We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Two Satisfied Guests”
Review of One Burgess Hill

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
One Burgess Hill
Ranked #5 of 30 Hotels in New Plymouth
Certificate of Excellence
Paraparaumu, New Zealand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Two Satisfied Guests”
Reviewed January 13, 2014

My partner and I stayed at One Burgess Hill on the 08/01 and both agreed that we couldn't fault the place one bit. On arrival we were upgraded to a nicer room and the service continued to be wonderful right up to the check out. Such a awesome, relaxing place to stay.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank michaelgoulden42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

281 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    228
    45
    6
    2
    0
See reviews for
46
183
10
23
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Feilding, New Zealand
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2014

From the bustle of work, just a short drive out of New Plymouth secretly lies a hidden slice of paradise.
No road noise, no petrol fumes - just the sound of the Tui's, Quail and sheep that help to make up this little hidden gem.
Room was comfortable, clean, well appointed and modern décor. I did very much like the fire place where in winter you can light it, and just relax looking over the river and bush.
Staff were super friendly and nothing was a problem. They recommend various eating places which cater for all tastes - we choose to order in, which was just as good due to the gorgeous surroundings.
They also have a conference room available if we needed it, again this was on location. Gym was also available, apparently newly built, unfortunately I didn't get a chance to use it - next time.

Room Tip: Recommend in winter - the rooms with the fire places.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lynne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
48 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2014 via mobile

Ok I'm really picky,this was rated no1 so I thought we would give it a go, yes gorgeous views, yes lots of open space. But the little things, there was only 1 bedside table, my husband used a chair, no air con, I would have thought in such lovely new building this would be standard. There were so many flies yes i know open countryside it cant be helped, but i didnt want to leave the ranch slider open and collect more. No rubbish bin in the bathroom, toiletries not topped up daily. The spa bath is huge, not that clean and with a shower over made getting in and out of shower hazardous! On the good side very friendly.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jo L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2013

We stayed one night in an Elite Studio on the top floor.The room was modern, spacious and well equipped. The view from our room was breathtaking with the river and gardens. Listening to the sound of the river at night was soothing and we had a great nights sleep. Really enjoyed the bathtub near the window. The 5 minute drive into town was great and there were so many restaurants to choose from. Highly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank e-hontheroadagain84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2013

Sitting on the penthouse balcony looking out over the olive grove and luscious rolling green hills to the flowing river, watching the bunnies frolicking on the lawns.......so peaceful and relaxing. The suite is spacious and well appointed, with it's own private courtyard which boasts a hot tub and BBQ area......what more could you ask for? And just minutes from the hustle and bustle of town..... The hospitality is friendly and personal. There is nothing to fault this fantastic property. I would definitely recommend to my family and friends!

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Richard c C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Plymouth, Taranaki, New Zealand
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 11, 2013

We stayed at One Burgess Hill in an Elite Studio for two nights - the night before our wedding, and our wedding night. Myself and my flower girls also got ready in our room. It is such a stunning and peaceful location - the sound of the river, and the birdlife, create such an atmosphere. We also saw rabbits bounding about the lawn! I am hoping that in future we can find another excuse to come back and stay, since we're locals! We will definitely recommend One Burgess Hill to any out of town visitors - it is affordable luxury.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kate J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
193 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
Reviewed December 8, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is 5 minutes drive outside of New Plymouth surrounded by green land and a river on 3 sides. The gurgling of the river was the last sound we heard before going to sleep and the first thing in the morning. The rooms are modern spacious and in as-new condition. We couldn't have been made more welcome. I thoroughly recommend this property for a couples getaway or business.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank StevenC75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Plymouth hotels
3.4 mi away
King and Queen Hotel Suites
King and Queen Hotel Suites
#1 of 30 in New Plymouth
299 reviews
3.4 mi away
The Waterfront
The Waterfront
#6 of 30 in New Plymouth
232 reviews
3.0 mi away
Novotel New Plymouth Hobson
Novotel New Plymouth Hobson
#2 of 30 in New Plymouth
210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
The State Hotel
The State Hotel
#3 of 30 in New Plymouth
143 reviews
3.1 mi away
The Devon Hotel & Conference Center
3.1 mi away
Quality Hotel Plymouth International
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to One Burgess Hill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about One Burgess Hill

Property: One Burgess Hill
Address: 1 Burgess Hill Road, New Plymouth 4371, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Taranaki Region > New Plymouth
Amenities:
Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in New Plymouth
#2 Family Hotel in New Plymouth
#5 Luxury Hotel in New Plymouth
#9 Business Hotel in New Plymouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — One Burgess Hill 4.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your One Burgess Hill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
1 Burgess Hill
One Burgess Hill Hotel New Plymouth
One Burgess Hill New Plymouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing