We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The house that moved”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Villa Heights Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 24 New Plymouth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Hampshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
184 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“The house that moved”
Reviewed February 26, 2013

We stayed with John and Rosemary for three nights where as well as having a thoroughly good time and treated as family members we were regaled with the story and looked at the photographs of the move of Villa Heights.

Purchased by the couple in the late 1900's the house was cut into three sections and moved 75km to its present home but only after 3 metres of earth was taken from the top of the hill and foundations/services put in.

Not that you could tell because the restoration has been immaculate as has the organic growth to give this perfect retreat overlooking Mount Taranaki and only 15 minutes from central New Plymouth. Add to this a wonderful garden, some good old Irish hospitality, good old fashion cooked breakfasts and not forgetting Daisy the lab then you have place you want to return to for future visits. We even got some washing done whilst we stayed with them.

Villa Heights has three guest rooms, all en-suite, Sky TV in each room together with a guest lounge and internet.

Room Tip: Book early
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mic L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    150
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
12
120
7
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Cheshire
Level Contributor
52 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2013

We booked this accommodation because of the glowing reviews posted by previous visitors. We were not disappointed and would make this our first choice in any future visit.

It is in a beautiful rural setting with an easy 10/15 minute drive to the City centre. The house is on a large plot approached by an impressive drive at the front and has extensive lovingly cared for gardens at the rear.

The house is a period piece with interior to match and fixtures, fittings and contents of a high standard. Our room was spacious with a high quality en suite and large comfortable bed. There is a large lounge for the use of residents. The house was clean and tidy throughout. When sitting outside we could choose between the shade on the deck in front of the house and the sun in the garden at the back.

We booked three nights and took advantage of a free dinner on the first night. This was most welcome before we had found our way around the area as there are no facilities in the immediate vicinity. Our hosts prepared an excellent barbecue of lamb medallions and sausage and ate with us in the garden. The friendliness, helpfulness and hospitality of the owners John and Rosemary is second to none.

The cooked breakfast contained quality ingredients and was prefaced by an assortment of attractively presented fresh fruit.

The personal touch was a stark contrast to the Auckland Airport hotel we stayed at next night on our way home and left us with fond memories of the area.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LesCheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2013

John and Rosemary's relocated house is situated so that it has excellent views of Taranaki. The old world charm of high ceilings wood panels and modern facilities blend to give an air of peace. We were looked after in splendid style and would recommend Villa Heights to anyone. If we return to New Zealand staying at Villa Heights will be very high on our list

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Valerie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 28, 2013

If we ever visit New Plymouth again, we will definitely be staying here. What you see in the photos is exactly what you get and much more. Rosemary and John are the most welcoming hosts. When we arrived we were warmly greeted and shown to our very impressive bedroom. There must have been a cancellation, because Rosemary let us know we had been upgraded to the biggest room. I had originally booked something smaller but all the rooms at this B & B are comfortable and inviting. We then were offered tea or coffee in the spacious dining room. Fresh scones with home made strawberry jam were also served. I couldn't resist going straight outside after and exploring the beautiful gardens with it's outlook of Mt Taranaki. What struck me most at Villa Heights was the meticulous attention to detail, from the practicality, safety and convenience of all fittings and facilities to the inclusion of little extras such as bedside chocolate, complimentary drinks in the bar fridge and plenty of brochures and magazines to read. Also they had excellent wi-fi service. I can not fault this B & B at all. To be able to enjoy the beautiful grounds as well as the cosy interior is really a treat. I wish I didn't have so much sightseeing to do because I would have liked nothing better than to relax here for a few days. Rosemary's breakfasts are excellent and John's travel advice and local knowledge are second to none. The whole experience at Villa Heights was for me, as 5 star as I've ever had. I have never seen such a professionally run B & B as this. If you were at all thinking of bypassing New Plymouth during your travels, don't. If anything, come to New Plymouth just to stay at Villa Heights. My husband and I both thoroughly recommend it.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nickflick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Villaheights, Owner at Villa Heights Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Thank you for your review, we really appreciate your kind words about Villa Heights. We like to make our guests happy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2013

Rurally located B&B, run by John & Rosemary. Warm welcome, very comfortable room, well functioning Wi-Fi, lovely breakfast, possibility of doing laundry (even ironed without asking; thanks again for that!). A pity we were there for a few days...

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank R0bbie1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Strathalbyn, Australia
1 review
Reviewed January 2, 2013

Thank you Rosemary and John for your hospitality and friendliness. Room was spotless and very welcoming, grounds superb and views spectacular. Loved the Home Cooked Breakfasts which got the days off to a wonderful start. If (no when ) we come back to New Zealand Villa Heights will definately be on our list. Thank You
Jeff and Marion
Strathalbyn South Australia

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marion M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Plymouth, Taranaki, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed December 23, 2012

We regrettably only stayed one night with Rosemary and John. We were looking for a unique wedding venue and then accommodation for our wedding night, Rosemary and John were most accommodating ensuring that the house and grounds were in perfect condition prior to our day. The grounds were spectacular, the room was spotlessly clean, beautifully furnished and very comfortable. Breakfast was lovely and they provided a range of options. Rosemary and John were the perfect hosts and we thoroughly recommend Villa Heights to anyone.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Taryn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Plymouth hotels
6.0 mi away
King and Queen Hotel Suites
King and Queen Hotel Suites
#1 of 30 in New Plymouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 296 reviews
6.1 mi away
The Waterfront
The Waterfront
#6 of 30 in New Plymouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 229 reviews
3.3 mi away
One Burgess Hill
One Burgess Hill
#5 of 30 in New Plymouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
The State Hotel
The State Hotel
#3 of 30 in New Plymouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 138 reviews
5.6 mi away
Hosking House
Hosking House
#3 of 24 in New Plymouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 96 reviews
7.9 mi away
Tivoli Homestay
Tivoli Homestay
#1 of 24 in New Plymouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Heights Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Heights Bed and Breakfast

Property: Villa Heights Bed and Breakfast
Address: 333 Upland Road, New Plymouth 4372, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Taranaki Region > New Plymouth
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in New Plymouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Villa Heights Bed and Breakfast 4.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience luxery Bed and Breakfast at it's best.Set in peaceful garden setting, only 15 minutes drive to new Plymouth Qualmark 4+ star. Stunning views of mount Taranaki. Warm hospitality.Free Wireless Internet. Full breakfast. Dinner by arrangment ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your Villa Heights Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing