We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unit service A1”
Review of Carrington Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Carrington Motel
Ranked #30 of 30 Hotels in New Plymouth
Ruakaka, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Unit service A1”
Reviewed September 25, 2012

We stayed at this Motel for three nights, had read other reviews about noise etc and yes weekends are noisy. It was a1 for service and very clean and very handy to the Racecourse.
Everyone very helpful very good value for money.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jean C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    28
    14
    4
    7
See reviews for
16
25
8
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Queensland, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

We stopped for two nights, very clean, basic, and the TV will have to be replaced soon. The room was spacious, comfortable and the resident mamager (Tony) very helpful and friendly. Considering we stayed mid week, the motel was quite busy. A good ten minutes walk to Town. We asked for a discount which was given, kitchen equipment a little basic, however , adequate. I would certainly recommend this motel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Robrid1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katikati, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2012

We stayed here after reading previous reviews and our stay was very good ,older style rooms but they were large,clean, the bed was comfortable and service was excellent ,staff friendly.
The location is great, close to town and across the road from Pukekura Park. We would stay again.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hills50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2012

I stayed in this motel for 3 nights. I booked it based on previous reviews that I had read and I was not disappointed. It is a one mile easy walk from town and is managed by the wonderfully friendly Tony Kim, who gave me an incredibly warm welcome on my arrival. My particular studio room was a bit dated but impeccably clean. The free wi fi voucher was much appreciated. The location close to Pukekura Park was brilliant. The park is excellent and has a great tea room that serves very good food ( the breakfast bagels were great) I would happily stay at the Carrington Motel again and would recommend it to other people.

Room Tip: Ask to see your room first. Some have been more recently updated. Also rooms at the back are quieter...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ghenna_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2012

Good budget motel, clean and tidy, handy location to city center.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PhilBrazier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2012

Had a one night stay in this motel & found it clean & comfortable. Had a very lovely room with plenty of space. In walking distance to Pukekura Park.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barbara H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Papamoa, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2012

A great place to stay while catching up with friends in New Plymouth. Maybe a bit dated, the most important thing was friendly staff and very clean unit. Another place we felt happy parking the bike just outside our room.
We would be happy to stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NZAilsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Plymouth hotels
0.6 mi away
Braemar Motor Inn
Braemar Motor Inn
#27 of 30 in New Plymouth
65 reviews
0.6 mi away
Egmont Eco Lodge
Egmont Eco Lodge
#26 of 30 in New Plymouth
41 reviews
1.0 mi away
Auto Lodge Motor Inn
Auto Lodge Motor Inn
#17 of 30 in New Plymouth
165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The State Hotel
The State Hotel
#3 of 30 in New Plymouth
156 reviews
0.8 mi away
Quality Hotel Plymouth International
2.8 mi away
One Burgess Hill
One Burgess Hill
#5 of 30 in New Plymouth
285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carrington Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carrington Motel

Property: Carrington Motel
Address: 61 Carrington Street, New Plymouth 4310, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Taranaki Region > New Plymouth
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 30 Hotels in New Plymouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Carrington Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Walk to city centre, TSB Stadium, Pukekura Park, Bowl of Brooklands, Outdoor BBQ area High Speed Wifi available, Off street parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Carrington Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing