We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
16 Northgate Motor Lodge
Ranked #7 of 30 Hotels in New Plymouth
Certificate of Excellence
Whitianga, New Zealand
Level Contributor
127 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Good value for money”
Reviewed November 16, 2012

Centrally located with good off-street parking.
Owners were very nice and helpful.
Unit was a bit dated but again it was priced accordingly.
Pleasant surprise having free wi-fi as most places charge so that was very good
Heaps of sky channels to choose not the budget ones you sometimes get.
Good breakfast - hot and on-time

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dive_revive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northgate, Owner at 16 Northgate Motor Lodge, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Thankyou so much for your review about your stay with us. We do pride ourselves with our service and the quality of our breakfasts. We are pleased that you felt both were of a high standard. We hope you choose to stay with us again if you return to New Plymouth.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    79
    14
    3
    3
See reviews for
35
74
7
40
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Arbroath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2012

Stayed at Northgate for around 6 months on and off while working in New Zealand and I can say that everything about the motel was Magic, Paul & Sharon was excellent hosts and the breakfast was great too. The gardens are well kept with BBQ to use, Spa which is really good new clean and Tidy. A lot of time and Money was spent getting the rooms to a Very High Standard when I was there, great size beds, clean, fresh, Excellent Internet What more do you want me to say.
Also stayed at other motels in the North Island but this one was by far the Best. Hopefully see you again soon.

All the best

Room Tip: All really good,
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MadMal79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northgate, Owner at 16 Northgate Motor Lodge, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Hi Mal,
Thank you very much for your review. Things are going very well here, a very busy year. The new Spa pool was a good decision. Hopefully we will see you back here again sometime when work brings you back this way. Hope you're having fun whereever you are in the world at the moment. Cheers.

Paul and Sharyn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Plymouth
Level Contributor
51 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2012

Rooms clean modern and spacious. Kitchen was well equipped. Heaps of sky channels and a large amount of free wi-fi. Although situated on a main road there was no traffic noise. The spa was well received on a chilly winter night. Breakfast was awesome value for money and delivered on time. Lovely friendly owners. This is definitely a good choice for New Plymouth accommodation and it's position is very central.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Racgra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northgate, Owner at 16 Northgate Motor Lodge, responded to this review, July 16, 2012
Thank you very much for your review and we hope to see you back again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Level Contributor
101 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2012

We stayed here a wee while ago, and what a great stay it was. Not only was it clean and spacious but also quite modern. The bathroom was nicely laid out and the little kitchen area was well stocked. The bed was very comfy (actually the bed was HUGE) and the tv was obviously brand new. I think they had sky, too. But the weather was so amazing we didn’t stay inside too much.

The owners are lovely lovely people, when we stayed the lady was pregnant and the chap was running round as they were having a spa installed.

Northgate is only a short walk away from the town, a stone’s throw away from the beach and park. I do recall it being on the main road into New Plymouth, and our room was facing the road, however didn’t hear a single car go past.

I found it to be reasonably priced and certainly wouldn’t hesitate in recommending it. Great rooms, in a great location at a reasonable price, what more could you want???

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JandDinNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northgate, Owner at 16 Northgate Motor Lodge, responded to this review, April 1, 2012
Hello, Thanks so much for your positive review. Yes, the beds are huge... super king! We get some much positive feedback about them. Paul was busy fitting the spa pool, of which many guests have enjoyed. Please come back again and try it out yourselves!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed March 21, 2012

We had booked in for a 2 night weekend stay which included breakfast (we were given the option of a continental of fully cooked breakfast which was of a high standard and delivered at the time that we had requested). The room we had was clean, comfortable and spacious with everything we required and the hosts were very friendly and helpful during our stay. We decided to stay an extra night which was not a problem and would definitely stay again and certainly recommend as great value for money. Very handy to city, and hosts told us of a local walk through bush to the seafront boardwalk. Thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cathie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northgate, Owner at 16 Northgate Motor Lodge, responded to this review, April 1, 2012
We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay and that you were able to stay an extra night. We do pride ourselves with the work we've put into renovating all of our studios, so glad that you thought your studio was good value for money. Please come again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turangi
Level Contributor
46 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2012

This place is lovely and very handy to everything in New Plymouth, We had a problem with an unidentified noise in the unit, and the relief manager was great even thought we contacted him after hours and moved us to another unit. Units are small but good value

Room Tip: We like the rooms up the top and to the front, modern and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clint52Turangi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northgate, Owner at 16 Northgate Motor Lodge, responded to this review, March 26, 2012
I'm happy to see our Motel Minder looked after you. The day after you left, I identified the noise as a hot water circulation pump which had decided to end it's days. A new pump has been installed and all is good again. Thanks for your positive comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2012

We stayed for two nights while touring New Zealand and found the room spacious, well equipped and clean. The spa pool was great and believe them when they say the drier in the laundry is very efficient! We were given helpful advice about routes and sights on our onward journey. We would certainly recommend this Northgate as a great example of this type of accommodation
.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank agjavjones5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northgate, Owner at 16 Northgate Motor Lodge, responded to this review, April 1, 2012
We have been so pleased that guests like yourselves have enjoyed the new spa pool. We always try to give helpful advice to our guests when they request it. Hopefully the rest of your trip was enjoyable. Thanks for staying with us and for writing a positive review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Plymouth hotels
1.0 mi away
The Waterfront
The Waterfront
#6 of 30 in New Plymouth
232 reviews
1.0 mi away
King and Queen Hotel Suites
King and Queen Hotel Suites
#1 of 30 in New Plymouth
299 reviews
0.1 mi away
Novotel New Plymouth Hobson
Novotel New Plymouth Hobson
#2 of 30 in New Plymouth
209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The State Hotel
The State Hotel
#3 of 30 in New Plymouth
143 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Devon Hotel & Conference Center
0.1 mi away
Quality Hotel Plymouth International
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 16 Northgate Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 16 Northgate Motor Lodge

Property: 16 Northgate Motor Lodge
Address: 16-18 Northgate, New Plymouth 4312, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Taranaki Region > New Plymouth
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 30 Hotels in New Plymouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — 16 Northgate Motor Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
MY SKY HDi (50+ channels, recordable decoders) now in our Super King Studios! Or book a Queen Studio with GUEST SELECT, you be in control of what you'd like to watch!! 23 comfortable non-smoking serviced studio units. Fully equipped with cooking facilities allowing guests to be fully self contained. FREE wireless broadband internet and the use of a business centre. Quiet heat pumps/air conditioners in all studios adds to a comfortable stay throughout the year. Te Henui & Coastal walkway access on our doorstep. Enjoy Pukekura Park, the Bowl of Brooklands and the local beaches all within walking distance. Private and relaxing garden and BBQ area. Complimentary use of bikes, DVD players and a selection of DVDs. Park right outside of your room for easy access and security. Walking distance to supermarkets, takeaway outlets and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotel.de, HotelQuickly and Priceline so you can book your 16 Northgate Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing