We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great time with great hospitality”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of THE DON CAFE AND BISTRO - CLOSED

THE DON CAFE AND BISTRO
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Seating
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Seating
New Plymouth, New Zealand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A great time with great hospitality”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2014

Being my birthday I wanted to have an Italian meal with friends. I was wanting an experience that was fun and relaxed with great flavours.
What we found was perfect with the hosts ensuring we were looked after fantastically. The waiting staff were patient and took the time to describe the dishes. Recommendations were made that proved to be winners. The bottle of Italian red was appreciated so much a second was bought. Overall we had a great time that was enhanced by the host and the facilities! 10/10

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kiwibrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

10 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    5
    0
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Outstanding Italian”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2014

Visited on a Monday night. Wonderful service (friendly and helpful but not too invasive), incredible food (especially the calamari), beautiful wine and a well recommended port. Would highly recommend and can't wait to return.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jenn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaimiro
Level Contributor
81 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“A quality start”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2014

The restaurant only opened a week before our visit. The staff was very friendly and caring. The service was fast. Several times we were checked whether everything was ok. And the food was excellent and with the right proportions.

A quality start for this new restaurant that will make us to come back for more :)

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pattaya, Thailand
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A Place You Can't Refuse !”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2014 via mobile

My wife and I called in on a cold, wet & windy Monday evening and we were warmly greeted and the service continued to be in the same vane all the way through the meal. The food was piping hot with hot plates and best of all deliciously tasty, all cooked by the Italian Chef. Try the bruschetta for starters, spaghetti polpetta and penne fungi for mains, finish it off with the devine Apple/Rhubarb crumble. A great meal, great service and all at very reasonable prices.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Tom E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“I want to go back .cant wait”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2014

Went to this new restautsnt last night.even though free pizza tasting night was going on.so kind gentleman ask us to have one free pizza.which were seem like they are very honest.i like the wine menu .all wines are new to me .but i tried one of my favourite brand lake chalice.was amazing .staff was perfectly trained on drinks and food. Amazing over all and me and my partner loved this new restaursnt alot.
Highly recomended.keep it up DON DON DON.WILL BACK AGAIN

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mmopz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed THE DON CAFE AND BISTRO also viewed

New Plymouth, Taranaki Region
New Plymouth, Taranaki Region
 
New Plymouth, Taranaki Region
New Plymouth, Taranaki Region
 
New Plymouth, Taranaki Region
New Plymouth, Taranaki Region
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing