed March 1, 2012

Some management changes, but if anything better, consistently very good. Not cheap but probably fair value for venue etc. good views setting. If you like mussels theirs are some of the best

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank chitake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarnieJS, Owner at Arborio Restaurant, Cafe & Bar, responded to this review, March 27, 2015
Thank you for taking the time to review Arborio. It is great to hear you enjoyed your experience. Hope to see in again sometime soon :)
Kind regards,
Marnie Johnston-Saywell
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

462 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    192
    158
    67
    23
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
New Plymouth, New Zealand
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Not great”
Reviewed February 20, 2012

Poor reception, seated at the inside of the restaurarant when available seats were overlooking the sea. Average service. Catepillar in salad! Overpriced for

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JohnMarion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarnieJS, Owner at Arborio Restaurant, Cafe & Bar, responded to this review, March 15, 2012
Hi John, my sincere apologies for the experience you had recently at our restaurant. I would love the opportunity to change your opinion of us at Arborio. If you email me marnie@arborio.co.nz I would like to invite you and your partner in to enjoy a grazing platter with a coffee, wine or beer overlooking the sea. Look forward to hearing from you, Marnie Johnston-Saywell (Owner)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
35 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent dining spot in New Plymouth - great food and great views”
Reviewed February 20, 2012

We had a great dinner with our kids at Arborio - the meals were delicious, and the kids meals were really nicely prepared. Although we didn't have a reservation and the restaurant was busy, we were seated in the bar area, which was absolutely fine. Service was excellent.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank yaven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarnieJS, Owner at Arborio Restaurant, Cafe & Bar, responded to this review, March 27, 2015
Thank you for taking the time to review Arborio. It is great to hear you enjoyed your experience. Hope to see in again sometime soon :)
Kind regards,
Marnie Johnston-Saywell
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
100 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“great views, good food & great staff(our waiter anyway)”
Reviewed February 19, 2012

Decided to stop in at the Arborio restaurant and have a drink before looking at where we would eat. The young Indian fellow that looked after us was absolutely great and spoke very good English. The day was spectacular and was the best day they have had all summer. He sat us right at the windows so we had a great view of the foreshore, walking track and the ocean. He had just finished a masters degree in hospitality and had a Chinese New Zealand girl as a partner..... That's globalisation for you. He gave us insights on what to do and where to go and because of his helpfulness, we decided to eat there as well. The liver pâté was good and the toasted ciabatta bread was excellent. We both enjoyed that. We decided on a couple of pizzas (double smoked ham and pineapple and a Caprichosa) both were excellent and tasty with thin pastry as we like. His wine recommendation was good. All in all a very nice restaurant to enjoy a great view on a great day with a nice meal into the bargain.
Would certainly stop in again

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GVPAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarnieJS, Owner at Arborio Restaurant, Cafe & Bar, responded to this review, March 27, 2015
Thank you for taking the time to review Arborio. It is great to hear you enjoyed your experience. Hope to see in again sometime soon :)
Kind regards,
Marnie Johnston-Saywell
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Plymouth, New Zealand
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent!”
Reviewed February 17, 2012

I just can't say enough about Arborio. This must be the restaurant we visited most. Food is great, staff is fantastic. What more can I say.

Helpful?
Thank Rob_ae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarnieJS, Owner at Arborio Restaurant, Cafe & Bar, responded to this review, March 27, 2015
Thank you so much for your awesome feedback! We really appreciate you taking the time to detail your experience - it means a great deal to the team, thanks! Hope you will come and visit us again :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Arborio Restaurant, Cafe & Bar also viewed

New Plymouth, Taranaki Region
New Plymouth, Taranaki Region
 
New Plymouth, Taranaki Region
New Plymouth, Taranaki Region
 

Been to Arborio Restaurant, Cafe & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing