We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
$82
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Quality Hotel Plymouth International(New Plymouth)(Great Value!)
$76
$69
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lockwood Manor Motel(New Plymouth)(Great Value!)
$81
$77
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Carrington Motel(New Plymouth)
$56
$51
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$104
$88
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 21% below average rates

The price you found is 21% lower than this hotel's average rate of $112/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Ariki Backpackers(New Plymouth)(Great Value!)
$43
$36
Agoda.com
View Deal
Ahu Ahu Beach Villas(New Plymouth)
$112
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Belt Road Seaside Holiday Park(New Plymouth)(Great Value!)
$74
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tivoli Homestay(New Plymouth)
$141
$121
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (306)
Filter reviews
306 results
Traveler rating
251
47
6
2
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
251
47
6
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewselite studiooverlooking the riverclassic studionative bushshort drive from towndeep bathrural outlookbird lifemt taranakismall gymspa batha fantastic place to stayfree laundryranch slidernew zealandlong weekendstayed for one night
Filter
Updating list...
252 - 257 of 306 reviews
Reviewed January 4, 2012

We booked One Burgess Hill at the very last minute, and was put in one of their more basic rooms as that's all they had available. But the room was incredible for the price!!! It was spacious, had full kitchen facilities, large bathroom (with an amazing shower - water pressure was divine!) with the most amazingly comfortable king size bed (I think it was two large singles pushed together. It was so comfortable though), plus there was a single bed in the room too. The view from our balcony was spectacular , and the peace and quiet was beautiful. The downside to our trip was that it rained the entire time, so we didn't get to explore much, which is why we went to New Plymouth in the first place. But they had a great tv in the room (that you could watch from bed!) that had 3 really good movie channels that kept us occupied through the terrential rain! We actually had a really nice, relaxing time anyway despite the weather, due to the serenity of One Burgess Hill. And ofcourse to top it off, the service was sensational! We arrived late, yet Hamish still brought down our breakfast so we could prepare it for the following morning when we pleased. And we had oringinally booked for 3 nights, but at 11am on day 3, I fell ill and it was no problem at all to not stay the 3rd night. We didn't even get charged for it. It's about a 5-10min drive to the main town where the restaurants/cafes are located which was handy. If we head to New Plymouth again, we will most definitely stay at One Burgess Hill, highly recommended!

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ErinR934
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2012

After a really busy year, we were wanting to find a place to relax and recharge our warn out batteries and One Burgess Hill ticked all of the right boxes for us. Even the weather did not put a dampener on our break away (it rained everyday!) What better place to chill out, watch movies, read books, absorb the view and in between showers take walks around the property and along the river bank.
The rooms are well built, well insulated for sound and are in keeping with the amazing surrounds. Our room (10) had an amazingly deep bath and the king size bed was extremely comfortable.The grounds are extensive and well cared for - the whole place is an absolute credit to the owners. We will be back!

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank slowjocrow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2011

One Burgess Hill: We stayed here in Room 12 at the end of September, 2011. The views of the Waiwhakaiho River and pastures were spectacular. It was very quiet with only an occasional baa from the resident sheep. The rooms are spacious, clean and very modern. The shower is luxurious with a decadent showerhead. It's a quick drive to New Plymouth and the many child-friendly parks & beaches such as Merrilands Domain, Pukekura/Brooklands Park & the Paritutu Centennial Park. An awesome room at a great price. I would definitely stay here again. Thank you!

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dale M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2011

1 Burgess Hill is in a rural setting about 5 kms out of New Plymouth on the main road south to Wellington. There are 4 or 5 buildings with 1, 2 or 4 apartments (I think) in each building. The buildings are set around an open field about 100 metres from each other. At one side of the field, there is a 100 metre drop down to a very picturesque and reasonably fast flowing (but shallow) stream. You can walk down to the stream. On the other side of the stream, the hill is densely covered with trees.

We (4 of us) stayed in a 2 bedroom apartment. The living room doors opened right out onto the outside area overlooking the stream below. A lovely place to be. The apartment was modern, comfortable and clean. The people managing the property were friendly and helpful. Our apartment was NZD$250 per night which I thought was a good price. I wouldn't want to stay here for a week but for a few days, it is a lovely change from staying in a city. When we stayed, the weather was beautiful and warm. If it was cold, wet and windy; it would still have its charms but I'm not sure I would have liked it as much. Part of the charm is enjoying the sound of the stream and the view of the stream and the sunlight reflected off the water.

There is no sign of the city from here. From the entrance to the property off the main road, you get a nice view of Mt Taranaki. My family and I would be happy to stay there again.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rickey_T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2011

Beautiful setting just outside New Plymouth. It is well priced when you see what you get compared to other hotels/motels in the area. Soaking in the bath with a huge window looking over the river was a touch of luxury. Only problem was they couldn't get the advertised free wi-fi working and this made it difficult to organise our next days journey.

Room Tip: Go for upstairs looking over river.
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NzHenry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews