We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Peaceful and quiet”
Review of One Burgess Hill

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
One Burgess Hill
Ranked #5 of 30 Hotels in New Plymouth
Certificate of Excellence
Dunedin, New Zealand
Level Contributor
36 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Peaceful and quiet”
Reviewed February 17, 2012

Lovely place, fantastic setting, comfortable bed, and so quiet apart from the sound of the river.

My only suggestion is to replace some of the pillows, they were all very flat. A selection would be good.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rat1512
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

279 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    226
    45
    6
    2
    0
See reviews for
45
182
10
23
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2012

Absolutely fabulous 11/10

Astonishingly beautiful place with high quality fittings and everything appears brand new.

We stayed in a standard studio for the one night we were here.

Panoramic windows in the room with balcony outside overlooked a wooded river valley and being set back from the main road in extensive manicured grounds it is a tranquil haven following a busy days sightseeing in the Taranaki region.

It goes without saying that the bed was comfortable. The bathroom has the wow factor with both a shower and a tub. The kitchenette was well equipped for self catering if required and again everything was spotless and appeared new.

An upgrade is available which gets one an outdoor hot tub, private terrace and BBQ and indoors wood burning stoves in both the lounge and bedroom for cooler evenings.

We fully intend to return for an extended stay on our next visit to NZ.

Room Tip: We stayed in a studio unit in block 10 to 15 and all rooms there were superb.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wegetaround02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
99 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2012

Absolutely lovely setting and stunning rooms. Very spacious with beautiful furnishings.

We had two ground floor rooms (one classic studio and one executive studio) - the quality of the bathrooms and kitchens was amazing - like a show home! Better than most 5 star hotels we have stayed in all around the world. Could not believe the standard of accommodation for the price we paid (after spending 2 weeks travelling around New Zealand staying in motels - this was by far the best quality and value of our trip).

You do need a car here as it is on a hill about five minutes out of New Plymouth, but the setting next to the river with the sounds of Tuis and sheep all around is just beautiful. If you are lucky then you can see Mt Taranaki from the top of the driveway.

Owners are very friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms allow direct access to the shared garden area - upstairs rooms do not have balcon...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank szjam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington
Level Contributor
34 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2012

I cannot recommend this place highly enough! What you get for the cost is the highest standard of motel out there. The rooms are spacious and always, always clean! Andrew and Hamish are the perfect hosts and will always assist when needed. I have stayed here about 10 times now and I have never been disappointed.

I have also had great success holding business events and hosting clients in their 'River-room' conference centre. They offer a full menu for these events too.

The outlook, tranquility and peaceful nature of this place makes it one of the best places I have stayed in.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nzfox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
43 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2012

We stayed in the Elite studio for one night, and were very impressed with the room (the elite studio has bath overlooking a picture window of the valley/pretty river). The room was beautifully styled, very clean and had DVD player, kitchen, laundry facilities and lovely bathroom. It is a modern and gorgeous room/complex, and I'd recommend couples in particular would love this room for a luxurious night away.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SquirrelB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster
Level Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2012

Wonderful setting and beautiful design. Quite unlike most of the places we stayed in which showed little aesthetic taste even when the facilities were good. Would definitely return and only sorry we could only manage one night there.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank youcanttakeitwithyou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2012

We booked One Burgess Hill at the very last minute, and was put in one of their more basic rooms as that's all they had available. But the room was incredible for the price!!! It was spacious, had full kitchen facilities, large bathroom (with an amazing shower - water pressure was divine!) with the most amazingly comfortable king size bed (I think it was two large singles pushed together. It was so comfortable though), plus there was a single bed in the room too. The view from our balcony was spectacular , and the peace and quiet was beautiful. The downside to our trip was that it rained the entire time, so we didn't get to explore much, which is why we went to New Plymouth in the first place. But they had a great tv in the room (that you could watch from bed!) that had 3 really good movie channels that kept us occupied through the terrential rain! We actually had a really nice, relaxing time anyway despite the weather, due to the serenity of One Burgess Hill. And ofcourse to top it off, the service was sensational! We arrived late, yet Hamish still brought down our breakfast so we could prepare it for the following morning when we pleased. And we had oringinally booked for 3 nights, but at 11am on day 3, I fell ill and it was no problem at all to not stay the 3rd night. We didn't even get charged for it. It's about a 5-10min drive to the main town where the restaurants/cafes are located which was handy. If we head to New Plymouth again, we will most definitely stay at One Burgess Hill, highly recommended!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ErinR934
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Plymouth hotels
3.4 mi away
The Waterfront
The Waterfront
#6 of 30 in New Plymouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 229 reviews
3.4 mi away
King and Queen Hotel Suites
King and Queen Hotel Suites
#1 of 30 in New Plymouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 296 reviews
3.0 mi away
Novotel New Plymouth Hobson
Novotel New Plymouth Hobson
#2 of 30 in New Plymouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
The State Hotel
The State Hotel
#3 of 30 in New Plymouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 138 reviews
3.1 mi away
The Devon Hotel & Conference Center
3.1 mi away
Quality Hotel Plymouth International
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to One Burgess Hill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about One Burgess Hill

Property: One Burgess Hill
Address: 1 Burgess Hill Road, New Plymouth 4371, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Taranaki Region > New Plymouth
Amenities:
Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in New Plymouth
#2 Family Hotel in New Plymouth
#5 Luxury Hotel in New Plymouth
#9 Business Hotel in New Plymouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — One Burgess Hill 4.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your One Burgess Hill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
1 Burgess Hill
One Burgess Hill Hotel New Plymouth
One Burgess Hill New Plymouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing