We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You won't be disappointed”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
16 Northgate Motor Lodge
Ranked #7 of 30 Hotels in New Plymouth
Certificate of Excellence
Cambridge, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“You won't be disappointed”
Reviewed February 5, 2013

This motel has everything you need for a pleasant stay. Kitchenette with hob, kettle, microwave, fridge, pots and pans, cutlery, cups etc. TV with 50 channels of SKY, comes even with MySky, airconditioning, shower and toilet, dining table and in our Superking studio it had a super king and single bed. Friendly staff and close to CBD. Would stay here again when next in New Plymouth.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JipJanneke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northgate, Owner at 16 Northgate Motor Lodge, responded to this review, February 24, 2013
We are so very pleased that you had a great stay with us and that you would stay with us again when visiting New Plymouth. We get alot of positive feedback in particular regarding the Super King beds! Thankyou for choosing to spend the time to put on a review, we really do appreciate it. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    89
    80
    14
    3
    3
See reviews for
37
79
8
41
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sandwich, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
540 reviews
106 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 347 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

I asked for a quiet room and was given one in a single-storey block away from the main road, up the hill. Wish granted! A/C and a modern TV with 50 channels, including SKY are at one´s disposal. The kitchenette has everything you need, including a two-ring electric hob and microwave oven, to cook a proper meal. Unfortunately, there was no dining table in our room. Wi-fi with 2GB is included in the room price. Most restaurants are a car ride away. We can certainly recommend this motel.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IgelEye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northgate, Owner at 16 Northgate Motor Lodge, responded to this review, January 26, 2013
We are so pleased that you enjoyed your quiet stay with us. Thankyou for taking the time to write such a positive review and to recommend our motel to others. The kitchens are well set up for guests wishing to cook. There are dining tables and chairs in our super king studios for those wishing to sit down at a table for meals. We hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Otorohanga, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2013

We stayed in an upstairs studio room that was great except for the very bouncy bed! We liked the extra bin for recycling (the first time we have seen this in a motel and a very good idea) and also the use of soap and shampoo dispensers in the shower - much easier than trying to open those little bottles and less waste.
The traffic was very noisy when we arrived but very quiet at night so not a problem. The continental breakfast was good value and the owners very helpful.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wensnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northgate, Owner at 16 Northgate Motor Lodge, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay at our motel and we hope you return again on your next trip to New Plymouth. We have had many positive comments about our recycling of rubbish and we are glad that you appreciated it too.
The installation of the double glazing has been worthwhile, meaning that guests like yourselves get to enjoy a peaceful stay.
We are glad that we were helpful, which always adds to a stay away from home.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2013

Standard motel, clean and tidy, management pleasant.
We had three rooms booked for 6 nights while in town for NZ Bowls Nationals. We advised the manager prior to the fifth night stay we would be moving on the next day and did not require the sixth night as we were out of the tournament. We were changed all three rooms for the sixth night.
Have stayed in New Plymouth numerous times and never had a problem with advising the motel on the day we are out of the bowls and off the next day and never, never been charged for an unused night(s). Usually stay elsewhere but the accommodation was book by someone else.
Will not be back to Northgate; recommend the bowler friendly Amber Court Motel or Lockwood Manor Motel just down the road and closer to the city centre.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Snudgie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northgate, Owner at 16 Northgate Motor Lodge, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Thankyou for your review and we are glad that you found our motel clean and tidy and the rooms comfortable. As owners we pride ourselves with the standard of our motel. It was apparent during your stay that you were more than happy with our facilities and our professional and friendly service.
Your booking, made through a web agent, was quoted for a total of 5 guests, 5 ladies of a bowling team. You actually showed up with a 6th guest and then you had another 7th guest to stay. We didn’t charge any extra for these guests which I think was very reasonable of us.
You cancelled 3 rooms ON the night before (not prior like you stated), during peak season for a reason which was completely your own choice. You decided to leave the tournament early; it is quite unfair to expect us to shoulder the financial loss of rooms that remained empty as we had turned away several possible bookings for those rooms. But it is even more unreasonable that you malign us in a public forum, and promote other motels within that comment. We work extremely hard to operate this motel and are quite devastated by this posting as it has the ability to harm our business when we have done nothing wrong. We are one of the most lenient motels around when it comes to enforcing a cancellation policy but we felt we were justified in this case. Other motels we have spoken to, including one you have mentioned, and Qualmark have said we are quite right, and were amazed that we hadn’t charged you for the other 2 guests as well.
We wish you all the luck for your tournament next year and that you enjoy the rest of the wonderful summer.
Paul and Sharyn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotorua New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2012

A group of us stayed for three nights, the motel is nice and close to town [10mins walk] we found it very clean and tidy the hosts were great, I would recommend this as a place to stay, I will certainly stay here next time i'm in New Plymouth.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yue S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northgate, Owner at 16 Northgate Motor Lodge, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
We are pleased that your group had an enjoyable stay with us in New Plymouth. We do pride ourselves that the motel is clean and tidy. Thankyou for your review and we do hope you return to New Plymouth again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upper Hutt, Wellington, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2012

I stayed in a lovely unit that had been recently decorated. The king size bed was really comfortable. Sky TV with mysky included! Free wifi and fantastic breakfasts. Busy road, but easy to access and plenty of parking available. Didn't hear the traffic from my room, which was by the road. Better equipped then most motels, even found flyspray in the cupboard. Hosts couldn't have been more pleasant. Exceeded my expectations and would be my first choice in New Plymouth.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TerylC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northgate, Owner at 16 Northgate Motor Lodge, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Thankyou for your positive response. We are very pleased that you had such a pleasant stay with us. Yes, those Super King beds in the larger studios with the double glazing are quiet and comfortable. We look forward to you returning again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitianga, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2012

Centrally located with good off-street parking.
Owners were very nice and helpful.
Unit was a bit dated but again it was priced accordingly.
Pleasant surprise having free wi-fi as most places charge so that was very good
Heaps of sky channels to choose not the budget ones you sometimes get.
Good breakfast - hot and on-time

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dive_revive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northgate, Owner at 16 Northgate Motor Lodge, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Thankyou so much for your review about your stay with us. We do pride ourselves with our service and the quality of our breakfasts. We are pleased that you felt both were of a high standard. We hope you choose to stay with us again if you return to New Plymouth.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Plymouth hotels
1.0 mi away
The Waterfront
The Waterfront
#6 of 30 in New Plymouth
236 reviews
0.5 mi away
The State Hotel
The State Hotel
#3 of 30 in New Plymouth
157 reviews
0.1 mi away
Novotel New Plymouth Hobson
Novotel New Plymouth Hobson
#2 of 30 in New Plymouth
223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
King and Queen Hotel Suites
King and Queen Hotel Suites
#1 of 30 in New Plymouth
309 reviews
3.0 mi away
One Burgess Hill
One Burgess Hill
#5 of 30 in New Plymouth
285 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Devon Hotel & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 16 Northgate Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 16 Northgate Motor Lodge

Property: 16 Northgate Motor Lodge
Address: 16-18 Northgate, New Plymouth 4312, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Taranaki Region > New Plymouth
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 30 Hotels in New Plymouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — 16 Northgate Motor Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
MY SKY HDi (50+ channels, recordable decoders) now in our Super King Studios! Or book a Queen Studio with GUEST SELECT, you be in control of what you'd like to watch!! 23 comfortable non-smoking serviced studio units. Fully equipped with cooking facilities allowing guests to be fully self contained. FREE wireless broadband internet and the use of a business centre. Quiet heat pumps/air conditioners in all studios adds to a comfortable stay throughout the year. Te Henui & Coastal walkway access on our doorstep. Enjoy Pukekura Park, the Bowl of Brooklands and the local beaches all within walking distance. Private and relaxing garden and BBQ area. Complimentary use of bikes, DVD players and a selection of DVDs. Park right outside of your room for easy access and security. Walking distance to supermarkets, takeaway outlets and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your 16 Northgate Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing