We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Auto Lodge Motor Inn
Ranked #18 of 30 Hotels in New Plymouth
Certificate of Excellence
Rotorua District, New Zealand
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good value”
Reviewed July 7, 2014 via mobile

We stayed in a two bedroom family unit. The bedrooms were pleasant with plenty of space and storage in the master bedroom. The living space and kitchen were well appointed, with modern decor, clean and tidy. We found the rooms and facilities were good value for money. The reception and restaurant staff provided helpful and friendly service.

Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Tenaj60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    59
    34
    9
    5
See reviews for
46
37
5
41
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
60 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2014

We stayed as a group of 3 friends in June 2014. This motel was booked on our behalf as our original planned accommodation fell through. We stayed in a one bedroom family room.

The location of this motel is very good, with close proximity to town & our favourite cafe, The Federal Cafe. It's about a 3min drive to the main shops in town.

The facilities available appeared to be quite good, although we did not use anything apart from the room itself.

I would rate the room as average. I am of the opinion that it needs an upgrade with grime in the corners on the carpet in the bedroom & tiled area in the bathroom, as well as in some of the grout. The base of the shower is starting to develop cracks. Wallpaper on the windowsill in the bedroom was a bit grubby & starting to peel away. The vertical blinds are a nice retro touch. Although not important as we didn't use it, the desk didn't actually have a suitable chair to use the desk.

This accommodation would probably be suited to those on a budget who are looking for somewhere to lay their head at night while they go out exploring for the rest of their visit.

It wasn't super bad, but it didn't excite me terribly either. Given a choice (remembering this accommodation was booked on our behalf), I probably wouldn't stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NZJayDee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2014 via mobile

I have stayed in almost all the good hotels in NPL to find the right hotel for frequent visits.

I have read the reviews others have placed for the hotel.
In the case of refurbishment. If you ask th3 front office staff they will clearly tell you which rooms are refurbished and which are not. And you can choose a room of your liking and budget. Just the matter to ask the right question.

Secondly I do agree that restaurant staff can be a little more welcoming and polished. But you need to understand this review is for the hotel not restaurant. If you want to review the restaurant go to the restaurant TripAdvisor page.


My personal opinion is its a very good lodge setup. The rooms are good. And the housekeeping staff and front office staff are great.
If you have any concerns its just the matter of calling them to get it resolved.

P.S. This a second review of the same kind the other one was placed accidentally from my other TripAdvisor id. But I have asked them not to publish it.
Thanks

Kind Regards
Prashin Poovelil
Area Manager
GWF (NZ) Ltd.

Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Prashin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2014 via mobile

Our 2 bedroom unit was spacious and well appointed. the shower pressure could have been better but the bathroom was large as was the living room. a big negative was that there were no net curtains so one had to pull the curtains as people were constantly walking past. the bar restaurant area is very retro but pleasant. The female barer son could have done with some customer re service training but the wait staff in the restaurant were pleasant as was the front desk woman. The dinner menu was a bit ho hum, nothing exciting but obviously popular as the restaurant was well patronised on a Saturday night. the fish of the day was very good but the risotto and vegetables were average at best. Reasonably priced but nothing exciting.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Angela H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson, New Zealand
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2014

Great place to stay , well set out ,fantastic rooms with attention to detail. Wonderful menu both restaurant and room service. Nice location ~ easy walking distance to shops etc. Staff were very friendly and

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dot A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
111 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2014

Stayed in the old?? Hotel block. After seeing the approach to the room did wonder if I had decided the right place. On opening the door on the 2nd floor I was pleasantly surprised of the size and the brightness of the room. Looking out to the Ocean. Very comfortable. Wi Fi available at a charge--$5 for a flat 24hours. Nice to find a carton of fresh milk in the fridge rather than the pottles of UHT milk. Bathroom very clean-----am wondering if I did get 1 of the refurbished rooms???.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trisha826
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geelong, Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2014

We arrived late as the Picton Ferry was delayed. Got in at 10:45pm and hosts were extremely accommodating even opening the bar so we could have a cold one after a fast ride from Wellington. We were located in the old part of the Lodge and rooms etc were extremely comfortable. The rooms and Hotel block could do with a bit of an upgrade as is a bit dated but the facilities were good. Rooms could also have a microwave and toaster to help the discerning budget traveller.

Room Tip: Recommend if in old Hotel section level 2 or 3 then you will get sea views if on the western side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank moran s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Plymouth hotels
0.0 mi away
The Devon Hotel & Conference Center
0.2 mi away
Novotel New Plymouth Hobson
Novotel New Plymouth Hobson
#2 of 30 in New Plymouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
0.6 mi away
The State Hotel
The State Hotel
#3 of 30 in New Plymouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Quality Hotel Plymouth International
1.0 mi away
King and Queen Hotel Suites
King and Queen Hotel Suites
#1 of 30 in New Plymouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 296 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Waterfront
The Waterfront
#6 of 30 in New Plymouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Auto Lodge Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auto Lodge Motor Inn

Property: Auto Lodge Motor Inn
Address: 393 Devon Street East, New Plymouth 4312, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Taranaki Region > New Plymouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 30 Hotels in New Plymouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Auto Lodge Motor Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 84
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Auto Lodge Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing