We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Faultless : great accommodation and great sightseeing base”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Villa Heights Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 24 New Plymouth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Guernsey, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“Faultless : great accommodation and great sightseeing base”
Reviewed December 5, 2010

John & Rosemary made us feel SO welcome and were perfect hosts. it felt like a home from home. Their home is very tastefully furnished with everything we could possibly want, and their beautiful garden lovely and relaxing. The view of Mt Egmont from our bedroom window was unforgettable, it felt like it was in the garden. The bed was extremely comfortable, and breakfast was superb. We had lots of advice re local dining and attractions and thoroughly enjoyed out stay.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Max08Guernsey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    150
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
12
120
7
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Perth Western Australia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2010

As soon as we arrived, albeit late in the afternoon, John and Rosemary made us feel very welcome in their lovely home. They showed considerabe interest in our New Zealand holiday plans and made suggestions on what we should see.

As soon as we walked in their home, we could see their home was well looked after. Furthermore it was immaculately clean of which this was very important to us. Unfortunately when we left the next day the weather did not allow us to walk around in their beautiful garden.

I would have no hesitation in recommending staying at Villa Heights.

My only regret is that we stayed only 1 night.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Winship51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bermuda
1 review
Reviewed July 22, 2010

We traveled through New Zealand for little over a month and visited lots of B&B's, but Villa Heights was the best one of them all. John and Rosemary where the perfect hosts and we lacked nothing. The breakfast was excellent with a serving of a large variety to suit each one's taste. The surroundings where quiet and peaceful. The price just right. The home decorated in very good taste. When we arrived, we where strangers, but we certainly left with the feeling of new made friends.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Neline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pattaya, Thailand
Level 6 Contributor
220 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2010

Little bit out of town 15/20 minutes ( Rosemary and John say 10/15 minutes Ha Ha )
Well worth going the extra distance for. What a bueatiful Place in an Ideal setting,looking straight at Mount Egmont / Mt Taranaki.What a bueatiful sight to remember it by.Then to be greeted by a most wonderful Couple Rosemary and John. Wow!.As previous reviews have said Bueatiful home with character ( having dismantled it and brought from another location ) Lovely large bedrooms /ensuites.Lounge etc.Plus a lovely garden overlooking the surrounding countyrside.We had a fabulous dinner with them the first night,really enjoyed ourselves ( the wine was great as well ) Rosemary will let you use her PC to check you E-mails.Plus our laundry ( we were on a 6 weeks tour )
Its a must if you are in this area,so much to see and do. Will be back
The following night went to the ' Marinovich's Seafood Restaurant' Great, this is where the local's including Rosemary and John go when they eat out. You will not be dissappointed.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barry-Jang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grimsby, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2010

Rosemary & John are marvellous hosts - nothing is too much trouble. They have a beautiful home,a one hundred year old villa, fully restored and very comfortable. The views of Mount Taranaki are splendid. We had evening meal two evenings and the food was delicious. Every day Rosemary baked cakes for the guests and her breakfasts were wonderful. I cannot praise this B&B enough - certainly the best we have ever stayed at.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank myederts2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
auckland
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2010

John and Rosemary have a beautiful home with a history that you have to read about in their brochure. After a longer than anticipated drive from Auckland due to the Easter holiday, we were greeted at the door by our hosts who introduced us to the other guests and invited us to relax with some wine and garlic bread. We were so happy that we also booked their dinner BQ (steak, lamb, salad, homemade desserts with more wine) because it would have been difficult to find an open restaurant on Good Friday. Their dinner was five stars!!! Breakfast both mornings was made to order...whatever you wanted...eggs any way, bacon, hash browns, tomatoes, toast, 3 preserves, 5 different types of cereal w/yogurt and fruit. It was awesome, and the hosts couldn't have been more cordial. We stayed 2 nights in the Valley Rm and it was so comfortable and clean. The fridge was stocked full of complimentary beverages, beer, and wine and Rosemary had baked some delicious dessert and left it in the room. John was quite helpful in giving us ideas to visit in New Plymouth, including Mt Taranaki, which was quite a sight from their home. We couldn't have asked for a better holiday weekend!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bschoenfeld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenilworth, UK
1 review
Reviewed November 23, 2009

Great accommodation. Outstanding hosts who, rarely these days, put their clients first. Great breakfasts cooked to order, plus several 'food extras' from the kitchen sneaked into our room, which were unexpected but most welcome. Useful additional guest sitting area. John and Rosemary were perfect hosts.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kenilworth_UKPatrick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Plymouth hotels
6.0 mi away
King and Queen Hotel Suites
King and Queen Hotel Suites
#1 of 30 in New Plymouth
309 reviews
6.1 mi away
The Waterfront
The Waterfront
#6 of 30 in New Plymouth
236 reviews
3.3 mi away
One Burgess Hill
One Burgess Hill
#5 of 30 in New Plymouth
285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Novotel New Plymouth Hobson
Novotel New Plymouth Hobson
#2 of 30 in New Plymouth
223 reviews
7.9 mi away
Tivoli Homestay
Tivoli Homestay
#1 of 24 in New Plymouth
108 reviews
5.6 mi away
Hosking House
Hosking House
#2 of 24 in New Plymouth
100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Heights Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Heights Bed and Breakfast

Property: Villa Heights Bed and Breakfast
Address: 333 Upland Road, New Plymouth 4372, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Taranaki Region > New Plymouth
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in New Plymouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Villa Heights Bed and Breakfast 4.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience luxery Bed and Breakfast at it's best.Set in peaceful garden setting, only 15 minutes drive to new Plymouth Qualmark 4+ star. Stunning views of mount Taranaki. Warm hospitality.Free Wireless Internet. Full breakfast. Dinner by arrangment ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your Villa Heights Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing